advertisement
Medical Technology News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Spider Silk Can Create Lenses Useful for Biological Imaging

Spider silk is useful for a variety of biomedical applications: It exhibits mechanical properties superior to synthetic fibers for tissue engineering, and it is not toxic or harmful to living cells. ...
Neuroengineers have created a tiny surgical implant that can electrically stimulate the brain and nervous system without using a battery or wired ...

Deep Learning Enables Real-Time Imaging Around Corners

Researchers have harnessed the power of a type of artificial intelligence known as deep learning to create a new laser-based system that can image around corners in real time. With further ...

Researchers Capture Moving Object With Ghost Imaging

Researchers have developed a way to capture moving objects with the unconventional imaging method known as ghost imaging. The new method could make the imaging technique practical for new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:22pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Old X-Rays, New Vision: A Nano-Focused X-Ray Laser

Researchers have focused the beam of an X-ray free-electron laser to 6 nanometers, closer to the diameter of a typical atom than obtained in prior work. In conjunction with the extremely brief pulses ...

Bringing Burnt Bones Back to 'Life' Using 3D Technology

Forensic scientists have discovered a new way of presenting fragile evidence, by reconstructing a 'jigsaw' of human bone fragments using 3D printing. In the first known study of its kind, ...

Quantum-Inspired Approach Dramatically Lowers Light Power Needed for OCT

Researchers have shown that a detection technology borrowed from quantum optics can be used to perform optical coherence tomography (OCT) with much lower light power than previously ...

Study Demonstrates Feasibility of Hologram Technology in Liver Tumor Ablation

Data from one of the first clinical uses of augmented reality guidance with electromagnetically tracked tools shows that the technology may help doctors quickly, safely, and accurately deliver ...

Increased Usability and Precision in Vascular Imaging

Researchers have developed a new X-ray contrast agent. The contrast agent is easier to use and distributes into all blood vessels more reliably, increasing the precision of vascular imaging. This ...

New Double-Contrast Technique Picks Up Small Tumors on MRI

Early detection of tumors is extremely important in treating cancer. A new technique offers a significant advance in using magnetic resonance imaging to pick out even very small tumors from normal ...

Laser-Based Technique Captures 3D Images of Impressionist-Style Brushstrokes

Researchers have developed a new strategy that uses optical coherence tomography (OCT) to acquire both the surface and underlying details of impressionist style oil paintings. This information can be ...

Focused Ultrasound Opening Brain to Previously Impossible Treatments

Focused ultrasound, the researchers hope, could revolutionize treatment for conditions from Alzheimer's to epilepsy to brain tumors -- and even help repair the devastating damage caused by ...

Novel Imaging Application Illuminates Processes in Cancer, COVID-19

Medical images for a wide range of diseases can be more easily viewed, compared, and analyzed using a breakthrough open source web-based imaging platform developed by Massachusetts General Hospital ...

Ultra-Precision Nano-Sensor Could Detect Iron Disorders

Scientists have developed a hypersensitive nano-sensor to detect harmful 'free' iron disorders. The test could lead to earlier, more accurate disease ...

High Density EEG Produces Dynamic Image of Brain Signal Source

Marking a major milestone on the path to meeting the objectives of the NIH BRAIN initiative, researchers advance high-density electroencephalography (EEG) as the future paradigm for dynamic ...

Optical Imaging Technology May Help Surgeons Better Treat Cancer, Brain Diseases

Researchers created technology that uses optical imaging to better help surgeons map out tumors in the body and help them understand how certain diseases affect activity in the ...

New Quantum Technology Could Help Diagnose and Treat Heart Condition

The conductivity of living organs, such as the heart, could be imaged non-invasively using quantum technology, which has the potential to revolutionize the diagnosis and treatment of atrial ...

Not Just for Bones! X-Rays Can Now Tell Us About Soft Tissues Too

A new X-ray imaging technique could identify lesions and tumors before ultrasound or MRI ...

Robot Uses Artificial Intelligence and Imaging to Draw Blood

Engineers have created a tabletop device that combines a robot, artificial intelligence and near-infrared and ultrasound imaging to draw blood or insert catheters to deliver fluids and drugs. Their ...

Stretchable, Wearable Coils May Make MRI, Other Medical Tests Easier on Patients

A team created an adaptable, wearable and stretchable fabric embroidered with conductive threads that provides excellent signal-to-noise ratio for enhanced MRI ...

Want to Catch a Photon? Start by Silencing the Sun

Researchers have created a 3D imaging system that uses light's quantum properties to create images 40,000 times crisper than current technologies, paving the way for never-before seen LIDAR ...

New Tech Takes Radiation out of Cancer Screening

Researchers have developed a new, inexpensive technology that could save lives and money by routinely screening women for breast cancer without exposure to radiation. The system uses harmless ...

Directing Nanoparticles Straight to Tumors

Modern anticancer therapies aim to attack tumor cells while sparing healthy tissue. A team of researchers has now produced tiny nanoparticles that are designed to specifically target cancer cells. ...

Hybrid Microscope Could Bring Digital Biopsy to the Clinic

By adding infrared capability to the ubiquitous, standard optical microscope, researchers hope to bring cancer diagnosis into the digital era. Pairing infrared measurements with high-resolution ...

Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Sunday, April 14, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019