advertisement
Stroke Prevention News
August 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Researchers Find Rise in Broken Heart Syndrome During COVID-19 Pandemic

Researchers have found a significant increase in patients experiencing stress cardiomyopathy, also known as broken heart syndrome, during the COVID-19 ...

Stretching Your Legs May Help Prevent Diseases Such as Heart Diseases and Diabetes

New research shows that 12 weeks of easy-to-administer passive stretching helps improve blood flow by making it easier for your arteries to dilate ...

Why Do Arteries Age? Study Explores Link to Gut Bacteria, Diet

Eat a slab of steak and your resident gut bacteria get to work immediately to break it down. But new research shows that a metabolic byproduct, called TMAO, produced in the process can be harmful to ...

Molecules That Reduce 'Bad' Gut Bacteria Reverse Narrowing of Arteries in Animal Study

Scientists have developed molecules that can remodel the bacterial population of intestines to a healthier state. They also have shown -- through ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:28pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Clot Permeability Linked to First-Attempt Success of Aspiration Thrombectomy

A multicenter study reports that clot perviousness, or permeability - the ability for contrast used during the initial imaging workup to seep through a clot, as estimated by CT imaging - is ...

Key to Dialogue Between Brain Cells to Protect Against Stroke

LSU Health New Orleans research has unlocked a key fundamental mechanism in the communication between brain cells when confronted with stroke and found DHA not only protected neuronal cells and ...

Why Is Stroke So Deadly for People of African Descent?

An international team of scientists has completed the largest analysis of stroke-risk genes ever undertaken in people of African ...

Study Associates Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) With Large Vessel Occlusion Strokes

COVID-19 is associated with large vessel occlusion (LVO) stroke but not small vessel occlusion stroke. After stratification for race and ethnicity, the risk of LVO stroke among patients with COVID-19 ...

Inflammation Induced Blood-Brain Barrier Dysfunction Studied in Organoids

For this study, the 3D brain organoid was used to model the effects of oxygen deprivation and inflammation on blood brain barrier function to better understand what is happening in a human brain ...

Cholesterol-Lowering Drug Improved Function of Heart's Arteries

In a pilot study of people living with HIV or high levels of cholesterol, researchers found that a six-week course of a cholesterol-lowering medication improved the function of the coronary arteries ...

Wealthier Men Are More Likely to Develop High Blood Pressure

Working men with higher incomes are more likely to develop high blood pressure, reports a new ...

High-Deductible Health Plans and Major Cardiovascular Outcomes

New research finds that individuals with cardiovascular disease risk factors who switched to high-deductible health plans (HDHPs) did not experience increased risk of heart attack or ...

Study Suggests Increased Risks for COVID-19 Patients Who Smoke, Vape

A new review looks at the effect that smoking and vaping may have on the cerebrovascular and neurological systems of COVID-19 ...

Opium Linked With More Deaths After Bypass Surgery

The largest study on opium use and outcomes after bypass surgery has found that - in contrast to widely held beliefs - it is linked with more deaths and heart ...

Coronary Calcium Scoring: Personalized Preventive Care for Those Most at Risk

An imaging test called coronary calcium scoring can help doctors to make the right recommendation about the use of statin therapy. The test is a 10-minute CT (computed tomography) scan looking for ...

New Study Looks at Post-COVID-19 Emerging Disease in Children

In recent weeks, a multisystem hyperinflammatory condition has emerged in children in association with prior exposure or infection to SARS-CoV-2. A new case series examines the spectrum of imaging ...

Better Measure of 'Good Cholesterol' Can Gauge Heart Attack and Stroke Risk in Some Populations

For decades, high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol has been dubbed 'good cholesterol' because of its role in moving fats and other cholesterol molecules out of artery walls. People ...

New Nanoparticle Drug Combination for Atherosclerosis

Physicochemical cargo-switching nanoparticles (CSNP) can help significantly reduce cholesterol and macrophage foam cells in arteries, which are the two main triggers for atherosclerotic plaque and ...

Multi-Ethnic Study Suggests Vitamin K May Offer Protective Health Benefits in Older Age

A new, multi-ethnic study found adults aged 54-76 with low circulating vitamin K levels were more likely to die within 13 years compared to those with adequate levels, suggesting vitamin K may offer ...

Ischemic Stroke Rates Decrease During COVID-19 Pandemic

Research reveals fewer people have been admitted to stroke centers in Michigan and northwest Ohio since the onslaught of the COVID-19 pandemic, and significantly fewer patients received a mechanical ...

Heart Injury Among Hospitalized COVID-19 Patients Associated With Higher Risk of Death

Findings from a new study may help doctors better triage coronavirus patients admitted to the ...

Protecting the Neuronal Architecture

Protecting nerve cells from losing their characteristic extensions, the dendrites, can reduce brain damage after a stroke. Neurobiologists have demonstrated this by means of research on a mouse ...

Disrupted Sleep Increases the Risk of Cardiovascular Disease by Promoting Inflammation

Sleep disruption has been shown to be associated with an increased risk of atherosclerosis, but the mechanism has been unclear. A new study reveals that fragmented sleep exacerbates atherosclerosis ...

Coronavirus Linked to Stroke in Otherwise Healthy Young People

Preliminary observations suggest a high incidence of COVID-19 in stroke patients, including younger patients who were otherwise ...

Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Sunday, July 26, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Saturday, February 29, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020