advertisement
Heart Disease News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Researchers 3D Print a Working Heart Pump With Real Human Cells

In a groundbreaking new study, researchers have 3D printed a functioning centimeter-scale human heart pump in the lab. The discovery could have major implications for studying heart disease, the ...

Exploring How a Scorpion Toxin Might Help Treat Heart Attacks

Scientists are discovering potential life-saving medicines from an unlikely source: the venom of creatures like snakes, spiders and scorpions. Scorpion venom, in particular, contains a peptide that ...

Researchers Find Rise in Broken Heart Syndrome During COVID-19 Pandemic

Researchers have found a significant increase in patients experiencing stress cardiomyopathy, also known as broken heart syndrome, during the COVID-19 ...

Among Older Adults, Statin Use Tied to Decreased Risk of Early Death

Researchers are shedding new light on the role statins may play for older adults who have not yet experienced a heart attack, stroke or other cardiovascular ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:16pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Older, Critically Ill Patients With COVID-19 May Have Increased Risk of Bradycardia With Lopinavir and Ritonavir

The combined use of antiretroviral medications lopinavir and ritonavir, previously used to treat SARS-Cov-1 and MERS-Cov patients, appeared to cause bradycardia in 22% of elderly, critically ill ...

New Link Between Calcium and Cardiolipin in Heart Defects

To function properly, the heart needs energy from cells' powerhouses, the mitochondria. In turn, mitochondria boost their energy output when calcium levels rise around them, a signal that more ...

Coronary Calcium Scoring: Personalized Preventive Care for Those Most at Risk

An imaging test called coronary calcium scoring can help doctors to make the right recommendation about the use of statin therapy. The test is a 10-minute CT (computed tomography) scan looking for ...

Why Do Arteries Age? Study Explores Link to Gut Bacteria, Diet

Eat a slab of steak and your resident gut bacteria get to work immediately to break it down. But new research shows that a metabolic byproduct, called TMAO, produced in the process can be harmful to ...

COVID-19: Study Shows Virus Can Infect Heart Cells in Lab Dish

A new study shows that SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19 (coronavirus), can infect heart cells in a lab dish, indicating it may be possible for heart cells in COVID-19 patients to be ...

Promising Therapy for Cardiac Regeneration

New research gives information in order to understand safety, efficacy and mechanisms of action of a new cardiac ...

Even Minor Heart Defects Are Associated With Long-Term Problems in Adulthood

Long-term morbidity as well as a lower level of education and employment rate are common among adults who underwent congenital heart surgery during childhood, regardless of the severity of the ...

Blood Pressure Connected to Eye Health in Young Children

Children with impaired microvascular health developed higher systolic blood pressure over the course of a four-year study. Narrowing of retinal arteries in children who began the study with normal ...

Excessive Sugar Intake Linked With Unhealthy Fat Deposits

Sugar consumption is linked with larger fat deposits around the heart and in the abdomen, which are risky for ...

Transgenic Rice Lowers Blood Pressure of Hypertensive Rats

In the future, taking your blood pressure medication could be as simple as eating a spoonful of rice. This 'treatment' could also have fewer side effects than current blood pressure ...

Females Use Anti-Inflammatory T Cells to Keep Their Blood Pressure Down

In the face of a multipronged front to drive blood pressure up, including a high-salt diet, females are better able to keep their pressure down by increasing levels of a T cell that selectively dials ...

Tongue Microbes Provide Window to Heart Health

Microorganisms on the tongue could help diagnose heart failure, according to new research. 'The tongues of patients with chronic heart failure look totally different to those of healthy ...

Reducing the Damage of a Heart Attack

Cardiology researchers have discovered how a key protein can help the heart regulate oxygen and blood flow and repair ...

Scientists Confirm Usually Harmless Virus Attacks the Heart's Electrical System

Researchers studying how a usually benign virus attacks the human heart with sometimes fatal consequences determined that the virus disrupts the heart’s electrical system – and with dual impacts ...

Critically Ill COVID-19 Patients Are 10 Times More Likely to Develop Cardiac Arrhythmias

Patients with COVID-19 who were admitted to an intensive care unit were 10 times more likely than other hospitalized COVID-19 patients to suffer cardiac arrest or heart rhythm disorders, according to ...

Better Measure of 'Good Cholesterol' Can Gauge Heart Attack and Stroke Risk in Some Populations

For decades, high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol has been dubbed 'good cholesterol' because of its role in moving fats and other cholesterol molecules out of artery walls. People ...

New Nanoparticle Drug Combination for Atherosclerosis

Physicochemical cargo-switching nanoparticles (CSNP) can help significantly reduce cholesterol and macrophage foam cells in arteries, which are the two main triggers for atherosclerotic plaque and ...

Exercise Offers 'Profound' Benefits for Friedreich's Ataxia, Research Suggests

Well-timed exercise programs may slow the progression of Friedreich's ataxia, which robs patients of their ability to walk, new research ...

Depression Associated With Greater Risk of Cardiovascular Disease

A new study provides further evidence of the link between depressive symptoms and an increased risk of heart disease and early ...

More and Safer Heart Transplants Could Become Possible With New Heart Box

A donated heart can now be transported and preserved for longer than what has previously been possible. The new method, which consists of a specially designed heart box, was used for a transplant for ...

Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Sunday, May 10, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Saturday, April 4, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020