advertisement
STD News
September 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Unique HIV Reservoirs in Elite Controllers

Unlike ART-treated individuals, elite controllers' viral reservoirs appear to be incapable of being reactivated. This likely helps the elite controllers maintain spontaneous, drug-free control of ...

New Gene Therapy Approach Eliminates at Least 90% Latent Herpes Simplex Virus 1

Infectious disease researchers have used a gene editing approach to remove latent herpes simplex virus 1, or HSV-1, also known as oral herpes. In ...

MS Drug May Be Used to Inhibit HIV Infection and Reduce Latent Reservoir

A multiple sclerosis drug may be used to block HIV infection and reduce the latent reservoir, according to new ...

Viral HIV Vaccine Gives Durable Protection Against 'Death Star' Strain

Efforts to develop an effective HIV vaccine have repeatedly stumbled on one tough research strain, SIVmac239. Nicknamed the 'death star' strain, it has defeated multiple anti-HIV vaccine and antibody ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:27pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Many Practitioners Are Not Prescribing HIV Prevention Medication

Only about 54% of medical practitioners surveyed say they have prescribed pre-exposure prophylaxis, or PrEP, to HIV-vulnerable patients, according to a new ...

Study Explores the Association of Malaria, HIV With Anemia During Pregnancy

Pregnant women from sub-Saharan Africa with malaria and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) have a higher prevalence of anemia than pregnant women without infections, according to researchers. The ...

HPV Strains May Impact Cervical Cancer Prognosis

An analysis of cervical cancers in Ugandan women has uncovered significant genomic differences between tumors caused by different strains of human papillomavirus (HPV), signifying HPV type may impact ...

The Wrong Track: How Papillomaviruses Trick the Immune System

Specific antibodies protect us against viral infections - or do they not? Researchers studied the immune response to papillomaviruses in mice and discovered a hitherto unknown mechanism by which the ...

Chlamydia: Greedy for Glutamine

If chlamydiae want to multiply in a human cell, the first thing they need is a lot of glutamine. Researchers have clarified how the pathogenic bacteria obtain this ...

Multiomics Investigation Revealing the Characteristics of HIV-1-Infected Cells in Vivo

A research group using HIV-1-infected cells performed 'multiomics' analyses, which are technologies recently developed to comprehensively investigate the features of biological samples.In ...

Brain Cells Can Harbor and Spread HIV Virus to the Body

Researchers have found that astrocytes, a type of brain cell can harbor HIV and then spread the virus to immune cells that traffic out of the brain and into other organs. HIV moved from the brain via ...

Probiotics With Top-Performing Lactobacillus Strains May Improve Vaginal Health

Vaginal Lactobacillus bacterial strains largely perform better than strains currently used in probiotics for vaginal health, according to a new study. The findings suggest that a vaginal health ...

Wording of Vaccination Messages Influences Behavior

An experiment has revealed that relatively small differences in messages influenced people's attitudes about the human papillomavirus or HPV vaccine, which has been shown to help prevent ...

Uncovering the Achilles Heel of Viruses

New research identifies how viruses avoid the body's immune system and cause infections and ...

Microbiome Therapy Protects Against Recurrent Bacterial Vaginosis

Bacterial vaginosis is one of the most frequent bacterial infections, affecting nearly 30% of women of reproductive age in the United States, and anywhere from 15 to 50% of women around the world. It ...

World-First Saliva Test Detects Hidden Throat Cancer

A series of saliva HPV tests detected an asymptomatic throat cancer during a trial of a new saliva diagnostic. Further validation studies are needed to confirm this finding. It is a world-first ...

Scientists Identify a New Potential Reservoir of Latent HIV

Scientists have describe a class of cells that preferentially support latent infection by HIV. These cells are characterized by a surface protein called CD127 and are found in tissues such as lymph ...

Herpes Virus Decoded

The genome of the herpes simplex virus 1 was decoded using new methods. Hundreds of previously unknown gene products were found. The virus causes lip herpes, but can also be ...

Syphilis Eludes Immune Attack by Altering a Single Gene

Shuffling of DNA in a single gene might be why the syphilis bacteria can evade the immune system. The change alters a protein on its cell surface to create a distraction. People can become ...

Breakthrough Discovery in HIV Research Opens Path to New, Better Therapies

Cells infected with HIV make two forms of the virus's RNA. A new article finds a single nucleotide controls which version of viral RNA an infected cell makes; both forms are necessary for HIV to ...

Exploring Mechanisms of Resistance to HIV in People With Sickle Cell Disease

A new analysis supports prior reports that people with sickle cell disease have lower rates of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection, but follow-up cell studies did not reveal a mechanism to ...

Rapid Infectious Disease Shifts in Chinese Children and Adolescents Prior to COVID-19

Deaths of children and adolescents in China due to infectious diseases were becoming rare prior to the covid-19 pandemic, according to a new ...

A New Way to Study HIV's Impact on the Brain

Using a newly developed laboratory model of three types of brain cells, scientists reveal how HIV infection -- as well as the drugs that treat it -- can take a toll on the central nervous ...

Microbiome May Hold Key to Identifying HPV-Infected Women at Risk for Pre-Cancer

Gardnerella bacteria in the cervicovaginal microbiome may serve as a biomarker to identify women infected with human papillomavirus (HPV) who are at risk for progression to precancer, according to a ...

Thursday, September 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Friday, December 27, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Monday, May 27, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019