advertisement
Stroke Prevention News
October 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Artificially Sweetened Drinks May Not Be Heart Healthier Than Sugary Drinks

Sugary drinks and artificially sweetened beverages are associated with a higher risk of cardiovascular disease, which suggests artificially sweetened beverages may not be the healthy alternative they ...

Certain Pre-Existing Conditions May Double, Triple Mortality Risk for COVID-19

A large, international study of COVID-19 patients confirmed that cardiovascular disease, hypertension, diabetes, congestive heart failure, chronic ...

World First Study Links Obesity With Reduced Brain Plasticity

A world-first study has found that severely overweight people are less likely to be able to re-wire their brains and find new neural pathways, a discovery that has significant implications for people ...

Mosquito-Borne Viruses Linked to Stroke

A deadly combination of two mosquito-borne viruses may be a trigger for stroke, new research has ...
Latest Headlines
updated 12:58pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Ultrasounds Show Impact of COVID-19 on the Heart

A new study identifies different types of cardiac structural damage experienced by COVID-19 patients after cardiac injury that can be associated with deadly conditions including heart attack, ...

Weight-Reduction Surgery for Severely Obese Adults May Prevent Second Heart Attack, Death

Adults with severe obesity (BMI >35) and a prior heart attack who undergo weight-reduction surgery may lower their risk of a second heart attack, major cardiovascular event, heart failure and ...

Nearly One in Three Young Adults in the US Does Not Know Common Stroke Symptoms

Nearly 30% of U.S. adults younger than 45 don't know all five of the most common stroke symptoms, according to a recent survey. Hispanic adults, people not born in the U.S. and less educated ...

Risk of Heart Complications After Major Surgery Is Higher Than Previously Thought

One in five high-risk patients undergoing major non-cardiac surgery will develop one or more heart complications within a year, according to new ...

Influenza Vaccination May Provide Roadmap to Prevent COVID-19 in CV Disease Patients

Seasonal influenza vaccine development and mass production, as well as three international influenza vaccine cardiovascular outcomes trials currently underway, may inform future efforts targeted at ...

Study Provides Additional Support for Use of New Class of Diabetes Drugs

A new study has assessed the cardiovascular and renal outcomes for ertugliflozin, an SGLT2 inhibitor prescribed for patients with type 2 diabetes to help them control blood sugar ...

Smoking Linked to Bleeding in the Brain in Large, Long-Term Study of Twins

Researchers in Finland found a link between smoking and subarachnoid hemorrhage (SAH), a type of bleeding stroke, in a study of more than 16,000 pairs of twins over 42 years. The study found that ...

Authoritative New Analysis Links Increased Omega-3 Intake to Cardioprotection and Improved Cardiovascular Outcomes

A new study provides the most comprehensive analysis of the role of omega-3 dosage on cardiovascular prevention to date. The meta-analysis, which is an in-depth review of 40 clinical trials, provides ...

Biologic Therapy for Psoriasis May Reduce Heart Disease

Biologic therapy for psoriasis - protein-based infusions to suppress inflammation - was associated with a significant reduction in high-risk plaque in heart arteries, over one-year, according to new ...

Positive Results for ReWalk ReStore Exosuit in Stroke Rehabilitation

Scientists at five sites tested the soft robotic wearable exosuit for safety, reliability and feasibility in gait rehabilitation for individuals with mobility impairment ...

Mindfulness With Paced Breathing and Lowering Blood Pressure

Now more than ever, Americans and people all over the world are under increased stress, which may adversely affect their health and well-being. Researchers explore the possibility that mindfulness ...

Quality Over Quantity in Recovering Language After Stroke

New research has found that intensive therapy is not necessarily best when it comes to treating the loss of language and communication in early recovery after a ...

Uncovering the Genetics Behind Heart Attacks That Surprise Young, Healthy Women

New genetic research finds spontaneous coronary artery dissection, or SCAD, heart attacks may be more similar to different diseases than to other heart ...

Red Hot Meat: The Wrong Recipe for Heart Disease

From MasterChef to MKR, the world's best chefs have taught us how to barbeque, grill and panfry a steak to perfection. But while the experts may be seeking that extra flavor, new research ...

Study Examines the Benefits of Virtual Stroke Rehabilitation Programs

While virtual medical and rehabilitation appointments seemed novel when COVID-19 first appeared, they now seem to be part of the new norm and might be paving the way to the future. A recent review ...

Heart Disease Signs Improve When Using Arthritis Medication

Drugs used to treat initial signs of rheumatoid arthritis also improve the early stages of heart disease, according to new ...

Blood Pressure-Lowering Is Even More Beneficial Than Previously Thought

Blood pressure medication can prevent heart attacks and strokes - even in people with normal blood ...

Early Rhythm Control Therapy Improves Outcomes in Patients With Atrial Fibrillation

Patients with newly diagnosed atrial fibrillation benefit from early rhythm control therapy, according to new ...

For People With High Blood Pressure, Telemonitoring May Cut Heart Attack, Stroke Rate by 50%

Adults with uncontrolled high blood pressure were about half as likely to have serious cardiovascular events in the five years after a pharmacist-led telemonitoring program compared to those ...

Reprogramming Cardiac Fibroblast Cells to Transform Into Beating Heart Muscle

Researchers have clarified the roles of matrix stiffness and mechanotransduction as well as the signaling pathways in the transformation of cardiac fibroblasts into contractile cardiomyocytes and ...

Monday, October 26, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Sunday, July 26, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020