advertisement
Pharmaceuticals News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Customizable Synthetic Antibiotic Outmaneuvers Resistant Bacteria

Antibiotic resistance is one of the world's most urgent public health threats. In the United States alone, tens of thousands of deaths result each year from drug-resistant strains of common bacteria ...

New Drug Candidate Found for Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease

Researchers have identified a potential drug candidate against enterovirus 71, a common cause of hand, foot and mouth disease in infants and young children. The compound of interest is a small ...

Potent Drug Supply Drop, Not Domestic Drug Policies, Likely Behind 2018 OD Death Downturn

The slight decline in drug overdose deaths in 2018 coincides with Chinese regulations on the powerful opioid carfentanil, rather than the result of ...

A Scientific First: How Psychedelics Bind to Key Brain Cell Receptor

For the first time, scientists solved the high-resolution structure of these compounds when they are actively bound to the 5-HT2A serotonin receptor on the surface of brain cells. This discovery is ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Genetic Testing Cost Effective for Newly Diagnosed GIST

Researchers reported that genetic testing is cost-effective and beneficial for newly diagnosed patients with metastatic gastrointestinal stromal tumors (GIST), a rare type of ...

Study Provides Additional Support for Use of New Class of Diabetes Drugs

A new study has assessed the cardiovascular and renal outcomes for ertugliflozin, an SGLT2 inhibitor prescribed for patients with type 2 diabetes to help them control blood sugar ...

Opening an Autophagy Window as the Apoptosis Door Starts to Close

Researchers have successfully attached the cancer cell-targeting antibody Trastuzumab to a previously reported supermolecule that induces autophagic cell death. The antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) ...

Many Practitioners Are Not Prescribing HIV Prevention Medication

Only about 54% of medical practitioners surveyed say they have prescribed pre-exposure prophylaxis, or PrEP, to HIV-vulnerable patients, according to a new ...

Identifying, Preventing and Managing Heart Rhythm Side Effects of Medicines

Arrhythmias are irregular heartbeats and can be caused by a variety of factors, such as genetics, heart disease, high blood pressure or electrolyte imbalances. Many commonly used medications, ...

New Nanosystem Enhances Treatment for Melanoma in Animal Models

Researchers have developed an innovative nanotechnological drug delivery system that significantly enhances the effectiveness of treatment for the aggressive skin cancer ...

Targeted Drug Found Effective in Patients Who Have Lung Cancer With Certain Mutations

A targeted therapy called capmatinib can provide significant benefits to patients who have advanced lung cancer with specific gene mutations, according to recently published results from a phase two ...

Genetic Study of Proteins Is a Breakthrough in Drug Development for Complex Diseases

An innovative genetic study of blood protein levels has demonstrated how genetic data can be used to support drug target prioritization by identifying the causal effects of proteins on ...

Gene Test Can Predict Risk of Medications Causing Liver Injury

Scientists have identified a 'polygenic risk score' that shows when a medication poses a risk of liver ...

New Drug Shown to Improve Bone Growth in Children With Achondroplasia

A phase three global clinical trial has shown that the drug vosoritide restores close-to-average bone growth rates of children with achondroplasia, the most common form of dwarfism. The study ...

New Computational Tool Enables Prediction of Key Functional Sites in Proteins Based on Structure

A new technology that uses a protein's structure to predict the inner wiring that controls the protein's function and dynamics is now available for scientists to utilize. The tool may be ...

Tiny Biological Package Gets Drug Right to the 'Heart' of Transplant Rejection

For patients who receive a heart transplant in the near future, the old adage, 'Good things come in small packages,' may become words to live by. Researchers have demonstrated in mice that ...

New Treatment for Drug-Resistant Bacterial Infections

A new antibacterial agent that has been engineered to essentially hide from the human immune system may treat life-threatening MRSA infections. A new article provides details on the agent, which is ...

Finding Cortisone Alternatives With Fewer Side Effects

Researchers are examining the beneficial effects of cortisone in order to lay the groundwork for the development of similar drugs with fewer side ...

Scientists Identify Promising New ALS Drug Candidates

Scientists have taken a significant step forward in the search to find effective new drug candidates for the treatment of Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), also known as motor neuron ...

One Quarter of Prescription Drugs in Canada May Be in Short Supply

Research sheds new light on the factors behind drug shortages in Canada, a common problem across the ...

Improving FDA's COVID-19 Vaccine Authorization and Approval Process: Lessons from Hydroxychloroquine

In a new article, researchers propose reforms that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) could implement to improve the emergency use authorization process and drug approvals during public ...

Scientists Develop First Drug-Like Compounds to Inhibit Elusive Cancer-Linked Enzymes

Structural biology techniques helped researchers target the nuclear receptor-binding SET domain family for the first time; its malfunction is associated with several types of ...

How Antibiotics Interact

Understanding bottleneck effects in the translation of bacterial proteins can lead to a more effective combination of ...

Phase 1 Human Trials Suggest Breast Cancer Drug Is Safe, Effective

A new type of breast cancer drug can help halt progression of disease and is not toxic, according to phase 1 clinical ...

Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020