advertisement
Obesity News
November 27, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Hormone Found to Switch Off Hunger Could Help Tackle Obesity

A hormone that can suppress food intake and increase the feeling of fullness in mice has shown similar results in humans and non-human primates, says a new ...

Age Is No Barrier to Successful Weight Loss

Obese patients over the age of 60 can lose an equivalent amount of weight as younger people using only lifestyle changes, according to a new study that demonstrates that age is no barrier to losing ...

Are High-Protein Total Diet Replacements the Key to Maintaining Healthy Weight?

The results of a new study suggest that high-protein total diet replacements are a promising nutritional strategy to combat rising rates of obesity. ...

Diet and Lifestyle During Pregnancy Linked to Modifications in Infants' DNA

A new study has shown pregnant women with obesity could reduce the health risks for their infants through improved diet and more physical ...
Latest Headlines
updated 8:27pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Gut Hormones' Regulation of Fat Production Abnormal in Obesity, Fatty Liver Disease

Gut hormones play an important role in regulating fat production in the body. One key hormone, released a few hours after eating, turns off fat production by regulating gene expression in the liver, ...

Research Shows Bariatric Surgery May Reduce Severity of COVID-19 in Patients With Obesity

A new study shows that among patients who have obesity and who tested positive for COVID-19, a past history of bariatric surgery was significantly associated with a lower risk of hospital and ...

Cardiovascular Factors: Effects on COVID-19 Risk

A new study uses a novel approach to investigate the effects of cardiovascular risk factors on the risk of COVID-19 ...

High-Sugar Diet Can Damage the Gut, Intensifying Risk for Colitis

Mice fed diets high in sugar developed worse colitis, a type of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), and researchers examining their large intestines found more of the bacteria that can damage the ...

Weight-Reduction Surgery for Severely Obese Adults May Prevent Second Heart Attack, Death

Adults with severe obesity (BMI greater than 35) and a prior heart attack who undergo weight-reduction surgery may lower their risk of a second heart attack, major cardiovascular event, heart failure ...

Obesity and Disease Tied to Dramatic Dietary Changes

The 'mismatch hypothesis' argues that our bodies evolved to digest the foods that our ancestors ate, and that human bodies will struggle and largely fail to metabolize a radically new set ...

Vitamin A Boosts Fat Burning in Cold Conditions

A recent study shows that cold ambient temperatures increase vitamin A levels in humans and mice. This helps convert 'bad' white adipose tissue into 'good' brown adipose tissue ...

Big Babies Could Be at Higher Risk of Common Heart Rhythm Disorder in Adulthood

Elevated birth weight is linked with developing atrial fibrillation later in life, according to new ...

Teen Brain Differences Linked to Increased Waist Circumference

Differences in the microstructure of the nucleus accumbens (NAcc), a region in the brain that plays an important role in processing food and other reward stimuli, predict increases in indicators of ...

Television Advertising Limits Can Reduce Childhood Obesity, Study Concludes

Limiting the hours of television advertising for foods and beverages high in fat, sugar and salt (HFSS) could make a meaningful contribution to reducing childhood obesity, according to a new ...

Inflammatory Gene Provides Clue to Obesity Risk

A gene that helps to control inflammation increases the risk of obesity and could be turned off in mice to stop weight gain, a study has ...

Genetic Risk of Developing Obesity Is Driven by Variants That Affect the Brain

Some people are at higher risk of developing obesity because they possess genetic variants that affect how the brain processes sensory information and regulates feeding and behavior. The findings ...

Genetic Differences in Body Fat Shape Men and Women's Health Risks

New findings about body fat help explain the differing health risks men and women face - and set the stage for better, more targeted ...

World First Study Links Obesity With Reduced Brain Plasticity

A world-first study has found that severely overweight people are less likely to be able to re-wire their brains and find new neural pathways, a discovery that has significant implications for people ...

Does a Healthy Diet Counter the Ill-Effects of Obesity?

A healthy quality Mediterranean-like diet partially modifies the association between obesity and cardiovascular mortality, according to a new ...

Time-Restricted Feeding Improves Health Without Altering the Body's Core Clock

For the first time, scientists have studied the early effects of time-restricted feeding on the daily periodic oscillations of metabolites and genes in muscle, and metabolites in blood. The findings ...

A Ferry Protein in the Pancreas Protects It from the Stress Induced by a High-Fat Diet

Scientists have now uncovered a key mechanism by which pancreatic function is maintained in response to a high-fat diet. A protein present in pancreatic insulin-producing cells protects them from ...

Factors Inherent to Obesity Could Increase Vulnerability to COVID-19

Conditions related to obesity, including inflammation and leaky gut, leave the lungs of obese patients more susceptible to COVID-19 and may explain why they are more likely to die from the disease, ...

Healthy Diet and Exercise During Pregnancy Could Lead to Healthier Children

New research shows improving the lifestyle of women with obesity during pregnancy could mean long-term cardiovascular benefits for their ...

Fatter Legs Linked to Reduced Risk of High Blood Pressure

Adults with a higher percentage of fat tissue in their legs were less likely than those with a lower percentage to have high blood pressure. Research findings held true even after adjusting for age, ...

Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Saturday, April 4, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020