advertisement
Quantum Physics News
August 2, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Sharing a Secret...the Quantum Way

Researchers have demonstrated a record setting quantum protocol for sharing a secret amongst many ...

Ultracold Mystery: Solved

Last December, researchers designed technology that could achieve the lowest temperature chemical reactions and then broke and formed the coldest bonds in the history of molecular coupling. Now, ...

Quantum Exciton Found in Magnetic Van Der Waals Material NiPS3

Things can always be done faster, but can anything beat light? Computing with light instead of electricity is seen as a breakthrough to boost the computer speeds. Transistors, the building blocks of ...

Atomtronic Device Could Probe Boundary Between Quantum, Everyday Worlds

A new device that relies on flowing clouds of ultracold atoms promises potential tests of the intersection between the weirdness of the quantum world and the familiarity of the macroscopic world we ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Scientists Make Quantum Technology Smaller

A way of shrinking the devices used in quantum sensing systems has now been ...

Quantum Body Scanner? What Happens When Vector Vortex Beams Meet Scattering Media

Propagate light through any kind of medium -- be it free space or biological tissue -- and light will scatter. Robustness to scattering is a common requirement for communications and for imaging ...

A New Path for Electron Optics in Solid-State Systems

In combined theoretical and experimental work, physicists introduce and demonstrate a novel mechanism for electron optics in two-dimensional solid-state systems. The discovery opens up a route to ...

Scientists Demonstrate a New Experiment in the Search for Theorized 'Neutrinoless' Process

Nuclear physicists analyzed data for a demonstration experiment in France that has achieved record precision for a specialized detector ...

New Research Shows That Laser Spectral Linewidth Is Classical-Physics Phenomenon

New ground-breaking research could change the way scientists understand and describe lasers - establishing a new relationship between classical and quantum ...

The Spin State Story: Observation of the Quantum Spin Liquid State in Novel Material

The quantum spin liquid (QSL) state is an exotic state of matter where the spin of electrons, which generally exhibits order at low temperatures, remains disordered. Now, scientists have developed a ...

Learning More About Particle Collisions With Machine Learning

A team of scientists has devised a machine learning algorithm that calculates, with low computational time, how the ATLAS detector in the Large Hadron Collider would respond to the ten times more ...

Scientists Create New Device to Light Up the Way for Quantum Technologies

Researchers have created an innovative new device that will emit single particles of light, or photons, from quantum dots that are the key to practical quantum computers, quantum communications, and ...

Portable System Boosts Laser Precision, at Room Temperature

Physicists have designed a quantum ''light squeezer'' that reduces quantum noise in an incoming laser beam by 15 percent. It is the first system of its kind to work at room ...

Quantum Classifiers With Tailored Quantum Kernel?

Quantum information scientists have introduced a new method for machine learning classifications in quantum computing. The non-linear quantum kernels in a quantum binary classifier provide new ...

Atomic 'Swiss Army Knife' Precisely Measures Materials for Quantum Computers

Scientists have developed a novel instrument that can make three kinds of atom-scale measurements ...

Researchers Develop Novel Approach to Modeling Yet-Unconfirmed Rare Nuclear Process

Researchers have taken a major step toward a theoretical first-principles description of neutrinoless double-beta decay. Observing this yet-unconfirmed rare nuclear process would have important ...

2D Semiconductors Found to Be Close-to-Ideal Fractional Quantum Hall Platform

Researchers report that they have observed a quantum fluid known as the fractional quantum Hall states (FQHS), one of the most delicate phases of matter, for the first time in a monolayer 2D ...

A 'Breath of Nothing' Provides a New Perspective on Superconductivity

Zero electrical resistance at room temperature? A material with this property, i.e. a room temperature superconductor, could revolutionize power distribution. But so far, the origin of ...

High-Order Synthetic Dimensions in Waveguide Photonic Lattices

Scientists have recently shown that a multitude of high-dimensional synthetic lattices naturally emerge in (abstract) photon-number space when a multiport photonic lattice is excited by N ...

A New Way Towards Super-Fast Motion of Vortices in Superconductors Discovered

An international team of scientists has found a new superconducting system in which magnetic flux quanta can move at velocities of 10-15 km/s. This opens access to investigations of the rich physics ...

Towards Lasers Powerful Enough to Investigate a New Kind of Physics

Researchers have demonstrated an innovative technique for increasing the intensity of lasers. This approach, based on the compression of light pulses, would make it possible to reach a threshold ...

Teleportation in Live Musical Performance

A new study explains for the first time how quantum supercomputers could be helpful in the world of making and performing ...

Tabletop Quantum Experiment Could Detect Gravitational Waves

Tiny diamond crystals could be used as an incredibly sensitive and small gravitational detector capable of measuring gravitational waves, suggests new ...

Ultrafast Light Wave Electronics: Light from Inside the Tunnel

Steering and monitoring the light-driven motion of electrons inside matter on the time-scale of a single optical cycle is a key challenge in ultrafast light wave electronics and laser-based material ...

Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020