advertisement
Bird Flu News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Cells Sacrifice Themselves to Boost Immune Response to Viruses

Whether flu or coronavirus, it can take several days for the body to ramp up an effective response to a viral infection. New research describes how different cells in the immune system work together, ...

New Study Reveals Why Flu Can Be Devastating for Pregnant Women

New research overturns current scientific thinking on flu infection in pregnancy. The study helps explain why influenza can lead to life-threatening complications during pregnancy. The research also ...

Insight on How to Build a Better Flu Vaccine

Repeated exposure to influenza viruses may undermine the effectiveness of the annual flu vaccine. A team of researchers has developed an approach to assess whether a vaccine activates the kind of ...

Seasonal Flu Vaccinations Don't 'Stick' Long-Term in Bone Marrow

Seasonal flu vaccination does increase the number of antibody-producing cells specific for flu in the bone marrow. However, most of the newly generated cells are lost within one year, researchers ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:58pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Social Media Can Guide Public Pandemic Policy, Research Finds

As global cases of COVID-19 fast approach 50 million, a team of Australian, Afghan, Iranian and Italian researchers examined more than 35,000 tweets and say social media analytics can capture the ...

ICE Detention Centers Saw Sustained Outbreaks of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, Says Study

More than a dozen US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) detention centers experienced large, repeated outbreaks of vaccine-preventable illnesses in the last three years, according to a new ...

First Reported UK Case of Sudden Permanent Hearing Loss Linked to COVID-19

Although uncommon, sudden permanent hearing loss seems to be linked to COVID-19 infection in some people, warn doctors, reporting the first UK ...

Computer Model Uses Virus 'Appearance' to Better Predict Winter Flu Strains

Combining genetic and experimental data into models about the influenza virus can help predict more accurately which strains will be most common during the next winter, says a study published ...

Stopping Lethal Lung Damage from the Flu With a Natural Human Protein

The raging lung inflammation that can contribute to death from the flu can be stopped in its tracks by a drug derived from a naturally occurring human protein, a new animal study ...

Hydroxychloroquine Does Not Counter SARS-CoV-2 in Hamsters, High Dose of Favipiravir Does: Study

Virologists have shown that a treatment with the anti-malaria drug hydroxychloroquine does not limit SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus replication in hamsters. A high dose of the anti-flu drug favipiravir, by ...

Influenza Vaccination May Provide Roadmap to Prevent COVID-19 in CV Disease Patients

Seasonal influenza vaccine development and mass production, as well as three international influenza vaccine cardiovascular outcomes trials currently underway, may inform future efforts targeted at ...

One in Three Parents Plan to Skip Flu Shots for Their Kids During COVID-19 Pandemic, Poll Finds

According to a new U.S. poll, COVID-19 may not influence parents' beliefs about the flu vaccine, with just one third believing it's more important for children to get vaccinated this year, ...

Antibodies Protect Against Wide Range of Influenza B Virus Strains

Researchers have identified two antibodies that protect mice against lethal infections of influenza B virus. Together with an antibody that targets the other major kind of influenza viruses that ...

Unusual Climate Conditions Influenced WWI Mortality and Subsequent Influenza Pandemic

Scientists have spotted a once-in-a-century climate anomaly during World War I that likely increased mortality during the war and the influenza pandemic in the years that ...

Middle-Aged Individuals May Be in a Perpetual State of H3N2 Flu Virus Susceptibility

Researchers have found that middle-aged individuals -- those born in the late 1960s and the 1970s -- may be in a perpetual state of H3N2 influenza virus susceptibility because their antibodies bind ...

Common Cold Jumpstarts Defense Against Influenza

As the flu season approaches, a strained public health system may have a surprising ally -- the common cold virus. Rhinovirus, the most frequent cause of common colds, can prevent the flu virus from ...

Vaccines Against Respiratory Infections Linked to Fewer Heart Failure Deaths

Influenza and pneumonia vaccinations are associated with fewer hospital deaths in patients with heart failure. That's the result of a study in nearly 3 million Americans. One out of five ...

Study Confirms Link Between Influenza, Heart Complications

A new study looking at more than 80,000 adult patients hospitalized with flu over eight seasons found that sudden, serious heart complications were common, occurring in 12 percent of patients. The ...

COVID-19 Vaccines Are Moving Fast, but Will Americans Agree to Get Them?

Only one in three U.S. adults received the flu vaccine in 2018, a number that has critical implications for the impending flu season, which threatens to overwhelm medical resources and lead to tens ...

Bouncing, Sticking, Exploding Viruses: Understanding the Surface Chemistry of SARS-CoV-2

Researchers highlight the need to understand the different environmental conditions that affect the surface chemistry of viruses like SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes the disease ...

Study Finds Dedicated Clinics Can Reduce Impact of Flu Pandemic

A new study concludes that opening clinics dedicated specifically to treating influenza can limit the number of people infected and help to 'flatten the curve,' or reduce the peak ...

Flu, Pneumonia Vaccinations Tied to Lower Risk of Alzheimer's Dementia

Flu (influenza) and pneumonia vaccinations are associated with reduced risk of Alzheimer's disease, according to new ...

Vaccine Additives Can Enhance Immune Flexibility -- Implications for Flu and SARS-CoV-2

A vaccine additive known as an adjuvant can enhance responses to a vaccine containing the exotic avian flu virus H5N1, so that both rookie and veteran elements of the immune response are ...

Spread of Flu Virus in Hospital Environment Common

One in four inpatients with influenza in a given season showed signs of having become infected during ...

Thursday, November 5, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019