advertisement
Colitis News
September 26, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Giant Spider Provides Promise of Pain Relief for Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Molecules from the venom of one of the world's largest spiders could help researchers tailor pain blockers for people with irritable bowel syndrome ...

Sampling the Gut Microbiome With an Ingestible Pill

Gut microbes affect human health, but there is still much to learn, in part because they're not easy to collect. But researchers now report that they have developed an ingestible capsule that in rat ...

Swallowing This Colonoscopy-Like Bacteria Grabber Could Reveal Secrets About Your Health

Your gut bacteria could say a lot about you, such as why you're diabetic or how you respond to certain drugs. But scientists can see only so much of ...

A New Tool for Modeling the Human Gut Microbiome

Engineers have designed a device that replicates the lining of the colon. With the device, they can grow human colon cells along with oxygen-intolerant bacteria that normally live in the human ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:58am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Newly Identified Gut Cells Nurture Lymph Capillaries

IBS research team has identified new subsets of gut connective cells, which are crucial for lymphatic growth.The findings imply a crucial link between the physiology of intestinal environment and ...

New Clues from Fruit Flies About the Critical Role of Sex Hormones in Stem Cell Control

In one of the first studies addressing the role of sex hormones' impact on stem cells in the gut, scientists outline new insights showing how a steroidal sex hormone, ecdysone, drastically ...

Towards Improved Wound Healing: Chemical Synthesis of a Trefoil Factor Peptide

The family of trefoil factor peptides brings hope to both research and industry to improve the treatment of chronic disorders. For the first time, a team succeeded in the synthesis and folding of the ...

Probiotics Alone or Combined With Prebiotics May Help Ease Depression

Probiotics either taken by themselves or when combined with prebiotics, may help to ease depression, suggests a review of the available ...

Location, Location, Location: Even Gut Immune Response Is Site-Specific

Researchers are using mini-organs to model the digestive tract in the laboratory. These so-called organoids provide insights into the inflammatory processes that play a role in diseases such ...

Clostridium Difficile: Fecal Microbial Transplantation More Effective and Less Costly Than Antibiotics

An innovative treatment for patients with Clostridium difficile infection (CDI) which uses transplanted gut bacteria to treat the infection, is a more effective and more cost-efficient treatment than ...

Common Food Additive Causes Adverse Health Effects in Mice

A common food additive, recently banned in France but allowed in the US and many other countries, was found to significantly alter gut microbiota in mice, causing inflammation in the colon and ...

New Study Looks at Post-COVID-19 Emerging Disease in Children

In recent weeks, a multisystem hyperinflammatory condition has emerged in children in association with prior exposure or infection to SARS-CoV-2. A new case series examines the spectrum of imaging ...

Inflammatory Bowel Disease Linked to Doubling in Dementia Risk

Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), which includes ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease, is linked to a more than doubling in the risk of developing dementia, finds new ...

Vitamin D May Help Prevent a Common Side Effect of Anti-Cancer Immunotherapy

published in CANCER indicates that taking vitamin D supplements may help prevent a potentially serious side effect of a revolutionary form of anti-cancer ...

Could the Cure for IBD Be Inside Your Mouth?

A new collaborative study reveals that inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) may be the latest condition made worse by poor oral health via a clash between the mouth and gut ...

Researchers Uncover Drivers of Healthy Gut Maintenance

Researchers have found two genes that regulate the differentiation of stem cells in the small intestine, offering valuable insight into how the body develops and maintains a healthy ...

An Aspirin a Day Keeps the Bowel Doctor Away

A regular dose of aspirin to reduce the risk of inherited bowel cancer lasts at least 10 years after stopping treatment, research has ...

Deadly Bacterial Infection in Pigs Deciphered

New-born piglets often die painfully from infection with an intestinal bacterium. A team of researchers has now discovered how the bacterium causes fatal intestinal bleeding. They have thus made a ...

'Excretion of Sugar Into Stool'? New Action of Anti-Diabetic Drug Discovered

A research team has discovered that metformin, the most widely prescribed anti-diabetic drug, causes sugar to be excreted in the stool. Taking advantage of the new bio-imaging apparatus PET-MRI, they ...

New Gut-Brain Link: How Gut Mucus Could Help Treat Brain Disorders

Gut bacterial imbalance is linked with many neurological disorders. Now researchers have identified a common thread: changes in gut mucus. It's a new gut-brain connection that opens fresh paths ...

Brain-to-Gut Connections Traced

Using rabies virus injected into the stomach of rats, researchers trace the nerves back to the brain and find distinct 'fight or flight' and 'rest and digest' circuits. These ...

Yes, Inflammatory Bowel Disease and Celiac Disease Are Linked

A systematic review and meta-analysis that has determined there is a nine-fold increased risk of having IBD for patients with a previous diagnosis of celiac disease. Similarly, the risk for celiac ...

Uncovering How 'Dark Matter' Regions of the Genome Affect Inflammatory Diseases

A study has uncovered how variations in a non-protein coding 'dark matter' region of the genome could make patients susceptible to complex autoimmune and allergic diseases such as ...

Imaging Reveals Bowel Abnormalities in Patients With COVID-19

Patients with COVID-19 can have bowel abnormalities, including ischemia, according to a new ...

Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Sunday, April 12, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Sunday, March 15, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Friday, January 3, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019