advertisement
Cholesterol News
August 15, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Plant-Based 'Meats' Improve Some Cardiovascular Risk Factors Compared With Red Meat

Swapping out red meat for certain plant-based meat alternatives can improve some cardiovascular risk factors, according to a new ...

Doubt Cast on Wisdom of Targeting 'Bad' Cholesterol to Curb Heart Disease Risk

Setting targets for 'bad' (LDL) cholesterol levels to ward off heart disease and death in those at risk might seem intuitive, but decades of research ...

How Long Should You Fast for Weight Loss?

Two daily fasting diets, also known as time-restricted feeding diets, are effective for weight loss, according to a new study. The study reported results from a clinical trial that compared a 4-hour ...

Signs of Being Prone to Adult Diabetes Are Already Visible at Age 8 Years Old

Early signs of being more susceptible to type 2 diabetes as an adult can be seen in children as young as 8 years old, decades before it is likely to ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:27am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Newly Discovered Mutation Could Point to Heart Disease Therapeutic Target

New work identifies a potential therapeutic target for clogged arteries and other health risks that stem from an excess of harmful fats in the bloodstream. The study opens the door for the design of ...

Cholesterol-Lowering Drug Improved Function of Heart's Arteries

In a pilot study of people living with HIV or high levels of cholesterol, researchers found that a six-week course of a cholesterol-lowering medication improved the function of the coronary arteries ...

Diet and Familial Hypercholesterolemia

People diagnosed with familial hypercholesterolemia have long been instructed to minimize their consumption of saturated fats to lower cholesterol and reduce their risks of heart disease. But a new ...

Coronary Calcium Scoring: Personalized Preventive Care for Those Most at Risk

An imaging test called coronary calcium scoring can help doctors to make the right recommendation about the use of statin therapy. The test is a 10-minute CT (computed tomography) scan looking for ...

Sharp Drop in Australia's Bad Cholesterol Levels -- But Rising in Asia and Pacific

The proportion of Australians with bad cholesterol levels has dropped significantly, while Asian and Pacific countries recorded a sharp rise, according to the world's largest study on the ...

New Method to Map Cholesterol Metabolism in Brain

Researchers have developed new technology to monitor cholesterol in brain tissue which could uncover its relation to neurodegenerative disease and pave the way for the development of new ...

Dietary Counselling Introduced in Infancy Leads to Better Cardiovascular Health in Adults

Scientists investigated the long-term effects of dietary counseling on cardiovascular health. The individuals, who had participated in the trial between ages 7 months and 20 years, were invited to a ...

People With Type 2 Diabetes and Heart Disease May Benefit from Newer Therapies

Coronary artery disease among people with type 2 diabetes may need to be treated more aggressively than in people with coronary artery disease who do not have diabetes. A new scientific statement ...

Potential Early Biomarker to Track Development of Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease

Research has uncovered a biomarker in humans tied to the development of Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease that might help doctors detect early stages of the disease. The researchers also determined ...

Most Diets Lead to Weight Loss and Lower Blood Pressure, but Effects Largely Disappear After a Year

Reasonably good evidence suggests that most diets result in similar modest weight loss and improvements in cardiovascular risk factors over a period of six months, compared with a usual ...

Molecule Found in Oranges Could Reduce Obesity and Prevent Heart Disease and Diabetes

Researchers are studying a molecule found in sweet oranges and tangerines called nobiletin, which they have shown to drastically reduce obesity and reverse its negative side-effects. But why it works ...

Drinks With Added Sugars Linked to Lipid Imbalance, Which Increases CVD Risk

Drinking sugar-sweetened beverages daily was linked to lower high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (HDL-C), ('good' cholesterol), and higher triglyceride levels, both of which can increase ...

Study of 418,000 Europeans Finds Different Foods Linked to Different Types of Stroke

Different types of food are linked to risks of different types of stroke, according to the largest study to investigate this. The study of more than 418,000 people in nine European countries ...

Gene Tests for Heart Disease Risk Have Limited Benefit

Genetic tests to predict a person's risk of heart disease and heart attack have limited benefit over conventional ...

New Cholesterol-Lowering Guidelines Would Increase Cost of Treatment

The financial burden on health systems would drastically increase if new European expert guidelines for cholesterol-lowering treatment were implemented, according to a new simulation study. The ...

Western Diet Rich in Fat and Sugar Linked to Skin Inflammation

Dietary components, rather than obesity itself, may lead to skin inflammation and the development of psoriasis, a study has ...

Innate Protein Restricts HIV Replication by Targeting Lipid Rafts

A recent study suggests that the innate protein AIBP restricts HIV-1 replications by targeting the lipid rafts the virus relies ...

Lower Protein Diet May Lessen Risk for Cardiovascular Disease

A plant-based diet may be key to lowering risk for heart disease. Researchers determined that diets with reduced sulfur amino acids -- which occur in protein-rich foods, such as meats, dairy, nuts ...

High-Protein Diets Boost Artery-Clogging Plaque, Mouse Study Shows

High-protein diets may help people lose weight and build muscle, but a new study in mice suggests they have a down side: They lead to more plaque in the arteries. Further, the new research shows that ...

A Heart-Healthy Protein from Bran of Cereal Crop

Foxtail millet is an annual grass grown widely as a cereal crop in parts of India, China and Southeast Asia. Milling the grain removes the hard outer layer, or bran, from the rest of the seed. Now, ...

Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Saturday, May 25, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019