advertisement
Bone and Spine News
September 26, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Tag Team Gut Bacteria Worsen Symptoms of Multiple Sclerosis

Researchers have discovered that a particular combination of microorganisms in the gut can worsen symptoms in a mouse model of multiple sclerosis. The study shows that two specific gut bacteria ...

How Dinosaur Research Can Help Medicine

The intervertebral discs connect the vertebrae and give the spine its mobility. The disc consists of a cartilaginous fibrous ring and a gelatinous core as a buffer. It has always been assumed that ...

Simultaneous Stimulation Helped a Spinal Cord Injury Patient Regain the Ability to Walk

The first promising results have been achieved in the application of synchronized electrical and magnetic stimulation therapy when rehabilitating a ...
Seasonal flu vaccination does increase the number of antibody-producing cells specific for flu in the bone marrow. However, most of the newly generated cells are lost within ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:30am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Rubbing Skin Activates Itch-Relief Neural Pathway

Stop scratching: rubbing skin activates an anti-itch pathway in the spinal cord, according to new ...

Coaxing Single Stem Cells Into Specialized Cells

Researchers have developed a unique method for precisely controlling the deposition of hydrogel, which is made of water-soluble polymers commonly used to support cells in experiments or for ...

Mixing Silk With Polymers Could Lead to Better Biomedical Implants

Spun by spiders and silkworms, silk has mystified human engineers who have yet to figure out how to artificially recreate it. But by combining silk with synthetic compounds, researchers are getting ...

Improving Treatment of Spinal Cord Injuries

Bioengineers have created an osmotic therapy device that gently removes fluid from the spinal cord to reduce swelling in injured rats with good results. The device can eventually be scaled up for ...

Causes of Higher Risk of Stress Fractures in Female Runners

A pair of new studies identify overlooked physiological factors and lack of knowledge around wellness as contributors to risk of stress fracture in women who ...

Long-Term Risks of Joint Implants

Using highly complex analytical techniques, a group of researchers were able to observe in detail how different metals are released from joint implants and accumulate in the surrounding bone tissue. ...

Implanted Neural Stem Cell Grafts Show Functionality in Spinal Cord Injuries

Researchers report successfully implanting specialized grafts of neural stem cells directly into spinal cord injuries in mice, then documenting how the grafts grew and filled the injury sites, ...

New Strategy Against Osteoporosis

An international research team has found a new approach that may be able to reduce bone loss in osteoporosis and maintain bone ...

Researcher Seeks Safer, More Effective Leukemia Treatment

A potentially safer, more effective chemotherapy treatment for patients with blood-related cancers, such as leukemia, who need a particular bone marrow transplant procedure is under study. The ...

Hydrogel Paves Way for Biomedical Breakthrough

Dubbed the 'invisibility cloak', engineers have developed a hydrogel that allows implants and transplants to better and more safely interact with surrounding ...

Lego-Inspired Bone and Soft Tissue Repair With Tiny, 3D-Printed Bricks

A new, 3D-printed technology that was inspired by Lego block toys is designed to help heal broken bones, and could one day even lead to lab-made organs for human ...

Ibuprofen Does Not Hinder Bone Fracture Healing in Children

Doctors have traditionally avoided prescribing nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory medications (NSAIDs) such as ibuprofen to patients with fractures. However, a new study shows ibuprofen is an effective ...

Spinal Stimulators Repurposed to Restore Touch in Lost Limb

Devices commonly implanted for chronic pain could expand patient access to prosthetic arms that ...

COVID-19 Brain Complications Found Across the Globe

Cases of brain complications linked to COVID-19 are occurring across the globe, a new review has shown. The research found that strokes, delirium and other neurological complications are reported ...

Tiny Mineral Particles Are Better Vehicles for Promising Gene Therapy

Researchers have developed a safer and more efficient way to deliver a promising new method for treating cancer and liver disorders and for ...

Buzzing to Rebuild Broken Bone

Healing broken bones could get easier with a device that provides both a scaffold for the bone to grow on and electrical stimulation to urge it forward, engineers report. Although minor bone breaks ...

Lifting Weights Makes Your Nervous System Stronger, Too

Gym-goers may get frustrated when they don't see results from weightlifting right away, but their efforts are not in vain: the first few weeks of training strengthen the nervous system, not ...

Bringing Burnt Bones Back to 'Life' Using 3D Technology

Forensic scientists have discovered a new way of presenting fragile evidence, by reconstructing a 'jigsaw' of human bone fragments using 3D printing. In the first known study of its kind, ...

Fantastic Muscle Proteins and Where to Find Them

Setting out to identify all proteins that make up the sarcomere, the basic contractile unit of muscle cells, resulted in an unexpected revelation, providing experimental evidence that helps explain a ...

For Babies Born With a Rare Immune Deficiency, a Unique New Test to Better Target Care

A new test will enable better management of patients with severe combined immunodeficiency ...

Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Friday, January 3, 2020
Friday, December 27, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019