advertisement
Chronic Illness News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Gulf War Illness, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Distinct Illnesses, Study Suggests

A brain imaging study of veterans with Gulf War illness (GWI) and patients with chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) (sometimes called myalgic ...

Strong Link Found Between Abnormal Liver Tests and Poor COVID-19 Outcomes

Researchers found that patients with COVID-19 presented with abnormal liver tests at much higher rates than suggested by earlier studies. They also discovered that higher levels of liver enzymes -- ...

Child Sleep Problems Associated With Impaired Academic and Psychosocial Functioning

A new study has found that sleep disturbances at any age are associated with diminished well-being by the time the children are 10 or 11 years old. ...

Memory Loss Reversed or Abated in Those With Cognitive Decline

Researchers sought to determine whether a comprehensive and personalized program, designed to mitigate risk factors of Alzheimer's disease could improve cognitive and metabolic function in ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:30pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Non-Fasting Blood Test Can Help Screen Youth for Prediabetes and Diabetes

A simple blood test that does not require overnight fasting has been found to be an accurate screening tool for identifying youth at risk for type 2 diabetes and heart disease risk later in ...

Newly Discovered Mutation Could Point to Heart Disease Therapeutic Target

New work identifies a potential therapeutic target for clogged arteries and other health risks that stem from an excess of harmful fats in the bloodstream. The study opens the door for the design of ...

COVID-19 Should Be Treated as an Acute Inflammatory Disease, Scientist Suggests

A team of scientists conducted a comprehensive analysis of worldwide COVID-19 data to identify key strategies moving forward to develop effective therapeutics. The scientists suggest that COVID-19 ...

Study Highlights Mental Health Risks Facing Healthcare Workers During Pandemic

A new study finds healthcare workers in the United States are struggling with a suite of mental-health challenges during the COVID-19 pandemic. The study reports healthcare workers are at greater ...

Major Depressive Episodes Far More Common Than Previously Believed

The number of adults in the United States who suffer from major depressive episodes at some point in their life is far higher than previously believed, a new study ...

Cholesterol-Lowering Drug Improved Function of Heart's Arteries

In a pilot study of people living with HIV or high levels of cholesterol, researchers found that a six-week course of a cholesterol-lowering medication improved the function of the coronary arteries ...

Decline in US Cardiac Deaths Slowing, While County-Level Disparities Grow

Steady progress in reducing the rates of premature cardiac death in the US began slowing in 2011, largely due to rising rates of out-of-hospital premature cardiac deaths, especially among younger ...

Text Messaging: The Next Gen of Therapy in Mental Health

In the US, approximately 19% of all adults have a diagnosable mental illness. Clinic-based services may fall short of meeting patient needs. In the first randomized controlled trial of its kind, a ...

Increased Attention to Sad Faces Predicts Depression Risk in Teenagers

Teenagers who tend to pay more attention to sad faces are more likely to develop depression, but specifically within the context of stress, according to new research from Binghamton University, State ...

Artificial Intelligence Could Speed Up and Improve Alzheimer's Diagnosis

Research examines how the routine use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in healthcare could help to relieve the economic impact neurodegenerative diseases, such as ...

How Renegade Protein Interrupts Brain Cell Function in Alzheimer's Disease

Dozens of molecules may tangle up with rogue bundles of tau, a protein that normally gives nerve fibers structure, to cause brain cell damage that contributes to neurodegenerative diseases, a new ...

Gene Variations at Birth Reveal Origins of Inflammation and Immune Disease

A study has pinpointed a number of areas of the human genome that may help explain the neonatal origins of chronic immune and inflammatory diseases of later life, including type 1 diabetes, ...

Low Plasma 25(OH) Vitamin D Level Associated With Increased Risk of COVID-19 Infection

An Israeli population-based study has revealed a significant association of low plasma vitamin D level with the likelihood of COVID-19 infection among patients who were tested for COVID-19, even ...

Study Finds Decline in Emergent Hospitalizations During Early Phase of COVID-19

Researchers report on the decline of emergent medical, surgical and obstetric hospitalizations at the medical center during the six-week period following the week of the declaration of the COVID-19 ...

Diets High in Protein, Particularly Plant Protein, Linked to Lower Risk of Death

Diets high in protein, particularly plant protein, are associated with a lower risk of death from any cause, finds an analysis of the latest ...

Early Menstruation Linked to Increased Menopause Symptoms

Early menstruation increases the likelihood of hot flushes and nights sweats decades later at menopause, according to a new ...

Cannabis Shows Potential for Mitigating Sickle Cell Disease Pain

Cannabis appears to be a safe and potentially effective treatment for the chronic pain that afflicts people with sickle cell disease, according to a new clinical ...

Potential Treatment for Rare Degenerative Disease

A pharmacology professor and her team have uncovered a mechanism driving a rare, lethal disease called Wolfram Syndrome and also a potential ...

Blood Iron Levels Could Be Key to Slowing Aging, Gene Study Shows

Genes linked to aging that could help explain why some people age at different rates to others have been identified by ...

Prediabetes Linked to Increased Risk of Heart Disease and Early Death

Prediabetes is associated with an increased risk of cardiovascular disease and death in both the general population and in patients with a history of heart problems, finds a new ...

Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Sunday, July 5, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Saturday, June 27, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020