advertisement
Birth Defects News
October 20, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Effects of Low-Level Lead Exposure and Alcohol Consumption

A new study examining effects of low-level developmental lead exposure in mice could explain why some people dependent on alcohol return to ...

Breakthrough Discovery in Gene Causing Severe Nerve Conditions

Researchers have made a breakthrough genetic discovery into the cause of a spectrum of severe neurological ...

Pregnancy Complications Linked to Heightened Risk of Heart Disease and Stroke in Later Life

Pregnancy complications such as miscarriage, pre-eclampsia, diabetes in pregnancy (gestational diabetes) and pre-term birth are linked to a ...

How COVID-19 Could Lead to Runaway Inflammation

A new study addresses a mystery first raised in March: Why do some people with COVID-19 develop severe inflammation? The research shows how the molecular structure and sequence of the SARS-CoV-2 ...
Latest Headlines
updated 12:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Impact of COVID-19 Infection on Patients With Congenital Heart Disease

Results of a retrospective analysis suggest that people born with a heart defect who developed COVID-19 symptoms had a low risk of moderate or severe COVID-19 infection, according to a new ...

Pregnant Women With Severe COVID-19 Face Additional Risks and Early Delivery

Pregnant women with severe or critical COVID-19 and their unborn infants face increased health risks before and after delivery but those with mild cases had similar outcomes compared to those who ...

Low Level Alcohol Use During Pregnancy Can Impact Child's Brain Development

A new study finds any alcohol use during pregnancy, even low levels, is associated with subtle, yet significant behavioural and psychological effects in children including anxiety, depression and ...

Prenatal Cannabis Exposure Associated With Adverse Outcomes During Middle Childhood

Research shows prenatal cannabis exposure may impact child behavior later in ...

Most Infants Are Well Even When Moms Are Infected by COVID-19, Researchers Find

Infants born to women with COVID-19 showed few adverse outcomes, according to new research. The study suggests that babies born to mothers infected with the virus generally do well six to eight weeks ...

Vitamin E Needed for Proper Nervous System Development

In research with key ramifications for women of childbearing age, scientists show that embryos produced by vitamin E-deficient zebrafish have malformed brains and nervous ...

Mosquito-Borne Viruses Linked to Stroke

A deadly combination of two mosquito-borne viruses may be a trigger for stroke, new research has ...

Healthy Diet and Exercise During Pregnancy Could Lead to Healthier Children

New research shows improving the lifestyle of women with obesity during pregnancy could mean long-term cardiovascular benefits for their ...

FABP4: Preschool-Aged Biomarker Discovered for Autism Spectrum Disorder

Researchers have discovered a biomarker that can detect autism spectrum disorder (ASD) in preschool-aged children. The new study found that levels of the protein FABP4 were much lower in four- to ...

Research Sheds Light on Earliest Stages of Angelman Syndrome

New research provides insights into the earliest stages of Angelman syndrome. The work also demonstrates how human cerebral organoids can be used to shed light on genetic disorders that affect human ...

NSAIDs Not Associated With More Severe Coronavirus Disease, Study Finds

The use of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), such as ibuprofen and diclofenac, is not associated with any adverse effects in people who have tested positive for COVID-19, according to a ...

Fighting Cardiovascular Disease With Acne Drug

Researchers have found the cause of dilated cardiomyopathy - a leading cause of heart failure - and identified a potential treatment for it: a drug already used to treat ...

'One Size Fits All' Medication Approach Doesn't Work in Pregnancy

New research shows that a blanket approach to prescribing medication during pregnancy may put low birth weight babies at risk for the rest of their ...

Brain Astrocytes Show Metabolic Alterations in Parkinson's Disease

A new study using induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC) technology links astrocyte dysfunction to Parkinson's disease (PD) pathology. The study highlights the role of brain astrocyte cells in PD ...

Misfiring Brain Cells May Cause Swallowing Woes in Children With Developmental Disorders

Misfiring brain cells that control key parts of the mouth and tongue may be creating swallowing difficulties in children with neurodevelopmental disorders, according to neuroscientists. Problems ...

Narcolepsy Drug Did Not Increase Risk of Fetal Malformation

Modafinil is used to treat conditions such as narcolepsy. Reports have associated the drug with an increased risk of malformation in babies born to mothers who had taken it while pregnant. Now, a ...

Brain Protein Linked to Seizures, Abnormal Social Behaviors

A team has found a new mechanism responsible for the abnormal development of neuronal connections in the mouse brain that leads to seizures and abnormal social ...

Strokes in Babies Are Surprisingly Common; Here's How the Body Rushes to the Rescue

New research is shedding light on the development of the brain's immune defenses - and how those defenses respond to strokes that strike one in 4,000 babies in the first month of ...

What Happens When Babies With Heart Defects Become Adults?

More than 90% of babies born with heart defects survive into adulthood. As a result, there are now more adults living with congenital heart disease than children. These adults have a chronic, ...

Gout Treatment May Aid Patients With Congenital Heart Disease

A drug used to treat gout, probenecid, may improve heart function in individuals with a particular heart defect, according to results from a small pilot study. Individuals with congenital ...

Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020