advertisement
Psychology Research News
August 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Brain-NET, a Deep Learning Methodology, Accurately Predicts Surgeon Certification Scores Based on Neuroimaging Data

Researchers demonstrated how a deep learning framework they call 'Brain-NET' can accurately predict a person's level of expertise in terms of their ...

Excess Weight Among Pregnant Women May Interfere With Child's Developing Brain

Obesity in expectant mothers may hinder the development of the babies' brains as early as the second trimester, a new study ...

Gulf War Illness, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Distinct Illnesses, Study Suggests

A brain imaging study of veterans with Gulf War illness (GWI) and patients with chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) (sometimes called myalgic ...

Brain Noise Contains Unique Signature of Dream Sleep

Dream or REM sleep is distinguished by rapid eye movement and absence of muscle tone, but electroencephalogram (EEG) recordings are indistinguishable from those of an awake brain. Neuroscientists ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:29pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Study Pinpoints Five Most Likely Causes of Post-Traumatic Stress in Police Officers

A combination of genetic and emotional differences may lead to post-traumatic stress (PTS) in police officers, a new study finds. Based on biological studies of officers in major cities, the study ...

Prenatal Depression Can Alter Child's Brain Connectivity, Affect Behavior

Altered brain connectivity may be one way prenatal depression influences child behavior, according to new ...

Novel Approach Reduces SCA1 Symptoms in Animal Model

Manipulating a novel mechanism that regulates ATXN1 levels reduced ATXN1 and improved some of the symptoms of neurodegenerative disease SCA1 in animal ...

Key to Dialogue Between Brain Cells to Protect Against Stroke

LSU Health New Orleans research has unlocked a key fundamental mechanism in the communication between brain cells when confronted with stroke and found DHA not only protected neuronal cells and ...

Education May Be Protective for People With Gene for Familial Early Onset Alzheimer's

Even for people who carry the gene for early onset Alzheimer's disease, more years of education may slow the development of beta-amyloid plaques in the brain that are associated with the ...

To Improve Students' Mental Health, Study Finds, Teach Them to Breathe

When college students learn specific techniques for managing stress and anxiety, their well-being improves across a range of measures and leads to better mental health, a new study ...

Researchers Discover Stem Cells in Optic Nerve That Preserve Vision

Researchers have for the first time identified stem cells in the region of the optic nerve, which transmits signals from the eye to the brain. The finding presents a new theory on why the most common ...

Inflammation Induced Blood-Brain Barrier Dysfunction Studied in Organoids

For this study, the 3D brain organoid was used to model the effects of oxygen deprivation and inflammation on blood brain barrier function to better understand what is happening in a human brain ...

A new blood test demonstrated remarkable promise in discriminating between persons with and without Alzheimer's disease and in persons at known genetic risk may be able to detect the disease as ...

Increased Attention to Sad Faces Predicts Depression Risk in Teenagers

Teenagers who tend to pay more attention to sad faces are more likely to develop depression, but specifically within the context of stress, according to new research from Binghamton University, State ...

How Renegade Protein Interrupts Brain Cell Function in Alzheimer's Disease

Dozens of molecules may tangle up with rogue bundles of tau, a protein that normally gives nerve fibers structure, to cause brain cell damage that contributes to neurodegenerative diseases, a new ...

Further Evidence World Trade Center Responders Are at Risk for Dementia

New studies indicate that World Trade Center (WTC) first responders are at risk for developing ...

COVID-19 Increased Anxiety, Depression for Already Stressed College Students

College students were more anxious, depressed and sedentary during the initial outbreak of COVID-19 than they were during similar academic terms in other years, according to a multiyear study using ...

Loss of smell, or anosmia, is one of the earliest and most commonly reported symptoms of COVID-19. A new study identifies the olfactory cell types most vulnerable to infection by the novel ...

Two Distinct Circuits Drive Inhibition in the Sensory Thalamus of the Brain

The thalamus is a 'Grand Central Station' for sensory information coming to our brains. Almost every sight, sound, taste and touch travels to our brain's cortex via the thalamus. ...

Cells React Differently to Genomic Imprinting

We inherit half of our genes from each parent. For their function of most genes, it doesn't matter which parent a gene comes from. But this is not true for all genes: about 150 genes are subject ...

Food Supplements May Improve Brain Health Among Young Children in Low Income Countries

Giving nutritional supplements to young children in low income countries for around 6 months could improve their brain (cognitive) health, finds a new ...

Health and Happiness Depend on Each Other

New research adds to the growing body of evidence that happiness not only feels good, it is good for your physical health, ...

Concussions Associated With Cognitive, Behavioral, and Emotional Consequences for Students

Concussions can have a compounding effect on children, leading to long-term cognitive, behavioral, and emotional health consequences, according to ...

Antibiotics Disrupt Development of the 'Social Brain' in Mice

Antibiotic treatment in early life impedes brain signalling pathways that function in social behavior and pain regulation in mice, a new study has ...

Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020