advertisement
Malaria News
September 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

How Dantu Blood Group Protects Against Malaria, and How All Humans Could Benefit

The secret of how the Dantu genetic blood variant helps to protect against malaria has been revealed for the first time. The team found that red ...

COVID-19 Virus Uses Heparan Sulfate to Get Inside Cells

Researchers discovered that the SARS-CoV-2 virus can't grab hold of cell receptor ACE2 without a carbohydrate called heparan sulfate, which is also found on lung cell surfaces -- disrupting that ...

Rising Temperatures Could Shift US West Nile Virus Transmission

West Nile virus spreads most efficiently in the US at temperatures between 24-25 degrees Celsius (75.2-77 degrees Fahrenheit), a new study ...

Human Activities Promote Disease-Spreading Mosquitoes; More Study Needed for Prevention

Disease-spreading mosquitoes may be more likely to occupy areas impacted by human activities like pesticide use and habitat destruction, than they ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:27pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Malaria Transmission Patterns Emerge in Africa

An international study reveals how future climate change could affect malaria transmission in Africa over the next ...

Study Explores the Association of Malaria, HIV With Anemia During Pregnancy

Pregnant women from sub-Saharan Africa with malaria and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) have a higher prevalence of anemia than pregnant women without infections, according to researchers. The ...

The Mystery of the Less Deadly Mosquito Nets

Research shows that insecticide-treated mosquito nets, the mainstay in the global battle against malaria, are not providing the protection they once did - and scientists say that's a cause for ...

New Approach to Reducing Spread of Mosquito-Borne Diseases

Researchers working in rural Kenya have identified the most productive breeding habitats for mosquitoes that spread a range of untreatable viruses. Their findings point to more effective health ...

Malaria Parasite Ticks to Its Own Internal Clock

Researchers have long known that all of the millions of malaria parasites within an infected person's body move through their cell cycle at the same time. They multiply in sync inside red blood ...

Discovery of Malaria Parasite's Clock Could Pave Way to New Treatments

The parasite that causes malaria has its own internal clock, explaining the disease's rhythmic fevers and opening new pathways for ...

Malaria Mosquitoes Eliminated in Lab by Creating All-Male Populations

A modification that creates more male offspring was able to eliminate populations of malaria mosquitoes in lab ...

Blood Test a Potential New Tool for Controlling Infections

Researchers have developed a new approach to detecting a person's immunity to an infectious disease -- providing valuable details about whether and when a person was exposed to the infection. ...

New Computational Method Unravels Single-Cell Data from Multiple People

A new computational method for assigning the donor in single cell RNA sequencing experiments provides an accurate way to unravel data from a mixture of people. The Souporcell method could help study ...

Malaria Risk Is Highest in Early Evening

Wide-scale use of insecticide-treated bed nets has led to substantial declines in global incidences of malaria in recent years. As a result, mosquitoes have been shifting their biting times to ...

Designing Drugs to Combat Drug-Resistant Malaria

For the first time, researchers have shown a key difference in the three-dimensional structures of a key metabolic enzyme in the parasite that causes malaria compared to its human ...

Smart Interventions Reduce Malaria Transmission by 75%

Mass drug administration and vector control can help eliminate malaria. A vector refers to an organism that transmits infection, as mosquitoes infected with parasites transmit malaria to ...

Research Reveals a New Malaria Vaccine Candidate

In a study that could lead to a new vaccine against malaria, researchers have found antibodies that trigger a 'kill switch' in malarial cells, causing them to ...

Genetic Variation Not an Obstacle to Gene Drive Strategy to Control Mosquitoes

New research from entomologists clears a potential obstacle to using CRISPR-Cas9 'gene drive' technology to control mosquito-borne diseases such as malaria, dengue fever, yellow fever and ...

Low-Cost Imaging System Poised to Provide Automatic Mosquito Tracking

Mosquito-transmitted diseases such as malaria, dengue and yellow fever are responsible for hundreds of thousands of deaths every year. A new low-cost imaging system could make it easier to track ...

Deadliest Malaria Strain Protects Itself from the Immune System

The parasite causing the most severe form of human malaria uses proteins to make red blood cells sticky, making it harder for the immune system to destroy it and leading to potentially fatal blood ...

Stuttering DNA Orchestrates the Start of the Mosquito's Life

There are large parts of the DNA that are not used for making proteins. This is called 'junk DNA', because its function remained unclear for a long time. However, a certain type of junk DNA ...

Experimental Anti-Malarial Drug Shows Promise in First Clinical Trial

Malaria is a leading killer of children worldwide, and new drugs are needed. New research reports encouraging early clinical results with a new ...

Is Your Coffee Contributing to Malaria Risk?

Researchers estimate 20% of the malaria risk in deforestation hot spots is driven by the international trade of exports including: coffee, timber, soybean, cocoa, wood products, palm oil, tobacco, ...

Novel Compound Sparks New Malaria Treatment Hope

A novel class of antimalarial compounds that can effectively kill malaria parasites has been developed. In preclinical testing, the compounds were effective against different species of malaria ...

Friday, August 28, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Friday, December 27, 2019
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019