advertisement
Malaria News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Chemists Create New Crystal Form of Insecticide, Boosting Its Ability to Fight Mosquitoes and Malaria

Through a simple process of heating and cooling, researchers have created a new crystal form of deltamethrin -- a common insecticide used to control ...

Repurposed Anti-Malarial Compounds Kill Diarrheal Parasite, Study Finds

A class of compounds used for malaria treatment also kill the intestinal parasite Cryptosporidium, a leading cause of diarrheal disease and death in children that has no cure, a multi-institution ...

CRISPR-Based Malaria Testing on-the-Fly

A multi-disciplinary research collaboration created a field-applicable, ultrasensitive diagnostic assay that specifically detects DNA sequences from all Plasmodium species in symptomatic and ...

How Dantu Blood Group Protects Against Malaria, and How All Humans Could Benefit

The secret of how the Dantu genetic blood variant helps to protect against malaria has been revealed for the first time. The team found that red ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:57pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Amphibian Die-Offs Worsened Malaria Outbreaks in Central America

The global collapse of frogs and other amphibians due to the amphibian chytrid fungus exacerbated malaria outbreaks in Costa Rica and Panama during the 1990s and 2000s, according to new research. The ...

Researchers Pioneer More Effective Way to Block Malaria Transmission in Mosquitoes

Employing a strategy known as 'population modification,' which involves using a CRISPR-Cas9 gene drive system to introduce genes preventing parasite transmission into mosquito chromosomes, ...

Salt-Based Mosquito-Control Products Are Ineffective

A new study by a bevy of expert mosquito researchers offers an important warning to consumers: Products claiming to reduce mosquito populations with salt-water solutions are ineffective. In a series ...

New Model May Explain Rarity of Certain Malaria-Blocking Mutations

A new computational model suggests that certain mutations that block infection by the most dangerous species of malaria have not become widespread in people because of the parasite's effects on ...

New Tool Mimics Human Skin to Allow Detailed Study of Mosquito Biting

Scientists have developed a tool for studying the biting behavior of common pathogen-carrying ...

Human Activities Promote Disease-Spreading Mosquitoes; More Study Needed for Prevention

Disease-spreading mosquitoes may be more likely to occupy areas impacted by human activities like pesticide use and habitat destruction, than they are areas less disturbed by humans, a recent study ...

New Malaria Transmission Patterns Emerge in Africa

An international study reveals how future climate change could affect malaria transmission in Africa over the next ...

Mosquito Immune System Mapped to Help Fight Malaria

Scientists have created the first cell atlas of mosquito immune cells, to understand how mosquitoes fight malaria and other infections. Researchers discovered new types of mosquito immune cells, ...

Study Explores the Association of Malaria, HIV With Anemia During Pregnancy

Pregnant women from sub-Saharan Africa with malaria and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) have a higher prevalence of anemia than pregnant women without infections, according to researchers. The ...

Malaria Discovery Could Expedite Antiviral Treatment for COVID-19

New research into malaria suggests targeting enzymes from the human host, rather than from the pathogen itself, could offer effective treatment for a range of infectious diseases, including ...

New Set of Channels Connecting Malaria Parasite and Blood Cells

Researchers have discovered another set of pore-like holes, or channels, traversing the membrane-bound sac that encloses the deadliest malaria parasite as it infects red blood cells. The channels ...

The Mystery of the Less Deadly Mosquito Nets

Research shows that insecticide-treated mosquito nets, the mainstay in the global battle against malaria, are not providing the protection they once did - and scientists say that's a cause for ...

Getting a Grasp on India's Malaria Burden

A new approach could illuminate a critical stage in the life cycle of one of the most common malaria ...

Tracking the Spread of Mosquito Insecticide Resistance Across Africa

In a step toward better control of the mosquitoes that transmit malaria, researchers have mapped the patterns of insecticide resistance in Anopheles gambiae mosquitoes across Africa. The new study ...

First Known Case of a Potentially Deadly Heart Rhythm Disturbance Induced by Chloroquine Therapy for COVID-19 Reported

Clinicians should carefully monitor patients treated with chloroquine therapy, particularly elderly women and others at higher risk for heart rhythm abnormalities, investigators caution in new ...

New Discovery Paves Way for Next Generation Malaria Vaccine

New findings pave the way for a novel, next generation genetically attenuated parasite (GAP) vaccine against the deadliest form of malaria in ...

New Approach to Reducing Spread of Mosquito-Borne Diseases

Researchers working in rural Kenya have identified the most productive breeding habitats for mosquitoes that spread a range of untreatable viruses. Their findings point to more effective health ...

Volcanic Glass Spray Shows Promise in Controlling Mosquitoes

An indoor residual spray made by combining a type of volcanic glass with water showed effective control of mosquitoes that carry malaria, according to a new study. The findings could be useful in ...

Emerging Viral Diseases Causing Serious Issues in West Africa

In a new study, researchers call attention to the emergence of mosquito-borne viral outbreaks in West Africa, such as dengue (DENV), chikungunya (CHIKV) and Zika (ZIKV) ...

Malaria Parasite Ticks to Its Own Internal Clock

Researchers have long known that all of the millions of malaria parasites within an infected person's body move through their cell cycle at the same time. They multiply in sync inside red blood ...

Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Friday, December 27, 2019
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019