advertisement
STD News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Method Identifies Adaptive Mutations in Complex Evolving Populations

A scientist has developed a method to study how HIV mutates to escape the immune system in multiple individuals, which could inform HIV vaccine ...

HIV-Like Virus Edited out of Primate Genome

Taking a major step forward in HIV research, scientists have successfully edited SIV - a virus closely related to HIV, the cause of AIDS - from the genomes of non-human ...

Engineered Immune Cells Elicit Broad Response to HIV in Mice, Offering Hope for Vaccine

Unlike so many other deadly viruses, HIV still lacks a vaccine. The virus has proven especially tricky to prevent with conventional antibodies, in ...

HIV Up Close: Unprecedented View of Virus Reveals Essential Steps for Causing AIDS

Accomplishing a feat that had been a pipe dream for decades, scientists have recreated in a test tube the first steps of infection by HIV (human ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:57pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Link Found Between Drought and HIV Among Women in Less-Developed Countries

Researchers explored the consequences of drought and lack of environmental resources on women in less-developed countries. The research shows the direct and indirect associations to women's ...

Antiretroviral Therapy Can't Completely Stop Accelerated Cell Aging Seen in HIV

Untreated HIV infection is linked with epigenetic changes that suggest rapid aging. A new study shows that antiretroviral therapy given over two years was unable to completely restore age-appropriate ...

Many Practitioners Are Not Prescribing HIV Prevention Medication

Only about 54% of medical practitioners surveyed say they have prescribed pre-exposure prophylaxis, or PrEP, to HIV-vulnerable patients, according to a new ...

New Gene Therapy Approach Eliminates at Least 90% Latent Herpes Simplex Virus 1

Infectious disease researchers have used a gene editing approach to remove latent herpes simplex virus 1, or HSV-1, also known as oral herpes. In animal models, the findings show at least a 90 ...

Study Explores the Association of Malaria, HIV With Anemia During Pregnancy

Pregnant women from sub-Saharan Africa with malaria and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) have a higher prevalence of anemia than pregnant women without infections, according to researchers. The ...

MS Drug May Be Used to Inhibit HIV Infection and Reduce Latent Reservoir

A multiple sclerosis drug may be used to block HIV infection and reduce the latent reservoir, according to new ...

Syphilis May Have Spread Through Europe Before Columbus

Columbus brought syphilis to Europe -- or did he? A recent study now indicates that Europeans could already have been infected with this sexually transmitted disease before the 15th century. In ...

Protein Uses Two Antiviral Strategies to Ward Off Infections

To protect humans against infection, a protein called MARCH8 tags the vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) for destruction while it merely holds HIV hostage, a new study ...

HPV Strains May Impact Cervical Cancer Prognosis

An analysis of cervical cancers in Ugandan women has uncovered significant genomic differences between tumors caused by different strains of human papillomavirus (HPV), signifying HPV type may impact ...

The Wrong Track: How Papillomaviruses Trick the Immune System

Specific antibodies protect us against viral infections - or do they not? Researchers studied the immune response to papillomaviruses in mice and discovered a hitherto unknown mechanism by which the ...

Chlamydia: Greedy for Glutamine

If chlamydiae want to multiply in a human cell, the first thing they need is a lot of glutamine. Researchers have clarified how the pathogenic bacteria obtain this ...

Multiomics Investigation Revealing the Characteristics of HIV-1-Infected Cells in Vivo

A research group using HIV-1-infected cells performed 'multiomics' analyses, which are technologies recently developed to comprehensively investigate the features of biological samples.In ...

Antiviral Method Against Herpes Paves the Way for Combating Incurable Viral Infections

Researchers have discovered a new method to treat human herpes viruses. The new broad-spectrum method targets physical properties in the genome of the virus rather than viral proteins, which have ...

Neutralizing Antibodies Isolated from COVID-19 Patients May Suppress Virus

Researchers have isolated antibodies from several COVID-19 patients that, to date, are among the most potent in neutralizing the SARS-CoV-2 virus. These antibodies could be produced in large ...

Long-Acting Injectable Form of HIV Prevention Outperforms Daily Pill

A pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) regimen containing an investigational long-acting form of the HIV drug cabotegravir injected once every 8 weeks was more effective than daily oral Truvada at ...

One in Five Georgian Londoners Had Syphilis by Their Mid-30s

250 years ago, over one-fifth of Londoners had contracted syphilis by their 35th birthday, historians have ...

Superbug Impact on the Gut

Researchers have discovered that the devastating bacterial superbug Clostridioides difficile hijacks the human wound healing system in order to cause serious and persistent disease, opening up the ...

Brain Cells Can Harbor and Spread HIV Virus to the Body

Researchers have found that astrocytes, a type of brain cell can harbor HIV and then spread the virus to immune cells that traffic out of the brain and into other organs. HIV moved from the brain via ...

Probiotics With Top-Performing Lactobacillus Strains May Improve Vaginal Health

Vaginal Lactobacillus bacterial strains largely perform better than strains currently used in probiotics for vaginal health, according to a new study. The findings suggest that a vaginal health ...

Wording of Vaccination Messages Influences Behavior

An experiment has revealed that relatively small differences in messages influenced people's attitudes about the human papillomavirus or HPV vaccine, which has been shown to help prevent ...

Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Friday, December 27, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Monday, May 27, 2019