advertisement
Optics News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

New Super-Resolution Method Reveals Fine Details Without Constantly Needing to Zoom in

Since the early 1930s, electron microscopy has provided unprecedented access to the alien world of the extraordinarily small, revealing intricate ...

Using Air to Amplify Light

In a promising breakthrough for the future of communications, researchers have developed a technology that can amplify light in the latest hollow-core optical ...
In a proof-of-concept study, researchers report that a simple, low-cost technique provided visual proof that face masks are ...

X-Rays Indicate That Water Can Behave Like a Liquid Crystal

Scientists have discovered that water can exhibit a similar behavior like a liquid crystal when illuminated with laser light. This effect originates by the alignment of water molecules, which exhibit ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:03pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Materials Science Researchers Develop First Electrically Injected Laser

Materials science researchers have demonstrated the first electrically injected laser made with germanium tin. Used as a semiconducting material for circuits on electronic devices, the diode laser ...

Promising New Research Identifies Novel Approach for Controlling Defects in 3D Printing

Scientists use temperature data to tune -- and fix -- defects in 3D-printed metallic ...

Researchers Capture X-Ray Images With Unprecedented Speed and Resolution

Researchers have demonstrated a new high-resolution x-ray imaging technique that can capture the motion of rapidly moving objects and quickly changing dynamics. The new method could be used for ...

May the Force Be With You: Detecting Ultrafast Light by Its Force

A research team has developed a new technique to detect nano-sized imperfections in materials. They believe this discovery will lead to improvements in the optical detectors used in a wide range of ...

Incorporating Solar Harvesting Into the Side of Buildings Could Enhance Energy Sustainability

If builders could incorporate solar harvesting into the siding of a building, the amount of energy from the grid that a structure would need may significantly decrease. Researchers have demonstrated ...

Physicists Find Misaligned Carbon Sheets Yield Unparalleled Properties

A material composed of two one-atom-thick layers of carbon has grabbed the attention of physicists worldwide for its intriguing -- and potentially exploitable -- conductive properties. University of ...

Sharing a Secret...the Quantum Way

Researchers have demonstrated a record setting quantum protocol for sharing a secret amongst many ...

New Method Lets Scientists Peer Deeper Into Ocean

Researchers have advanced a new way to see into the ocean's depths, establishing an approach to detect algae and measure key properties using light. A new article reports using a laser-based ...

Nanoparticles Tailored for Special Applications Synthesized

'Core-shell' clusters pave the way for new efficient nanomaterials that make catalysts, magnetic and laser sensors or measuring devices for detecting electromagnetic radiation more ...

Faster LEDs for Wireless Communications from Invisible Light

Researchers have solved a major problem for optical wireless communications - the process by which light carries information between cell phones and other devices. Light-emitting diodes (LEDs) pulse ...

Scientists Make Quantum Technology Smaller

A way of shrinking the devices used in quantum sensing systems has now been ...

'Quantum Negativity' Can Power Ultra-Precise Measurements

Scientists have found that a physical property called 'quantum negativity' can be used to take more precise measurements of everything from molecular distances to gravitational ...

Tailored Light Inspired by Nature

An international research team has develop for the first time light fields using caustics that do not change during propagation. With the new method, the physicists cleverly exploit light structures ...

Black Phosphorus Future in 3D Analysis, Molecular Fingerprinting

Many compact systems using mid-infrared technology continue to face compatibility issues when integrating with conventional electronics. Black phosphorus has garnered attention for overcoming these ...

Laser Inversion Enables Multi-Materials 3D Printing

Selective laser sintering is one of the most widely used processes in additive manufacturing, but it is limited to printing with a single material at a time. Robotics engineers have now developed a ...

Novel Label-Free Imaging Technique Brings out the Inner Light Within T Cells

A new imaging method uses the natural autofluorescence within cells to assess T cell activity. The technique could help assess T cell involvement in ...

Trapping Tiny Particles: A Versatile Tool for Nano-Manipulation

Researchers have developed a novel device for single nanoparticle trapping, which has potential applications for drug discovery, disease monitoring, biomedical imaging, and ...

Project Creates More Powerful, Versatile Ultrafast Laser Pulse

Researchers describe a new device, the ''stretched-pulse soliton Kerr resonator,'' that creates an ultrafast laser pulse that is freed from the physical limits endemic to sources ...

Getting a Grip on Near-Field Light

Researchers have developed a system to mold near-field light -- opening the door to unprecedented control over this powerful, largely unexplored type of ...

Seeing the Light: Researchers Combine Technologies for Better Light Control

A new technology that can allow for better light control without requiring large, difficult-to-integrate materials and structures has been developed. The new photonic integrated chip could allow for ...

Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020