advertisement
Diabetes News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Early Introduction of Gluten May Prevent Celiac Disease in Children, Study Finds

Introducing high doses of gluten from four months of age into infants' diets could prevent them from developing celiac disease, a study has found, ...

Donor-Conceived Adults Have Higher Incidence of Immunology Diseases

Adults conceived through sperm donation reported higher frequencies of allergies, type 1 diabetes and other autoimmune conditions. Donor sperm conceived adults had seven times more type 1 diabetes ...

Factors Inherent to Obesity Could Increase Vulnerability to COVID-19

Conditions related to obesity, including inflammation and leaky gut, leave the lungs of obese patients more susceptible to COVID-19 and may explain why they are more likely to die from the disease, ...

Probiotics May Help Manage Childhood Obesity

Probiotics may help children and adolescents with obesity lose weight when taken alongside a calorie-controlled diet, according to a new study. The study found that obese children who were put on a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:58pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Study Provides Additional Support for Use of New Class of Diabetes Drugs

A new study has assessed the cardiovascular and renal outcomes for ertugliflozin, an SGLT2 inhibitor prescribed for patients with type 2 diabetes to help them control blood sugar ...

A Ferry Protein in the Pancreas Protects It from the Stress Induced by a High-Fat Diet

Scientists have now uncovered a key mechanism by which pancreatic function is maintained in response to a high-fat diet. A protein present in pancreatic insulin-producing cells protects them from ...

Loneliness Predicts Development of Type 2 Diabetes

New research has shown for the first time that people over 50 who report higher levels of loneliness are more likely to develop type 2 diabetes later in ...

COVID-19 Patients With Sleep Apnoea Could Be at Additional Risk

People who have been diagnosed with obstructive sleep apnea could be at increased risk of adverse outcomes from COVID-19, according to a new ...

Gut Microbiota Not Involved in the Incidence of Gestational Diabetes Mellitus

Consuming the combination of fish oil and probiotic food supplements modulate the composition of gut microbiota in overweight and obese pregnant women, reveals a new study. The same study shows that ...

More Than One Drink a Day May Raise High Blood Pressure Risk in Adults With Type 2 Diabetes

In a large study of adults with Type 2 diabetes, moderate drinking (defined as eight or more alcoholic beverages a week) was associated with a 60% or higher increased risk of high blood pressure. The ...

Insomnia Identified as a New Risk Factor for Type 2 Diabetes in New Study Which Also Confirms Many Other Risk and Protective Factors

A new study identifies insomnia as a risk factor associated with increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes (T2D). The study identifies 34 risk factors that are thought to increase (19) or decrease ...

Older Women With Type 2 Diabetes Have Different Patterns of Blood Use in Their Brains

A researcher is reporting that the brains of older women with Type 2 diabetes do not use as much oxygenated blood as those who don't have the disease. The research is the first to point to ...

The Brain Can Induce Diabetes Remission in Rodents, but How?

In rodents with type 2 diabetes, a single surgical injection of a protein called fibroblast growth factor 1 can restore blood sugar levels to normal for weeks or months. Yet how this growth factor ...

Helping Teens With Type 1 Diabetes Improve Diabetes Control With MyDiaText

Adolescence is a difficult period of development, made more complex for those with Type 1 diabetes mellitus (T1DM). The challenges of managing multiple doses of daily insulin administration, blood ...

Diabetes-in-a-Dish Model Uncovers New Insights Into the Cause of Type 2 Diabetes

Researchers have developed a novel 'disease-in-a-dish' model to study the basic molecular factors that lead to the development of type 2 diabetes, uncovering the potential existence of ...

Obesity May Alter Immune System Response to COVID-19

Obesity may cause a hyperactive immune system response to COVID-19 infection that makes it difficult to fight off the virus, according to a new ...

Risk Factors for Mortality in Diabetic Patients Discharged from Hospital Identified

When patients are discharged from hospital, those with diabetes are at an increased risk of readmission and early mortality. There are guidelines for discharging patients with diabetes to reduce ...

Handgrip Strength Shown to Identify People at High Risk of Type 2 Diabetes

A simple test such as the strength of your handgrip could be used as a quick, low-cost screening tool to help healthcare professionals identify patients at risk of type 2 ...

Microgel Immuno-Acceptance Method Could Improve Pancreatic Islet Transplant Success

Researchers have developed a new microgel drug delivery method that could extend the effectiveness of pancreatic islet transplantations -- from several years to possibly the entire lifespan of a ...

Body Mass Index Is a More Powerful Risk Factor for Diabetes Than Genetics

Losing weight could prevent or even reverse diabetes, according to new ...

A Surprising Protein Player in Diabetes

A study of pancreatic beta cells has found a link between a commonly found protein, a subset of switched-off genes and the development of ...

A clinical trial at four pediatric diabetes centers in the United States has found that a new artificial pancreas system -- which automatically monitors and regulates blood glucose levels -- is safe ...

Tethering Together Type 2 Diabetes Drugs Increases Efficacy of Combination Therapy

Biomedical engineers have shown that the effectiveness of a two-pronged type 2 diabetes treatment increases when the drugs are linked by a heat-sensitive tether rather than concurrently administered. ...

A potential therapy for obesity would transplant HUMBLE (human brown-like) fat cells, human white fat cells that have been genetically modified using CRISPR to become similar to heat-generating brown ...

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Sunday, July 5, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Saturday, June 27, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020