advertisement
Chronic Illness News
October 20, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Ingestible Capsule That Could Help Demystify the Gut-Brain Axis

A team of experts from engineering, neuroscience, applied microbiology, and physics has been making headway on building a platform that can monitor and model the real-time processing of gut ...

Total Deaths Recorded During the Pandemic Far Exceed Those Attributed to COVID-19, New Data Show

For every two deaths attributed to COVID-19 in the U.S., a third American dies as a result of the pandemic, according to new data. The study shows ...

Breakthrough Discovery in Gene Causing Severe Nerve Conditions

Researchers have made a breakthrough genetic discovery into the cause of a spectrum of severe neurological ...

Women's Expected Longevity Linked to Age at Birth of Last Child

No one knows for sure how long they will live. A new study, however, suggests that leukocyte telomere length may offer some key insights into a woman's longevity and further demonstrates how maternal ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:00pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Could Excessive Sugar Intake Contribute to Aggressive Behaviors, ADHD, Bipolar Disorder?

New research suggests that conditions such as attention deficit hyperactivity syndrome (ADHD), bipolar disorder, and even aggressive behaviors may be linked with sugar intake, and that it may have an ...

Impact of COVID-19 Infection on Patients With Congenital Heart Disease

Results of a retrospective analysis suggest that people born with a heart defect who developed COVID-19 symptoms had a low risk of moderate or severe COVID-19 infection, according to a new ...

Multiple Neurodevelopmental Conditions May Lead to Worse Educational Outcomes

Scottish children with multiple neurodevelopmental conditions experience greater school absenteeism and exclusion, poorer exam attainment and increased unemployment, according to a ...

Drug Delivery Systems to Treat Connective Tissue Disorders

A research team has devised tiny cargo-carrying systems many times smaller than a human hair, made from molecules called peptides that help provide structure for cells and tissues. The team has ...

Heat Has Stronger Effect on Health in Less Developed Cities, Study Finds

Compared to high income cities, less developed cities in Brazil have a higher hospitalization rate associated with increased heat exposure, according to a new ...

Major Deficits in Addressing Mental Health Needs of Asylum Seekers

A new study of asylum seekers in Germany suggests that, among those with symptoms of depression, anxiety, or posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), few receive a diagnosis from the health care system, ...

Simple Sugar Possible Therapy for Repairing Myelin in Multiple Sclerosis

N-acetylglucosamine, a simple sugar found in human breast milk and sold as an over-the-counter dietary supplement in the United States, promotes myelin repair in mouse models and correlates with ...

Taking the STING out of MND

Researchers are working towards a potential treatment to slow the progression of motor neuron disease (MND). The research team have uncovered how inflammation in MND is triggered. Pinpointing the ...

Evidence of Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and MND in Brains of Young People Exposed to Dirty Air

After examining the brainstems of 186 young Mexico City residents aged between 11 months and 27 years of age, researchers, found markers not only of Alzheimer's disease, but also of ...

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is being awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice for the discovery of Hepatitis C ...

Researchers Demonstrate How Changing the Stem Cell Response to Inflammation May Reverse Periodontal Disease

Scientists have discovered that a specific type of molecule may stimulate stem cells to regenerate, reversing the inflammation caused by periodontal ...

New Clues About the Link Between Stress and Depression

Researchers have identified a protein in the brain that is important both for the function of the mood-regulating substance serotonin and for the release of stress hormones, at least in mice. The ...

New Tool Shows Main Highways of Disease Development

A new tool enables researchers to explore disease patterns from 7.2 million patients spanning 25 years. The tool is freely available for the scientific community and requires no prerequisite ...

Rare Genetic Form of Dementia Discovered

A new, rare genetic form of dementia has been discovered by researchers. This discovery also sheds light on a new pathway that leads to protein build up in the brain -- which causes this newly ...

Yoga and Meditation Reduce Chronic Pain

A mindfulness-based stress reduction course was found to benefit patients with chronic pain and depression, leading to significant improvement in participant perceptions of pain, mood and functional ...

People With Parkinson's Disease Have a Higher Risk of Dying from COVID-19

A new database analysis of approximately 80,000 patients shows that people with Parkinson's disease (PD) have a 30 percent higher death rate from COVID-19 than people without the ...

Nurture Trumps Nature in Determining Severity of PTSD Symptoms

Researchers previously identified a host of genetic risk factors that help explain why some veterans are especially susceptible to the debilitating symptoms of post-traumatic stress disorder ...

Irregular and Long Menstrual Cycles Linked to Greater Risk of Early Death

Irregular and long menstrual cycles in adolescence and adulthood are associated with a greater risk of early death (before age 70), a new study ...

Cannabinoids Associated With Negative Respiratory Health Effects in Older Adults With COPD

Cannabinoids, a class of prescription pills that contain synthetically-made chemicals found in marijuana, are associated with a 64 per cent increase in death among older adults with chronic ...

Drug Found to Correct Gene Defect That Causes Immune-Driven Gut Leakiness

Researchers have found that the drug tofacitinib, also called Xeljanz and approved by the FDA to treat rheumatoid arthritis and ulcerative colitis, can repair permeability defects in the ...

Friday, October 16, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Sunday, September 13, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020