advertisement
Engineering News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Boron Nitride Destroys PFAS 'Forever' Chemicals PFOA, GenX

Chemical engineers have discovered a photocatalyst that can destroy 99% of the 'forever' chemical PFOA in laboratory tests on polluted water. Researchers showed the boron nitride catalyst also ...

Jellyfish-Inspired Soft Robots Can Outswim Their Natural Counterparts

Engineering researchers have developed soft robots inspired by jellyfish that can outswim their real-life counterparts. More practically, the new jellyfish-bots highlight a technique that uses ...

Coordinating Complex Behaviors Between Hundreds of Robots

Researchers propose a new approach to finding an optimal solution for controlling large numbers of robots collaboratively completing a set of complex linear temporal logic commands called STyLuS*, ...

Removing Toxic Chemicals from Water: New Environmentally-Friendly Method

Researchers have developed a new environmentally friendly method for removing toxic chemicals from water. A newly invented machine, called the Matrix Assembly Cluster Source (MACS), has been used to ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:20am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Construction: How to Turn 36 Seconds Into USD 5.4 Billion

A team of researchers have, for the first time ever, linked 40 years of productivity data from the construction industry with the actual work done. The results show that productivity in the ...

Bespoke Catalysts for Power-to-X

Suitable catalysts are of great importance for efficient power-to-X applications -- but the molecular processes occurring during their use have not yet been fully understood. Using X-rays from a ...

Machine Learning Reveals Vulnerabilities in 3D-Printed Carbon-Fiber Composites

Components made of glass- and carbon- fiber reinforced composites, soaring in high-performance applications, can be 3D printed. A team of researchers has found that the printer head toolpaths are ...

Bringing Burnt Bones Back to 'Life' Using 3D Technology

Forensic scientists have discovered a new way of presenting fragile evidence, by reconstructing a 'jigsaw' of human bone fragments using 3D printing. In the first known study of its kind, ...

Strainoptronics: A New Way to Control Photons

Researchers discovered a new way to engineer optoelectronic devices by stretching a two-dimensional material on top of a silicon photonic ...

Recovery from Airline Delays Works Best With Future Disruptions in Mind

Instead of responding to each flight delay as if it were an isolated event, airlines should consider the likelihood of potential disruptions ahead, researchers report. They developed a new approach ...

Synthetic Materials Mimic Living Creatures

Researchers have developed a family of soft materials that imitates living creatures. When hit with light, the film-thin materials come alive -- bending, rotating and even crawling on ...

Teaching Physics to Neural Networks Removes 'Chaos Blindness'

Teaching physics to neural networks enables those networks to better adapt to chaos within their environment. The work has implications for improved artificial intelligence (AI) applications ranging ...

New Research Leads to Drones Changing Shape Mid-Flight

Engineers have developed autonomous air vehicles that can change shape during ...

Using LEGO to Test Children's Ability to Visualize and Rotate 3D Shapes in Space

Researchers have developed a test that uses children's ability to assemble LEGO pieces to assess their spatial visualization ability. Spatial visualization is the ability to visualize 3D shapes ...

Engineers Develop New Fuel Cells With Twice the Operating Voltage as Hydrogen

Engineers have developed high-power, direct borohydride fuel cells that operate at double the voltage of conventional hydrogen fuel ...

Discovery Allows 3D Printing of Sensors Directly on Expanding Organs

Mechanical engineers and computer scientists have developed a 3D printing technique that uses motion capture technology, similar to that used in Hollywood movies, to print electronic sensors directly ...

Nanomaterial Gives Robots Chameleon Skin

A new film made of gold nanoparticles changes color in response to any type of movement. Its unprecedented qualities could allow robots to mimic chameleons and octopi -- among other futuristic ...

'SlothBot in the Garden' Demonstrates Hyper-Efficient Conservation Robot

For the next several months, visitors to the Atlanta Botanical Garden will be able to observe the testing of a new high-tech tool in the battle to save some of the world's most endangered ...

Borrowing from Robotics, Scientists Automate Mapping of Quantum Systems

A scientist has taken an algorithm used for autonomous vehicles and adapted it to help characterize and stabilize quantum ...

Jitterbug: Roaches and Robots Shake It to Transition Between Movements in Tricky Terrain

By chasing cockroaches through an obstacle course and studying their movements, the engineers that brought you the cockroach robot and the snake robot discovered that animals' movement ...

Unlocking PNA's Superpowers for Self-Assembling Nanostructures

Researchers have developed a method for self-assembling nanostructures with gamma-modified peptide nucleic acid, a synthetic mimic of DNA. The process has the potential to impact nanomanufacturing ...

Self-Driving Cars That Recognize Free Space Can Better Detect Objects

It's important that self-driving cars quickly detect other cars or pedestrians sharing the road. Researchers have shown that they can significantly improve detection accuracy by helping the ...

Researchers Mimic Nature for Fast, Colorful 3D Printing

Brilliantly colored chameleons, butterflies, opals - and now some 3D-printed materials -- reflect color by using nanoscale structures called photonic crystals. A new study demonstrates how a modified ...

First Confirmation of New Theory by Metamaterial

Physicists have experimentally demonstrated a novel effect for the first time by exploiting topological ...

Friday, July 10, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020