advertisement
Nutrition News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Genetic Risk of Developing Obesity Is Driven by Variants That Affect the Brain

Some people are at higher risk of developing obesity because they possess genetic variants that affect how the brain processes sensory information ...

Early Introduction of Gluten May Prevent Celiac Disease in Children, Study Finds

Introducing high doses of gluten from four months of age into infants' diets could prevent them from developing celiac disease, a study has found, ...

Low Level Alcohol Use During Pregnancy Can Impact Child's Brain Development

A new study finds any alcohol use during pregnancy, even low levels, is associated with subtle, yet significant behavioural and psychological effects in children including anxiety, depression and ...

Fatter Legs Linked to Reduced Risk of High Blood Pressure

Adults with a higher percentage of fat tissue in their legs were less likely than those with a lower percentage to have high blood pressure. Research findings held true even after adjusting for age, ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:59pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

'Front of Package' Nutrition Labels Improved Nutrition Quality

A new study analyzing 16 years of data on tens of thousands of products finds that the adoption of nutrition data on 'front of package' labels is associated with improved nutritional ...

Strong Markets for Cultured Meat Across Meat-Reducing Germany and France

New research shows substantial markets for cultured meat and movements towards meat reduced diets across Germany and ...

Connecting the Dots on Food Access

A new study simultaneously examined the preferences of community members and compared those with the community-based programs and resources available to identify the most viable strategies for ...

Study Identifies Innovative Responses to Pandemic School Meal Program Disruption

A new study estimates that more than 1.15 billion breakfasts and lunches for low-income children were not served in school as a result of school closures between March 9 and May 1. States and school ...

Authoritative New Analysis Links Increased Omega-3 Intake to Cardioprotection and Improved Cardiovascular Outcomes

A new study provides the most comprehensive analysis of the role of omega-3 dosage on cardiovascular prevention to date. The meta-analysis, which is an in-depth review of 40 clinical trials, provides ...

A Ferry Protein in the Pancreas Protects It from the Stress Induced by a High-Fat Diet

Scientists have now uncovered a key mechanism by which pancreatic function is maintained in response to a high-fat diet. A protein present in pancreatic insulin-producing cells protects them from ...

Does the Mediterranean Diet Protect Against Rheumatoid Arthritis?

Previous research has demonstrated a variety of health benefits associated with the Mediterranean diet, which is rich in olive oil, cereals, fruit and vegetables, fish, and a moderate amount of ...

Weight Stigma Predicts Emotional Distress and Binge Eating During COVID-19

New research shows that young adults who experienced weight stigma before the pandemic have higher levels of depressive symptoms, stress, eating as a coping strategy, and are more likely to binge-eat ...

Gut Microbiota Not Involved in the Incidence of Gestational Diabetes Mellitus

Consuming the combination of fish oil and probiotic food supplements modulate the composition of gut microbiota in overweight and obese pregnant women, reveals a new study. The same study shows that ...

More Than One Drink a Day May Raise High Blood Pressure Risk in Adults With Type 2 Diabetes

In a large study of adults with Type 2 diabetes, moderate drinking (defined as eight or more alcoholic beverages a week) was associated with a 60% or higher increased risk of high blood pressure. The ...

Linking Calorie Restriction, Body Temperature and Healthspan

Cutting calories significantly may not be an easy task for most, but it's tied to a host of health benefits ranging from longer lifespan to a much lower chance of developing cancer, heart ...

A Spillover Effect: Medicaid Expansion Leads to Healthier Dietary Choices

Besides providing health care to millions, the Medicaid program helps recipients make healthier food choices, according to new ...

Gen Z Not Ready to Eat Lab-Grown Meat

New research found that, despite having a great concern for the environment and animal welfare, 72 percent of Generation Z were not ready to accept cultured meat - defined in the survey as a ...

Offspring of Mice Fed Imbalanced Diets Shown to Be Neurologically 'Programmed' for Obesity

Pregnant mice fed diets high in omega-6 fats and low in omega-3 fats are shown in a new study to produce offspring whose brains had a higher level of dopamine-producing neurons -- the neurological ...

Red Hot Meat: The Wrong Recipe for Heart Disease

From MasterChef to MKR, the world's best chefs have taught us how to barbeque, grill and panfry a steak to perfection. But while the experts may be seeking that extra flavor, new research ...

Vitamin D Deficiency May Raise Risk of Getting COVID-19, Study Finds

In a retrospective study of patients tested for COVID-19, researchers found an association between vitamin D deficiency and the likelihood of becoming infected with the ...

Study Tracks Human Milk Nutrients in Infant Microbiome

A new study in mice helps explain why gut microbiomes of breastfed infants can differ greatly from those of formula-fed ...

Unique Antibody Profile Sets Gluten Sensitivity Apart from Celiac Disease

People with gluten sensitivity have an antibody profile that differs from that of people with celiac disease, which could help doctors diagnose gluten ...

Fungi in Gut Linked to Higher Alzheimer's Risk Can Be Reduced Through Ketogenic Diet

Specific fungi in the gut associated with a higher risk of Alzheimer's disease and found in people with mild cognitive impairment (MCI) can be altered in a beneficial manner by eating a modified ...

Research Shows How a Diet Change Might Help US Veterans With Gulf War Illness

A new study shows the results from a dietary intervention in U.S. veterans suffering from Gulf War Illness, a neurological disorder in veterans who served in the Persian Gulf War from 1990 to ...

Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020