advertisement
Aviation News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

How Retail Drone Delivery May Change Logistics Networks

Researchers found that last-mile delivery networks will become more decentralized and the delivery speed of the drones will increase as the technology ...

Is It a Bird, a Plane? Not Superman, but a Flapping Wing Drone

A drone prototype that mimics the aerobatic manoeuvres of one of the world's fastest birds, the swift, is being developed by an international team of engineers in the latest example of biologically ...

Design of Insect-Inspired Fans Offers Wide-Ranging Applications

A highly sophisticated folding mechanism employed by a group of insects for at least 280 million years is set to become available for a wide range of applications, thanks to a design method developed ...

Researchers Use 3D Modeling to Decode Aerial Undulation's Role in Flying Snake Glides

Researchers have developed the first continuous, anatomically accurate 3D mathematical model of the paradise tree snake in ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:03pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Student Research Team Develops Hybrid Rocket Engine

In a year defined by obstacles, a student rocket team persevered. Working together across five time zones, they successfully designed a hybrid rocket engine that uses paraffin and a novel nitrous ...

Battery Breakthrough Gives Boost to Electric Flight and Long-Range Electric Cars

Researchers have developed a new battery material that could enable long-range electric vehicles that can drive for hundreds of miles on a single charge, and electric planes called eVTOLs for fast, ...

Recovery from Airline Delays Works Best With Future Disruptions in Mind

Instead of responding to each flight delay as if it were an isolated event, airlines should consider the likelihood of potential disruptions ahead, researchers report. They developed a new approach ...

Impact of COVID-19 on Air Transport Sector

Research has assessed the initial impact of COVID-19 on air transport and found that it is likely to lead to a smaller, consolidated sector in the ...

Measuring Atlantic Bluefin Tuna With a Drone

Researchers have used an unmanned aerial system (or drone) to gather data on schooling juvenile Atlantic bluefin tuna in the Gulf of Maine. This pilot study tested whether a drone could keep up with ...

Clean Without Scrubbing and Using Chemicals

Scientists have developed a self-cleaning metallic surface. Engineers structured an aluminum plate with a laser process in such a way that water droplets no longer adhere and dirt particles can be ...

How Drones Can Monitor Explosive Volcanoes

Due to high risk for researchers, the imaging of active volcanoes has so far been a great challenge in volcanology. Scientists used a drone for a series of repeated survey flights with optical and ...

Commercial Airliners Monitoring CO2 Emissions from Cities Worldwide

Monitoring greenhouse gas emissions from cities is important in order to support climate mitigation activities in response to the Paris Agreement. An international research team examined carbon ...

Fossil Fuel-Free Jet Propulsion With Air Plasmas

Humans depend on fossil fuels as their primary energy source, especially in transportation. However, fossil fuels are both unsustainable and unsafe, serving as the largest source of greenhouse gas ...

Groundbreaking New Rocket-Propulsion System

Researchers have developed an advanced new rocket-propulsion system once thought to be impossible. The system, known as a rotating detonation rocket engine, will allow upper stage rockets for space ...

Learning from Fish and Flags to Inform New Propulsion Strategies

Recent research has found relationships between frequencies and the passive dynamics at play when vehicles move in air or water toward a better understanding of how to use these forces to enhance ...

Can High-Power Microwaves Reduce the Launch Cost of Space-Bound Rockets?

Researchers calculated the efficiencies of four important features of microwave-beam-powered propulsion systems for rockets. These findings are critical to minimizing or possibly reducing the cost of ...

Scientific Machine Learning Paves Way for Rapid Rocket Engine Design

Researchers are developing a faster modeling technique for rocket engine designers to test performance in different ...

New Photon-Counting Camera Captures 3D Images With Record Speed and Resolution

Researchers have developed the first megapixel photon-counting camera based on new-generation image sensor technology that uses single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs). The new camera can detect ...

Offshore Oil and Gas Platforms Release More Methane Than Previously Estimated

Offshore energy-producing platforms in US waters of the Gulf of Mexico are emitting twice as much methane, a greenhouse gas, than previously thought, according to a new ...

How the Chemical Industry Can Meet the Climate Goals

Researchers analyzed various possibilities for reducing the net CO2 emissions of the chemical industry to zero. Their conclusion? The chemical industry can in fact have a carbon-neutral ...

Predicting in-Flight Air Density for More Accurate Landing

Knowing the air density outside of a spacecraft can have a substantial effect on its angle of descent and ability to hit a specific landing spot. But sensors that can withstand the harsh hypersonic ...

Drones Could Still Be a Threat to Public Safety -- New Research Improves Drone Detection

Researchers have gathered extensive radar measurement data, aiming to improve the detection and identification of ...

Drones Can Now Scan Terrain and Excavations Without Human Intervention

Drones can now scan terrain and excavations without human intervention. New research has allowed artificial intelligence to take over the human-controlled drones currently being used for the task. ...

New Patented Invention Stabilizes, Rotates Satellites

Many satellites are in space to take photos. But a vibrating satellite, like a camera in shaky hands, can't get a sharp image. Pointing it at a precise location to take a photo or perform ...

Thursday, August 27, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Sunday, March 31, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019