advertisement
Prostate Cancer News
August 15, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Breakthrough Discovery to Transform Prostate Cancer Treatment

A novel formulation of the prostate cancer drug abiraterone acetate - currently marketed as Zytiga - will dramatically improve the quality of life for people suffering from prostate cancer, as ...

Protein That Hinders Advancement of Prostate Cancer Identified

Researchers at Boston University School of Medicine (BUSM) have discovered that blocking a specific protein, may be a promising strategy to prevent the spread of castration-resistant prostate cancer ...

Prostate Cancer Incidence and Mortality Have Declined in Most Countries

Prostate cancer incidence and mortality rates are decreasing or stabilizing in most parts of the world, with the United States recording the biggest drop in incidence, according to new ...

Laser-Targeted Removal of Prostate Tumors Works as Well Complete Removal of Prostate

Researchers have shown that selectively destroying cancerous prostate tissue is as effective as complete prostate removal or radiation therapy while ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:28am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Inherited Origin of Prostate Cancer in Families

Researchers have identified haplotypes, ancestral fragments of DNA, that are associated with hereditary prostate cancer (HPC) in a first-of-its-kind genomic study made possible by the study of ...

Radiation Drugs With Longer Shelf Life Brings Hope for Cancer Patients Globally

Victorian researchers and industry combine expertise to develop radiation drugs with longer shelf ...

New Computational Tools Identify Alternative Splicing Changes in Aggressive Cancers

A multi-institutional group of researchers has linked a strong cancer driver gene to changes in proteins that regulate alternative splicing. The researchers created new computational tools and ...

Study Examines Prostate Cancer Treatment Decisions

A five-year follow-up study of more than 2,000 US men who received prostate cancer treatment is creating a road map for future patients regarding long-term bowel, bladder and sexual function in order ...

Targeted Screening Could Prevent One in Six Prostate Cancer Deaths

The study modeled the harms and benefits of introducing four-yearly PSA screening for all men aged 55 to 69 versus more targeted checks for those at higher risk of the disease. The researchers ...

Reducing the Side-Effects of Prostate Hormone Therapy With Exercise

A prescription of short-term exercise for patients with advanced prostate cancer could help to reduce the side-effects of hormone therapy, according to new research. The trial aimed to reduce the ...

Being Active Reduces Risk of Prostate Cancer

Prostate cancer is the most common cancer in men in the UK , yet we still don't know all of its causes. The largest ever study to use genetics as a measurement for physical activity to look at ...

New Strategies Against Bone Metastases from Prostate Cancer

A study suggests a new approach, or, possibly two new approaches against prostate cancer bone metastases: While targeted therapies and anti-cancer immunotherapies have not been especially successful ...

Novel MRI-Guided Ultrasound Treatment Destroys Prostate Cancer

A novel MRI-guided procedure that uses therapeutic ultrasound effectively treats prostate cancer with minimal side effects, according to a new study. Researchers said the incision-free technique ...

Omega-3 Shows Protection Against Heart Disease-Related Death, Without Prostate Cancer Risk

A research team identified 87 patients who were part of the Intermountain INSPIRE Registry and had developed prostate cancer. These patients were also tested for plasma levels of docosahexaenoic acid ...

Driver Found for More Deadly Prostate Cancer

A transcription factor that aids neuron function also appears to enable a cell conversion in the prostate gland that can make an already recurrent cancer even more deadly, scientists ...

High Levels of Two Hormones in the Blood Raise Prostate Cancer Risk

Men with higher levels of 'free' testosterone and a growth hormone in their blood are more likely to be diagnosed with prostate cancer, according to research presented at the 2019 NCRI ...

Treatment for 'Low T' Could Someday Come from a Single Skin Cell

Researchers have successfully grown human, testosterone-producing cells in the lab, paving the way to someday treat low testosterone with personalized replacement ...

Large, Long-Term Study Suggests Link Between Eating Mushrooms and a Lower Risk of Prostate Cancer

Results from the first long-term cohort study of more than 36,000 Japanese men over decades suggest an association between eating mushrooms and a lower risk of prostate ...

Biomarker in Urine May Offer Noninvasive Detection of Prostate Cancer

A research study has identified a novel prostate cancer gene fusion involving the KLK4 protein coding gene and KLKP1 pseudogene. This unique biomarker can be detected in the urine samples of patients ...

First Prostate Cancer Therapy to Target Genes Delays Cancer Progression

For the first time, prostate cancer has been treated based on the genetic makeup of the cancer, resulting in delayed disease progression, delayed time to pain progression, and potentially extending ...

Trial Finds High-Dose Radiation Effective for Men Whose Prostate Cancer Has Spread

A randomized clinical trial of targeted, high-dose radiation for men with oligometastatic prostate cancer has shown the treatment to be an effective and safe option for patients who wish to delay ...

Fathering Children by Assisted Reproduction Linked to Increased Risk of Prostate Cancer

Men who became fathers through assisted reproduction techniques seem to be at higher risk for prostate cancer and early onset prostate cancer compared with men achieving fatherhood ...

Promising Prostate Cancer Drug Candidates Identified

Cancer researchers have identified some promising drug candidates by using high-throughput screening methods to test tens of thousands of ...

Potential Therapeutic Target for Prostate Cancers With PTEN Mutation

PTEN, a tumor suppressor gene mutated in about 20% of prostate cancers, relies on another gene, ARID4B, to ...

Monday, March 23, 2020
Saturday, March 21, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Friday, December 14, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Friday, July 20, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Monday, April 9, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Friday, March 23, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Friday, March 16, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Wednesday, February 7, 2018