advertisement
Healthy Aging News
October 26, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Bacterial Metabolism of Dietary Soy May Lower Risk Factor for Dementia

A metabolite produced following consumption of dietary soy may decrease a key risk factor for dementia - with the help of the right bacteria, according to a new ...

Diagnosing Parkinson's Disease With Skin Samples Could Lead to Earlier Detection

New research shows a simple skin test can accurately identify Parkinson's disease, which could lead to earlier detection of the disease and better ...

New Anti-AB Vaccine Could Help Halt Alzheimer's Progression, Preclinical Study Finds

A preclinical study by neuroscientists indicates that an antigen-presenting dendritic vaccine with a specific antibody response to oligomeric A-beta ...

One-Two Punch of Symptoms That Exacerbate Alzheimer's

A new Alzheimer's study found that impaired blood flow in the brain is correlated with the buildup of tau tangles, a hallmark indicator of cognitive decline.The work suggests that treatments ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:59pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Antiretroviral Therapy Can't Completely Stop Accelerated Cell Aging Seen in HIV

Untreated HIV infection is linked with epigenetic changes that suggest rapid aging. A new study shows that antiretroviral therapy given over two years was unable to completely restore age-appropriate ...

Community Noise May Affect Dementia Risk

Results from a new study support emerging evidence suggesting that noise may influence individuals' risk of developing dementia later in ...

Phase 3 Clinical Trial to Treat Mild Alzheimer's Disease Using Deep Brain Stimulation

Medical researchers are enrolling individuals in an international phase 3 clinical trial to examine the safety and effectiveness of deep brain stimulation to treat Alzheimer's. The study uses ...

Does General Anesthesia Increase Dementia Risk?

There are concerns that exposure to general anesthesia during surgery may contribute to an increased risk of Alzheimer's disease. To investigate, researchers compared exposure to general ...

Women's Expected Longevity Linked to Age at Birth of Last Child

No one knows for sure how long they will live. A new study, however, suggests that leukocyte telomere length may offer some key insights into a woman's longevity and further demonstrates how ...

Evidence of Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and MND in Brains of Young People Exposed to Dirty Air

After examining the brainstems of 186 young Mexico City residents aged between 11 months and 27 years of age, researchers, found markers not only of Alzheimer's disease, but also of ...

High Throughput Screening Identifies Molecules That Reduce Cellular Stress

A new article describes the discovery of several promising small molecules that appear to reduce cellular stress in mouse skin cells and could lengthen ...

Could a Fecal Transplant One Day Be the Secret of Eternal Youth?

Fecal transplants could one day be used to restore cognitive decline among the elderly - according to new research. A new study shows how fecal transplants from older to younger mice altered their ...

Rare Genetic Form of Dementia Discovered

A new, rare genetic form of dementia has been discovered by researchers. This discovery also sheds light on a new pathway that leads to protein build up in the brain -- which causes this newly ...

LED-Based UV Irradiation Safely Prevents the Loss of Bone and Muscle Mass in Mice

A research team has revealed that narrow-range ultraviolet (UV) irradiation using light emitting diodes (LEDs) safely increases serum vitamin D levels in aging mice and thereby prevents the loss of ...

Irregular and Long Menstrual Cycles Linked to Greater Risk of Early Death

Irregular and long menstrual cycles in adolescence and adulthood are associated with a greater risk of early death (before age 70), a new study ...

Delirium a Key Sign of COVID-19 in Frail, Older People

A new analysis, using information from the COVID Symptom Study app and patients admitted to St Thomas' Hospital in London, has shown that delirium -- a state of acute confusion associated with a ...

Senescent Cells May Be Good When It Comes to a Bad Injury

It's called senescence, when stressed cells can no longer divide to make new cells, and it's considered a factor in aging and in some diseases. Now scientists have some of the first ...

Discovery Enables Adult Skin to Regenerate Like a Newborn's

A newly identified genetic factor allows adult skin to repair itself like the skin of a newborn. The discovery has implications for wound treatment and preventing some of the aging process in skin. ...

Understanding the Effect of Aging on the Genome

Scientists have measured the molecular footprint that aging leaves on various mouse and human tissues. Using the data, they have identified likely regulators of this central ...

Epigenetic Drivers for Alzheimer's Disease Uncovered

New findings suggest that late-onset Alzheimer's Disease is driven by epigenetic changes -- how and when certain genes are turned on and off -- in the ...

Fine-Tuning Stem Cell Metabolism Prevents Hair Loss

An international research team has shown in mice that Rictor, a protein that helps to regulate the growth, energy, and oxygen consumption of cells, plays a key role in the cellular metabolism and ...

Identical Signs of Brain Damage in Sleep Apnea and Alzheimer's

New research shows damage in the brain starts in the same place and spreads in the same way in sleep apnea, as in Alzheimer's disease. The study is the first to find Alzheimer's-like ...

160 Genes Linked to Brain Shrinkage in Study of 45,000 Adults

An analysis conducted in 45,000 adults mainly of European ancestry associated 160 genes with brain shrinkage seen on ...

A Genetic Variant That Protects Against Alzheimer's Disease Promotes Immune Cell Functions

A new study has found that the PLCG2-P522R genetic variant, which protects against Alzheimer's disease, enhances several key functions of immune cells. The results obtained in the study ...

Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020