advertisement
Diet and Weight Loss News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Wearable Exosuit That Lessens Muscle Fatigue Could Redesign the Future of Work

A new clothing-like exoskeleton can reduce back muscle fatigue and providing needed physical relief to material handlers, medical professionals and ...

Early Introduction of Gluten May Prevent Celiac Disease in Children, Study Finds

Introducing high doses of gluten from four months of age into infants' diets could prevent them from developing celiac disease, a study has found, ...

World First Study Links Obesity With Reduced Brain Plasticity

A world-first study has found that severely overweight people are less likely to be able to re-wire their brains and find new neural pathways, a discovery that has significant implications for people ...

Probiotics May Help Manage Childhood Obesity

Probiotics may help children and adolescents with obesity lose weight when taken alongside a calorie-controlled diet, according to a new study. The study found that obese children who were put on a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:29pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Time-Restricted Feeding Improves Health Without Altering the Body's Core Clock

For the first time, scientists have studied the early effects of time-restricted feeding on the daily periodic oscillations of metabolites and genes in muscle, and metabolites in blood. The findings ...

A Ferry Protein in the Pancreas Protects It from the Stress Induced by a High-Fat Diet

Scientists have now uncovered a key mechanism by which pancreatic function is maintained in response to a high-fat diet. A protein present in pancreatic insulin-producing cells protects them from ...

Does the Mediterranean Diet Protect Against Rheumatoid Arthritis?

Previous research has demonstrated a variety of health benefits associated with the Mediterranean diet, which is rich in olive oil, cereals, fruit and vegetables, fish, and a moderate amount of ...

Weight Stigma Predicts Emotional Distress and Binge Eating During COVID-19

New research shows that young adults who experienced weight stigma before the pandemic have higher levels of depressive symptoms, stress, eating as a coping strategy, and are more likely to binge-eat ...

A Spillover Effect: Medicaid Expansion Leads to Healthier Dietary Choices

Besides providing health care to millions, the Medicaid program helps recipients make healthier food choices, according to new ...

These Lifestyle Choices Can Reduce the Risk of Chronic Kidney Disease

Active lifestyle choices such as eating vegetables, exercising and quitting smoking can reduce the risk of chronic kidney disease, a new study ...

Study Tracks Human Milk Nutrients in Infant Microbiome

A new study in mice helps explain why gut microbiomes of breastfed infants can differ greatly from those of formula-fed ...

Unique Antibody Profile Sets Gluten Sensitivity Apart from Celiac Disease

People with gluten sensitivity have an antibody profile that differs from that of people with celiac disease, which could help doctors diagnose gluten ...

Fungi in Gut Linked to Higher Alzheimer's Risk Can Be Reduced Through Ketogenic Diet

Specific fungi in the gut associated with a higher risk of Alzheimer's disease and found in people with mild cognitive impairment (MCI) can be altered in a beneficial manner by eating a modified ...

Research Shows How a Diet Change Might Help US Veterans With Gulf War Illness

A new study shows the results from a dietary intervention in U.S. veterans suffering from Gulf War Illness, a neurological disorder in veterans who served in the Persian Gulf War from 1990 to ...

Body Mass Index Is a More Powerful Risk Factor for Diabetes Than Genetics

Losing weight could prevent or even reverse diabetes, according to new ...

Infants in Households With Very Low Food Security May Have Greater Obesity Risk

Infants from households reporting very low 'food security,' a measure of access to adequate and healthy meals, tend to weigh more than those from households with relatively high food ...

Are All Vegetarian Diets Healthy?

Vegetarian foods are not equally healthy, according to new ...

Spouses Shed More Pounds Together Than Alone

Weight loss is most successful in heart attack survivors when partners join in the effort to diet, according to new ...

How Vitamin C Could Help Over 50s Retain Muscle Mass

New research shows that vitamin C could help over 50s retain muscle mass in later life. The study shows that older people who eat plenty of vitamin C -- commonly found in citrus fruits, berries and ...

Following 'Eatwell Guide' Diet Could Reduce Your Risk of Dying Early and Lower Your Environmental Footprint

Adhering to Public Health England's 'Eatwell Guide' of a balanced diet could reduce your chance of dying prematurely and lower your environmental footprint, according to a new ...

Tethering Together Type 2 Diabetes Drugs Increases Efficacy of Combination Therapy

Biomedical engineers have shown that the effectiveness of a two-pronged type 2 diabetes treatment increases when the drugs are linked by a heat-sensitive tether rather than concurrently administered. ...

A potential therapy for obesity would transplant HUMBLE (human brown-like) fat cells, human white fat cells that have been genetically modified using CRISPR to become similar to heat-generating brown ...

Obesity Linked With Higher Risk for COVID-19 Complications

From COVID-19 risk to recovery, the odds are stacked against those with obesity, and a new study raises concerns about the impact of obesity on the effectiveness of a future COVID-19 ...

No Safe Level of Caffeine Consumption for Pregnant Women and Would-Be Mothers

Women who are pregnant or trying to conceive should be advised to avoid caffeine because the evidence suggests that maternal caffeine consumption is associated with negative pregnancy outcomes and ...

Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020