advertisement
Influenza News
September 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Study Reveals Why Flu Can Be Devastating for Pregnant Women

New research overturns current scientific thinking on flu infection in pregnancy. The study helps explain why influenza can lead to life-threatening complications during pregnancy. The research also ...

Insight on How to Build a Better Flu Vaccine

Repeated exposure to influenza viruses may undermine the effectiveness of the annual flu vaccine. A team of researchers has developed an approach to assess whether a vaccine activates the kind of ...
Seasonal flu vaccination does increase the number of antibody-producing cells specific for flu in the bone marrow. However, most of the newly generated cells are lost within ...

Flu in Early Life Determines Our Susceptibility to Future Infections

Early infections of influenza A can help predict how the virus will affect people across different ages in the future and could impact the effectiveness of flu vaccines, says a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

How Do Americans View the Virus? Anthropology Professor Examines Attitudes, Perceptions of COVID-19

A new study looks at how Americans' attitudes and responses have changed during the time of the pandemic and how to many people, the virus is not a biological agent but instead a malicious ...

Lessons from Coronavirus Surveillance Testing in Seattle-Area Homeless Shelters

A coronavirus surveillance study undertaken at Seattle-area homeless shelters, starting as the pandemic emerged, provides possible community-based strategies for detecting SARS-CoV-2 infections and ...

Seven in 10 Americans Willing to Get COVID-19 Vaccine, Survey Finds

Almost seven in 10 Americans would be interested in receiving a COVID-19 vaccine when one becomes available, according to a new study. But researchers say there are concerning gaps in interest, ...

COVID-19 Vaccines Are Moving Fast, but Will Americans Agree to Get Them?

Only one in three U.S. adults received the flu vaccine in 2018, a number that has critical implications for the impending flu season, which threatens to overwhelm medical resources and lead to tens ...

Study Finds Dedicated Clinics Can Reduce Impact of Flu Pandemic

A new study concludes that opening clinics dedicated specifically to treating influenza can limit the number of people infected and help to 'flatten the curve,' or reduce the peak ...

Flu, Pneumonia Vaccinations Tied to Lower Risk of Alzheimer's Dementia

Flu (influenza) and pneumonia vaccinations are associated with reduced risk of Alzheimer's disease, according to new ...

Vaccine Additives Can Enhance Immune Flexibility -- Implications for Flu and SARS-CoV-2

A vaccine additive known as an adjuvant can enhance responses to a vaccine containing the exotic avian flu virus H5N1, so that both rookie and veteran elements of the immune response are ...

Spread of Flu Virus in Hospital Environment Common

One in four inpatients with influenza in a given season showed signs of having become infected during ...

Fast-Spreading Mutation Helps Common Flu Subtype Escape Immune Response

Strains of a common subtype of influenza virus, H3N2, have almost universally acquired a mutation that effectively blocks antibodies from binding to a key viral ...

CT of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Versus CT of Influenza Virus Pneumonia

A new article investigating the differences in CT findings between coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pneumonia and influenza virus pneumonia found that most lesions from COVID-19 were located in the ...

Estimating COVID-19 Spread by Looking at Past Trends of Influenza-Like Illnesses

In order to better understand the spread of the novel coronavirus, new research examines trends in visits to outpatient clinics for influenza-like illnesses in March 2020 as compared to previous ...

Universal Flu Vaccine May Be More Challenging Than Expected

Some common strains of influenza have the potential to mutate to evade broad-acting antibodies that could be elicited by a universal flu vaccine, according to a new study. The findings highlight the ...

US Cities With Pro Sports See More Flu Deaths

Sports leagues may want to consider calling a timeout on reopening their doors to fans, based on new research that links an uptick in seasonal flu deaths to US cities with pro sports ...

To Understand COVID-19, Researchers Review Aging, Immune Response to Viral Infections

As clinicians learn about a new disease in real-time, researchers are also investigating what lessons from other respiratory infections could apply to ...

COVID-19 Drug Development Could Benefit from Approach Used Against Flu

A new study has found that some antivirals are useful for more than helping sick people get better -- they also can prevent thousands of deaths and hundreds of thousands of virus cases if used in the ...

When COVID-19 Meets Flu Season

As if the COVID-19 pandemic isn't scary enough, the flu season is not far away. How severe will the flu season be as it converges with the COVID-19 outbreak? What can we do to ...

Placentas from COVID-19-Positive Pregnant Women Show Injury

In the largest study to examine health of placentas in women who tested positive for COVID-19, findings show placentas from 16 women who tested positive for COVID-19 while pregnant showed evidence of ...

New Technology Can Detect Anti-Virus Antibody in 20 Minutes

Researchers have succeeded in detecting anti-avian influenza virus antibody in blood serum within 20 minutes, using a portable analyzer they have developed to conduct rapid on-site bio tests. If a ...

COVID-19: Study Reports 'Staggering' Death Rate in U.S. Among Those Infected Who Show Symptoms

A new study finds the national U.S. rate of death among people infected with the novel coronavirus -- SARS-CoV-2 -- that causes COVID-19 and who show symptoms is 1.3 percent, the study found. The ...

Passive Immunization May Slow Down SARS-CoV-2 and Boost Immunity in Patients, Buying Time

A potential interim solution to the COVID-19 pandemic may be a passive vaccine, or passive immunization (PI), which can provide instant, short-term fortification against infectious agents, a new ...

Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019