advertisement
Dentistry News
September 26, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Polymers Prevent Potentially Hazardous Mist During Dentist Visit

If the mist in a dentist's office -- sent flying into the air by spinning, vibrating tools -- contains a virus or some other pathogen, it is a health hazard. So researchers studied the viscoelastic ...

Gum Disease May Raise Risk of Some Cancers

People who have periodontal (gum) disease may have a higher risk of developing some forms of ...

Robot Jaws Shows Medicated Chewing Gum Could Be the Future

Medicated chewing gum has been recognized as a new advanced drug delivery method but currently there is no gold standard for testing drug release from chewing gum in vitro. New research has shown a ...

Materials Scientists Drill Down to Vulnerabilities Involved in Human Tooth Decay

Researchers have cracked one of the secrets of tooth decay. The materials scientists are the first to identify a small number of impurity atoms in ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:00am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Cancer Mutations Caused by Bacterial Toxin Preventable

Reports show that cancer is the second leading cause of death globally. Scientists have found DNA mutations in some cancers that link them to a bacterial toxin called colibactin. Their findings ...

Atomic Force Microscopy Reveals Nanoscale Dental Erosion from Beverages

Researchers used atomic force microscopy to quantitatively evaluate how acidic and sugary drinks affect human tooth enamel at the nanoscale level. This novel approach is useful for measuring ...

Harnessing Pickle Power to Promote Dental Health

A research team evaluated 14 different types of Sichuan pickles from southwest China. They extracted 54 different strains of Lactobacilli and found that one, L. plantarum K41, significantly reduced ...

AI to Make Dentists' Work Easier

Researchers have developed a new automatized way to localize mandibular ...

Commonly Used Mouthwash Could Make Saliva Significantly More Acidic, Change Microbes

The first study looking at the effect of chlorhexidine mouthwash on the entire oral microbiome has found its use significantly increases the abundance of lactate-producing bacteria that lower saliva ...

Stem Cells and Nerves Interact in Tissue Regeneration and Cancer Progression

Researchers show that different stem cell populations are innervated in distinct ways. Innervation may therefore be crucial for proper tissue regeneration. They also demonstrate that cancer stem ...

Ouch: Patients Prescribed Opioids After Tooth Extraction Report Worse Pain

The use of opioids to soothe the pain of a pulled tooth could be drastically reduced or eliminated altogether from dentistry, say ...

Researchers Discover Tooth-Enamel Protein in Eyes With Dry AMD

A protein that normally deposits mineralized calcium in tooth enamel may also be responsible for calcium deposits in the back of the eye in people with dry age-related macular degeneration (AMD), ...

Not Only What You Eat, but How You Eat, May Affect Your Microbiome

Researchers found that post-stroke patients re-grow a healthy microbiota in their mouth and gut when they revert to normal food intake from tube feeding. These results emphasize the need to actively ...

The Microbes in Your Mouth, and a Reminder to Floss and Go to the Dentist

Most people know that good oral hygiene -- brushing, flossing, and regular dental visits -- is linked to good health. Microbiome researchers offer fresh evidence to support that conventional wisdom, ...

Could This Plaque Identifying Toothpaste Prevent a Heart Attack or Stroke?

For decades, researchers have suggested a link between oral health and inflammatory diseases affecting the entire body -- in particular, heart attacks and strokes. Results of a randomized pilot trial ...

How Too Much Fluoride Causes Defects in Tooth Enamel

Exposing teeth to excessive fluoride alters calcium signaling, mitochondrial function, and gene expression in the cells forming tooth enamel -- a novel explanation for how dental fluorosis, a ...

Chemical Found in Drinking Water Linked to Tooth Decay in Children

Children with higher concentrations of a certain chemical in their blood are more likely to get cavities, according to a new study. Researchers found that higher concentrations of PFAS were ...

Why Eating Yogurt May Help Lessen the Risk of Breast Cancer

One of the causes of breast cancer may be inflammation triggered by harmful bacteria suggest researchers. Scientists advise consuming natural yogurt, which contains beneficial bacteria which dampens ...

Preventing, Healing Tooth Decay With a Bioactive Peptide

Cavities, or dental caries, are the most widespread non-communicable disease globally, according to the World Health Organization. Having a cavity drilled and filled at the dentist's office can ...

Ancient 'Chewing Gum' Yields Insights Into People and Bacteria of the Past

Researchers have succeeded in extracting a complete human genome from a thousands-of-years old 'chewing gum.' According to the researchers, it is a new untapped source of ancient ...

Link Between Obesity and Gum Disease

Obesity and gum (periodontal) disease are among the most common non-communicable diseases in the United States -- and studies show these chronic conditions may be related. This new study explores the ...

Brush Your Teeth to Protect the Heart

Brushing teeth frequently is linked with lower risks of atrial fibrillation and heart failure, according to a new ...

Experts Call for More Active Prevention of Tooth Decay for Children's Teeth

Three-year trial comparing three treatment strategies for tooth decay in children's teeth finds no evidence to suggest that conventional fillings are more successful than sealing decay into ...

First Adult Molars Are 'Living Fossils' That Hold a 'Health Record' Dating Back to the Womb

Researchers have found that a person's first permanent molars carry a life-long record of health information dating back to the womb, storing vital information that can connect maternal health ...

Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Friday, August 17, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Friday, June 1, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018