advertisement
Pregnancy and Childbirth News
August 2, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

How Human Sperm Really Swim: New Research Challenges Centuries-Old Assumption

A breakthrough in fertility science has shattered the universally accepted view of how sperm ...

New Test Offers Clarity for Couples Struggling to Conceive

A male fertility test could help predict which men might need treatment and which couples might have success with different forms of assisted ...

No NELL2, No Sperm Motility; Novel Protein Is Essential for Male Fertility

An international team of researchers has identified a chain of events that matures the sperm and triggers their motility. The findings have implications for diagnostic and therapeutic research in ...

Marijuana Use While Pregnant Boosts Risk of Children's Sleep Problems

As many as 7% of moms-to-be use marijuana while pregnant, and that number is rising fast as more use it to quell morning sickness. But new research suggests such use could have a lasting impact on ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:59pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Researchers Discover 'Marie Kondo' Protein Which Aids in Organizing Fruit Fly Embryos

Researchers have discovered a protein in fruit fly embryos dubbed Marie Kondo, that destroys maternal proteins. Much like namesake, author and clutter consultant Marie Kondo, this gene removes ...

Simple Twist of DNA Determines Fate of Placenta

The development of the mammalian placenta depends upon an unusual twist that separates DNA's classic double helix into a single-stranded ...

Bacteria in Infants' First Stool May Indicate Their Risk of Obesity

Meconium--the earliest stool of an infant -- is composed of materials ingested during the time the infant spends in the uterus. A new study found that the types of normal bacteria found in the ...

Links Between Parents' and Children's Asthma and Allergies

New research found that, compared with a father's traits related to allergies and asthma, a mother's traits create a higher risk that a child will develop these same traits in early ...

Troubling Connection Between Workplace Pregnancy Discrimination and Health of Mothers, Babies

Perceived pregnancy discrimination indirectly relates to increased levels of postpartum depressive symptoms for mothers and lower birth weights, lower gestational ages and increased numbers of doctor ...

Higher Manganese Levels in Early Pregnancy Linked to Lower Preeclampsia Risk

An analysis of data from more than 1,300 women followed prospectively through pregnancy found that women with lower levels of the essential mineral manganese in early pregnancy were more likely to ...

'Morning Sickness' Is Misleading and Inaccurate, New Study Argues

The term 'morning sickness' is misleading and should instead be described as nausea and sickness in pregnancy, argue researchers who have demonstrated that these symptoms can occur at any ...

Preterm Delivery Increases Long-Term Risks of Ischemic Heart Disease in Women Throughout Their Life

Women who gave birth before their 37th week of pregnancy are at an increased risk of developing ischemic heart disease (IHD) over the course of their life independent of other risk factors such as ...

Study Finds Exercise Increases Benefits of Breast Milk for Babies

A new study finds even moderate exercise during pregnancy increases a compound in breast milk that reduces a baby's lifelong risks of serious health issues such as diabetes, obesity and heart ...

Bioengineered Uteri Support Pregnancy

Scientists were able to show that bioengineered uteri in an animal model developed the native tissue-like structures needed to support normal reproductive ...

At-Risk Twin Pregnancies Benefit from an Intervention Called Cerclage

New evidence upturns long-held medical practice, showing the efficacy of an intervention to prevent premature labor and miscarriage for mothers carrying ...

Defining Paths to Possible Mother to Child Coronavirus Transmission

Researchers took a critical step in defining the possible paths for SARS-CoV-2 causing COVID-19 to get transmitted from the mother to her newborn ...

Prenatal Stress Associated With Infant Gut Microbes

Mother's chronic prenatal psychological distress and elevated hair cortisol concentrations are associated with gut microbiota composition of the infant, according to a new publication. The ...

The Rate We Acquire Genetic Mutations Could Help Predict Lifespan, Fertility

Differences in the rate that genetic mutations accumulate in healthy young adults could help predict remaining lifespan in both sexes and the remaining years of fertility in women, according to ...

Crowded Homes, Poor Neighborhoods Linked to COVID-19

A study of nearly 400 pregnant women is among the first to show that socioeconomic status and household crowding increase the risk of getting ...

Non-Invasive Fetal Oxygen Monitor Could Make for Safer Deliveries

A device to directly measure blood oxygen saturation in a fetus during labor has been developed by researchers at UC Davis. By providing better information about the health of a fetus right before ...

Mild Thyroid Dysfunction Affects One in Five Women With a History of Miscarriage or Subfertility

Mild thyroid abnormalities affect up to one in five women with a history of miscarriage or subfertility which is a prolonged time span of trying to become ...

Persistent DNA Damage in the Placenta Affects Pregnancy Outcomes

Scientists have shown that a dysfunctional placenta can play a previously unrecognized role during the earliest stages of development in mouse models of Cornelia de Lange syndrome. People with this ...

Maternal Transmission of COVID-19 to Baby During Pregnancy Is Uncommon, Study Finds

Transmission of COVID-19 from mother to baby during pregnancy is uncommon, and the rate of infection is no greater when the baby is born vaginally, breastfed or allowed contact with the mother, ...

Study Examines the Prevalence of COVID-19 Infections in Pregnant Women

A new paper reports on the prevalence of infections with the SARS-CoV-2 virus in women admitted to labor and delivery units in several Boston ...

Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Monday, January 20, 2020