advertisement
Colon Cancer News
August 10, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Frying Oil Consumption Worsened Colon Cancer and Colitis in Mice, Study Shows

Food scientists have shown that feeding frying oil to mice exaggerated colonic inflammation, enhanced tumor growth and worsened gut leakage, ...

Many of the Deadliest Cancers Receive the Least Amount of Research Funding

Many of the deadliest or most common cancers get the least amount of nonprofit research funding, reports a new study. 'Embarrassing' or stigmatized cancers, like lung and liver, are underfunded. ...

High-Fructose Corn Syrup Boosts Intestinal Tumor Growth in Mice

Consuming a daily modest amount of high-fructose corn syrup -- the equivalent of people drinking about 12 ounces of a sugar-sweetened beverage daily -- accelerates the growth of intestinal tumors in ...

Chemicals Found in Vegetables Prevent Colon Cancer in Mice

Chemicals produced by vegetables such as kale, cabbage and broccoli could help to maintain a healthy gut and prevent colon cancer, a new study ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Researchers ID Target for Colorectal Cancer Immunotherapy

Researchers have identified a target for colorectal cancer ...

Bile Metabolite of Gut Microbes Boosts Immune Cells

A new study has discovered a novel means by which bacterial colonies in the small intestine support the generation of regulatory T cells--immune cells that suppress autoimmune reactions and ...

Copper-Based Nanomaterials Can Kill Cancer Cells in Mice

Scientists have succeeded in killing tumor cells in mice using nano-sized copper compounds together with immunotherapy. After the therapy, the cancer did not ...

Aspirin Appears to Curb Colorectal Cancer Recurrence and Tumor Growth, Study Finds

The benefits of a daily aspirin may extend beyond heart health to colorectal cancer treatment, say City of Hope researchers who have found aspirin appears to reduce tumor growth and inhibit ...

Saccharin Derivatives Give Cancer Cells a Not-So-Sweet Surprise

Saccharin received a bad rap after studies in the 1970s linked consumption of large amounts of the artificial sweetener to bladder cancer in laboratory rats. Later, research revealed that these ...

Metabolic Adaptation Ensures Survival of Colon Cancer Cells

Colon cancer cells deficient in p53, one of the most important control proteins in cell growth, activate a particular metabolic pathway to adapt to the lack of oxygen and nutrients inside the tumor. ...

A Window Into the Hidden World of Colons

Biomedical engineers have developed a system for real-time observations at the cellular level in the colon of a living mouse. It employs a magnetic system to stabilize the colon during imaging while ...

Aspirin's Health Benefits Under Scrutiny

Taking a baby aspirin every day to prevent a heart attack or stroke should no longer be recommended to patients who haven't already experienced one of these events, new research ...

Dangerous Skin Tumor Now Has Treatment Guidelines

A new study reports the first guidelines for treating sebaceous carcinoma, a cancer of the oil glands. If not removed and treated promptly, it can spread to other organs and cause grave harm to ...

New Technique Visually Depicts How Cancer Cells Grow and Spread in Colon Tissue

Researchers have observed how stem cell mutations quietly arise and spread throughout a widening field of the colon until they eventually predominate and become a ...

Intestinal Stem Cell Genes May Link Dietary Fat and Colon Cancer

Two genes that appear to help stem cells in the intestine burn dietary fat may play a role in colon cancer, according to a new study. The study describes a new connection between the way cells ...

Gut Microbiota Imbalance Promotes the Onset of Colorectal Cancer

Researchers have demonstrated that an imbalance in the gut microbiota, also known as 'dysbiosis', promotes the onset of colorectal cancer. The teams demonstrated that transplanting fecal ...

Achilles Heel of Tumor Cells

In almost all cases of colon cancer, a specific gene is mutated -- a fact that offers opportunities to develop broadly effective therapeutic approaches. Researchers have taken this a step ...

Tumors Turn Gut 'Brain Cells' Into Tumor Growth Promoters

When enteric glial cells are exposed to secretions from colon tumors, the glial cells convert into promoters of tumor growth. The work demonstrates enteric glial cells' importance in the tumor ...

Overweight Before Age 40 Increases the Cancer Risk

The risk of cancer increases considerably if you gain weight before the age of ...

Lymphoma Stage at Diagnosis May Predict When and Where New Cancer Forms

A new study shows the stage at which lymphoma is originally diagnosed impacts the types of second cancers that may form after ...

Microbiome Provides New Clues to Determining Development of Colon Cancer

Findings showcasing a connection between bacteria in the microbiome and colon cancer, which may be used to screen younger populations at ...

Experts Advise Against Routine Bowel Cancer Testing for All Over-50s

Routine testing for bowel cancer should not be recommended for everyone aged 50-79 years because, for those at very low risk, the benefit is small and uncertain and there are potential harms, say a ...

Subgroup of Colorectal Cancer Patients ID'd: Do Poorly, Could Benefit from Immunotherapy

While the medical community agrees immune cells inside a tumor leads to improved health outcome, for a subset of colorectal cancer patients, having too much of a good thing is a strong predictor of ...

Antibiotic Use Linked to Heightened Bowel Cancer Risk

Antibiotic use (pills/capsules) is linked to a heightened risk of bowel (colon) cancer, but a lower risk of rectal cancer, and depends, to some extent, on the type and class of drug prescribed, ...

Monday, May 11, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Monday, December 10, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Sunday, September 30, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Friday, June 22, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Friday, May 4, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Thursday, February 1, 2018
Friday, January 26, 2018
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Friday, January 19, 2018