advertisement
Fossil Fuels News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Engineers Find Neat Way to Turn Waste Carbon Dioxide Into Useful Material

Making catalysts to convert waste carbon dioxide into useful industrial products has been expensive and complicated -- until now. Engineers show it's as easy as playing with ...

Researchers Advance Fuel Cell Technology

Researchers have made a key advance in solid oxide fuel cells (SOFCs) that could make the highly energy-efficient and low-polluting technology a more viable alternative to gasoline combustion engines ...

Methane Emitted by Humans Vastly Underestimated

Researchers measured methane levels in ancient air samples and found that scientists have been vastly underestimating the amount of methane humans are emitting into the atmosphere via fossil fuels. ...

New Study Looks to Biological Enzymes as Source of Hydrogen Fuel

Research has chemists one step closer to recreating nature's most efficient machinery for generating hydrogen gas. This new development may help clear the path for the hydrogen fuel industry to move ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:21pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Research Determines Financial Benefit from Driving Electric Vehicles

Motorists can save as much as $14,500 on fuel costs over 15 years by driving an electric vehicle instead of a similar one fueled by gasoline, according to a new ...

Oil Forecasting Technique Adapted for Spreadsheets May Cut Shale Operator Costs

Porous rock containing oil and natural gas are buried so deep inside the earth that shale operators rely on complex models of the underground environment to estimate fossil fuel recovery. These ...

The Role of European Policy for Improving Power Plant Fuel Efficiency

A new study investigates the impact of the European Union Emissions Trading Scheme (EU ETS), the largest international cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gas emissions in the world, on power plant ...

User Research at BESSY II: How New Materials Increase the Efficiency of Direct Ethanol Fuel Cells

Researchers have investigated a novel composite membrane for ethanol fuel cells. It consists of the polymer Nafion, in which nanoparticles of a titanium compound are embedded by the rarely explored ...

Coal Exit Benefits Outweigh Its Costs

Coal combustion is not only the single most important source of CO2 -- accounting for more than a third of global emissions, but also a major contributor to detrimental effects on public health and ...

Electric Cars Better for Climate in 95% of the World

Fears that electric cars could actually increase carbon emissions are unfounded in almost all parts of the world, new research ...

New Material Developed Could Help Clean Energy Revolution

Researchers developed a promising graphene-carbon nanotube catalyst, giving them better control over hugely important chemical reactions for producing green technology and clean ...

Nature-Inspired Green Energy Technology Clears Important Development Hurdle

A new material design has put the long-sought idea of using artificial photosynthesis to generate renewable fuel within ...

Micromotors Get Supercharged With Three 'Engines'

Someday, microscopic robots could perform useful functions, such as diagnostic testing in lab-on-a-chip sensors, micropatterning surfaces or repairing equipment in tight spaces. But first, scientists ...

New Method Converts Carbon Dioxide to Methane at Low Temperatures

Scientists developed a new method to convert carbon dioxide to methane with an electric field at low temperatures. In comparison to previous methods, this new method can produce any amount of methane ...

Motley Crew: Rust and Light a Possible Answer to the Conundrum of Hydrogen Fuel Production

Production of hydrogen fuel is a key goal towards the development of sustainable energy practices, but this process does not have feasible techniques yet. Scientists have identified a novel technique ...

'Reverse Fuel Cell' Converts Waste Carbon to Valuable Products at Record Rates

Fuel cells turn chemicals into electricity. Now, an engineering team has adapted technology from fuel cells to do the reverse: harness electricity to make valuable chemicals from waste carbon ...

Accelerating Chemical Reactions Without Direct Contact With a Catalyst

Researchers demonstrate a chemical reaction produced through an intermediary created by a separate chemical reaction, findings that could impact environmental remediation and fuel ...

Molecule Modification Could Improve Reprocessing of Spent Nuclear Fuel

The reprocessing of spent nuclear fuel could become safer and more efficient in future after researchers found a way to modify the structure of molecules to remove radioactive ...

Ecofriendly Catalyst for Converting Methane Into Useful Gases Using Light Instead of Heat

Scientists have developed a catalyst to convert abundant methane gas into more useful synthesis gas. Unlike conventional catalysts, this catalyst operates at much lower temperatures by using light, ...

Acetone Plus Light Creates a Green Jet Fuel Additive

Take biomass-derived acetone -- common nail polish remover -- use light to upgrade it to higher-mass hydrocarbons, and, voila, you have a domestically generated product that can be blended with ...

New Assessment of Gas Locked in Ice in European Waters

A study has mapped several sites in Europe containing gas hydrate - a relatively clean fuel which could help bridge the gap between fossil fuels and ...

Utilizing Relativistic Effects for Laser Fusion: A New Approach for Clean Power

Researchers have studied a new approach for laser nuclear fusion utilizing relativistic phenomena of intense laser light. By irradiating the ultra-intense laser light directly onto the fusion fuel, ...

Untangling Links Between Nitrogen Oxides and Airborne Sulfates Helps Tackle Hazy Air Pollution

A research team has unveiled a first-in-kind study of nitrogen oxides (NOx) and its role in the rise and fall of airborne sulfates in hazy air pollution, offering policymakers new insights into ways ...

Effects of Natural Gas Assessed in Study of Shale Gas Boom in Appalachian Basin

A new study estimated the cumulative effects of the shale gas boom in the Appalachian basin in the early 2000s on air quality, climate change, and employment. The study found that effects on air ...

Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018