advertisement
Cancer News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Breakthrough With Cancer Vaccine

Scientists have developed a new cancer vaccine with the potential to activate the body's immune system to fight a range of cancers, including leukaemia, breast cancer, lung cancer and pancreatic ...

Higher Fruit, Vegetable and Whole Grain Intake Linked to Lower Risk of Diabetes

Higher consumption of fruit, vegetables and whole grain foods are associated with a lower risk of developing type 2 diabetes, according to two new ...
New research identifies several existing compounds that block replication of the COVID-19 virus (SARS-CoV-2) within human cells grown in the laboratory. The inhibitors all ...

Clues to COVID-19 Complications Come from NET-Like Inflammatory Response

An overactive defense response may lead to increased blood clotting, disease severity, and death from COVID-19. A phenomenon called NETosis -- in which infection-fighting cells emit a web-like ...
Latest Headlines
updated 7:16pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Clues from Fruit Flies About the Critical Role of Sex Hormones in Stem Cell Control

In one of the first studies addressing the role of sex hormones' impact on stem cells in the gut, scientists outline new insights showing how a steroidal sex hormone, ecdysone, drastically ...

A Key Gene Modifies Regulatory T Cells to Fine-Tune the Immune Response

The human immune system is a finely-tuned machine, balancing when to release a cellular army to deal with pathogens, with when to rein in that army, stopping an onslaught from attacking the body ...

Coronary Calcium Scoring: Personalized Preventive Care for Those Most at Risk

An imaging test called coronary calcium scoring can help doctors to make the right recommendation about the use of statin therapy. The test is a 10-minute CT (computed tomography) scan looking for ...

Marine Algae from the Kiel Fjord Discovered as a Remedy Against Infections and Skin Cancer

Using state-of-the-art approaches coupled with bio- and cheminformatics and machine learning, researchers have succeeded in discovering new, bioactive components of the Baltic Sea Baltic Sea seaweed ...

Glowing Dye May Aid in Eliminating Cancer

When a solid cancer is surgically removed, any small piece that is left behind increases the chance of a local recurrence or spread. In a pilot study of dogs with mammary tumors, a disease very ...

Discovery of Key Protein Behind Cancer Relapse and Progression Can Lead to New Therapies

Reports show that cancer is the second-highest leading cause of death globally. A recent study by scientists provides new evidence supporting the presence of a key mechanism behind progression and ...

Novel Protein Drives Cancer Progression

Researchers have discovered a protein that drives the progression of esophageal cancer and liver cancer and it could be a promising target for cancer drug ...

Human-Artificial Intelligence Collaborations Best for Skin Cancer Diagnosis

Artificial intelligence (AI) improved skin cancer diagnostic accuracy when used in collaboration with human clinical ...

Engineered Immune Cells Recognize, Attack Human and Mouse Solid-Tumor Cancer Cells

CAR-T therapy has been used successfully in patients with blood cancers such as lymphoma and leukemia. It modifies a patient's own T-cells by adding a piece of an antibody that recognizes unique ...

Novel Function of Platelets in Tumor Blood Vessels Found

Scientists have discovered a hitherto unknown function of blood platelets in cancer. In mouse models, these platelets have proved to help preserve the vascular barrier which makes blood-vessel walls ...

Researchers Destroy Cancer Cells With Ultrasound Treatment

An international research team has developed a noninvasive technology platform for gene delivery into breast cancer cells. The technique combines ultrasound with tumor-targeted ...

Molecular Simulations Show How Drugs Block Key Receptors

Many pharmaceuticals work by targeting what are known as ''G-protein-coupled receptors''. In a new study, scientists describe how they have been able to predict how special ...

New Class of Precision Medicine Strips Cancer of Its DNA Defenses

A new precision medicine targeting cancer's ability to repair its DNA has shown promising results in the first clinical trial of the drug class. The new study, designed to test the drug's ...

Immune Cells Infiltrating Tumors May Play Bigger Cancer Role Than Previously Thought

Researchers uncovered in mice how a molecule involved in cells' response to stress determines whether macrophages promote inflammation in the tumor microenvironment. Inflammation is known to ...

Online Program Improves Insomnia in Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer Survivors

Researchers show that an online program developed specifically for AYA cancer survivors can significantly alleviate insomnia and improve overall quality of ...

This Enigmatic Protein Sculpts DNA to Repair Harmful Damage

Sometimes, when something is broken, the first step to fixing it is to break it even more. Scientists have discovered this is the case for a DNA-repairing enzyme that marks then further breaks ...

Vitamin D May Help Prevent a Common Side Effect of Anti-Cancer Immunotherapy

published in CANCER indicates that taking vitamin D supplements may help prevent a potentially serious side effect of a revolutionary form of anti-cancer ...

Shining Light on a Malignant Lung Cancer

Treating a rare type of malignant lung cancer could improve, thanks to near-infrared irradiation and a cancer-targeting ...

Breakthrough Discovery to Transform Prostate Cancer Treatment

A novel formulation of the prostate cancer drug abiraterone acetate - currently marketed as Zytiga - will dramatically improve the quality of life for people suffering from prostate cancer, as ...

Renewed Hope for Treatment of Pain and Depression

Researchers have developed LIH383, a novel molecule that binds to and blocks a previously unknown opioid receptor in the brain, thereby modulating the levels of opioid peptides produced in the ...

Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Saturday, May 30, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020