advertisement
Aviation News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Researchers have developed the first continuous, anatomically accurate 3D mathematical model of the paradise tree snake ...

Deep Drone Acrobatics

A navigation algorithm enables drones to learn challenging acrobatic maneuvers. Autonomous quadcopters can be trained using simulations to increase their speed, agility and efficiency, which benefits ...

New Research Leads to Drones Changing Shape Mid-Flight

Engineers have developed autonomous air vehicles that can change shape during ...

Graphene Smart Textiles Developed for Heat Adaptive Clothing

New research on the two-dimensional (2D) material graphene has allowed researchers to create smart adaptive clothing which can lower the body temperature of the wearer in hot ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:51am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Recovery from Airline Delays Works Best With Future Disruptions in Mind

Instead of responding to each flight delay as if it were an isolated event, airlines should consider the likelihood of potential disruptions ahead, researchers report. They developed a new approach ...

Impact of COVID-19 on Air Transport Sector

Research has assessed the initial impact of COVID-19 on air transport and found that it is likely to lead to a smaller, consolidated sector in the ...

Measuring Atlantic Bluefin Tuna With a Drone

Researchers have used an unmanned aerial system (or drone) to gather data on schooling juvenile Atlantic bluefin tuna in the Gulf of Maine. This pilot study tested whether a drone could keep up with ...

Clean Without Scrubbing and Using Chemicals

Scientists have developed a self-cleaning metallic surface. Engineers structured an aluminum plate with a laser process in such a way that water droplets no longer adhere and dirt particles can be ...

How the Chemical Industry Can Meet the Climate Goals

Researchers analyzed various possibilities for reducing the net CO2 emissions of the chemical industry to zero. Their conclusion? The chemical industry can in fact have a carbon-neutral ...

Predicting in-Flight Air Density for More Accurate Landing

Knowing the air density outside of a spacecraft can have a substantial effect on its angle of descent and ability to hit a specific landing spot. But sensors that can withstand the harsh hypersonic ...

Drones Could Still Be a Threat to Public Safety -- New Research Improves Drone Detection

Researchers have gathered extensive radar measurement data, aiming to improve the detection and identification of ...

Drones Can Now Scan Terrain and Excavations Without Human Intervention

Drones can now scan terrain and excavations without human intervention. New research has allowed artificial intelligence to take over the human-controlled drones currently being used for the task. ...

New Patented Invention Stabilizes, Rotates Satellites

Many satellites are in space to take photos. But a vibrating satellite, like a camera in shaky hands, can't get a sharp image. Pointing it at a precise location to take a photo or perform ...

Simple, Fuel-Efficient Rocket Engine Could Enable Cheaper, Lighter Spacecraft

Researchers have developed a mathematical model that describes how rotating detonation engines ...

Small Altitude Changes Could Cut Climate Impact of Aircraft by Up to 59%

Altering the altitudes of less than 2% of flights could reduce contrail-linked climate change by 59%, says a new ...

Researchers Develop Smaller, Lighter Radiation Shielding

Researchers have developed a new technique for shielding electronics in military and space exploration technology from ionizing radiation. The new approach is more cost effective than existing ...

Demand for Drone Delivery in E-Retail Is High, Ability to Meet That Demand Low

Consumers want what they want, and they want it now. Drone delivery has long been talked about as an option to satisfy consumer delivery demands, but how realistic is it? New research looks at how ...

New Bio-Inspired Wing Design for Small Drones

Taking a cue from birds and insects, researchers have come up with a new wing design for small drones that helps them fly more efficiently and makes them more robust to atmospheric ...

Beating the Heat in the Living Wings of Butterflies

Engineers and biologists discover that butterflies have specialized behaviors and wing scales to protect the living parts of their wings. The nanostructures found in the wing scales could inspire the ...

Commercial Air Travel Is Safer Than Ever

It has never been safer to fly on commercial airlines, according to a new study that tracks the continued decrease in passenger fatalities around the ...

New Understanding of Condensation Could Lead to Better Power Plant Condenser, De-Icing Materials

For decades, it's been understood that water repellency is needed for surfaces to shed condensation buildup - like the droplets of water that form in power plant condensers to reduce pressure. ...

New Scheduling Tool Offers Both Better Flight Choices and Increased Airline Profits

Researchers have developed an original approach to flight scheduling that, if implemented, could result in a significant increase in profits for airlines and more flights that align with ...

A New Approach to Making Airplane Parts, Minus the Massive Infrastructure

Engineers have developed a method to produce aerospace-grade composites without the enormous ovens and pressure vessels. The technique may help to speed up the manufacturing of airplanes and other ...

Moths' Flight Data Helps Drones Navigate Complex Environments

The flight navigation strategy of moths can be used to develop programs that help drones to navigate unfamiliar environments, report ...

Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Sunday, March 31, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018