advertisement
Quantum Physics News
October 26, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Odds Are Good for Unique 2D Compound

Engineers make 2D materials for valleytronics, a platform for information processing and storage that relies on the manipulation of electrons' positions in energetic ...

Extreme Events in Quantum Cascade Lasers

Based on a quantum cascade laser (QCL) emitting mid-infrared light, the researchers developed a basic optical neuron system operating 10,000× faster than biological ...

Timekeeping Theory Combines Quantum Clocks and Einstein's Relativity

Cool research story with connections to atomic clocks, Einstein and quantum mechanics. The research shows the 'spooky' interference that can impact even the most sophisticated ...

Do the Twist: Making Two-Dimensional Quantum Materials Using Curved Surfaces

Scientists have discovered a way to control the growth of twisting, microscopic spirals of materials just one atom thick. The continuously twisting ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Physicist Joins International Effort to Unveil the Behavior of 'Strange Metals'

Physicists have solved the puzzle of the NFL behavior in interacting electrons systems, and provided a protocol for the establishment of new paradigms in quantum metals, through quantum many-body ...

Quantum Physics: Physicists Successfully Carry out Controlled Transport of Stored Light

Physicists have successfully transported light stored in a quantum memory over a distance of 1.2 millimeters. They have demonstrated that the controlled transport process and its dynamics has only ...

Finding the Right Color to Control Magnets With Laser Pulses

Scientists have discovered a new way to manipulate magnets with laser light pulses shorter than a trillionth of a second. The international team of researchers also identified the light wavelength or ...

Stacking and Twisting Graphene Unlocks a Rare Form of Magnetism

A team of researchers has discovered that a variety of exotic electronic states, including a rare form of magnetism, can arise in a three-layer graphene ...

Scientists Find Upper Limit for the Speed of Sound

Scientists have discovered the fastest possible speed of ...

Signals from Distant Stars Connect Optical Atomic Clocks Across Earth for the First Time

Using radio telescopes observing distant stars, scientists have connected optical atomic clocks on different ...

Nanoscale Machines Convert Light Into Work

Researchers have developed a tiny new machine that converts laser light into work. These optically powered machines self-assemble and could be used for nanoscale manipulation of tiny cargo for ...

New Measurements of the Solar Spectrum Verify Einstein's Theory of General Relativity

Researchers have measured, with unprecedented accuracy, the gravitational redshift of the Sun, a change in frequency of the lines in the solar spectrum which is produced when the light escapes from ...

A New Interpretation of Quantum Mechanics Suggests Reality Does Not Depend on the Measurer

For 100 years scientists have disagreed on how to interpret quantum mechanics. A recent study supports an interpretation that is close to classical scientific ...

Diamonds Are a Quantum Scientist's Best Friend

New research details the phenomenon of what is called 'triplet superconductivity' in diamond. Triplet superconductivity occurs when electrons move in a composite spin state rather than as a ...

Experiments With Twisted 2D Materials Catch Electrons Behaving Collectively

A team reports that carefully constructed stacks of graphene -- a 2D form of carbon -- can exhibit highly correlated electron properties. The team also found evidence that this type of collective ...

Could Megatesla Magnetic Fields Be Realized on Earth?

Researchers have discovered a novel mechanism called a 'microtube implosion,' demonstrating the generation of megatesla-order magnetic fields, which is three orders of magnitude higher than ...

Teaching an Old Spectroscope New Tricks

Researchers have improved a method for probing semiconducting crystals with light to detect defects and impurities. The details of their 'omnidirectional photoluminescence (ODPL) ...

New Algorithm Could Unleash the Power of Quantum Computers

A new algorithm that fast forwards simulations could bring greater use ability to current and near-term quantum computers, opening the way for applications to run past strict time limits that hamper ...

Bridging the Gap Between the Magnetic and Electronic Properties of Topological Insulators

Scientists have shed light on the relationship between the magnetic properties of topological insulators and their electronic band structure. Their experimental results offer new insights into recent ...

Sensor With 100,000 Times Higher Sensitivity Could Bolster Thermal Imaging

New research developed a new microwave radiation sensor with 100,000 times higher sensitivity than currently available commercial sensors. Researchers said better detection of microwave radiation ...

Tunable Free-Electron X-Ray Radiation from Van Der Waals Materials

The suggested apparatus produces controlled radiation with a narrow spectrum that can be tuned with high resolution, at a relatively low energy investment. The findings are likely to lead to ...

Machine Learning Homes in on Catalyst Interactions to Accelerate Materials Development

A machine learning technique rapidly rediscovered rules governing catalysts that took humans years of difficult calculations to reveal -- and even explained a deviation. The team that developed the ...

Understanding Ghost Particle Interactions

Scientists have constructed a nuclear physics model capturing the interactions between neutrinos and atomic nuclei. This model building is part of a larger project to understand the role of neutrinos ...

Antiferromagnet Lattice Arrangements Influence Phase Transitions

New research reveals that the nature of the boundary at which an antiferromagnet transitions to a state of disorder slightly depends on the geometry of its lattice ...

Monday, October 19, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020