advertisement
Bird Flu News
September 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Study Reveals Why Flu Can Be Devastating for Pregnant Women

New research overturns current scientific thinking on flu infection in pregnancy. The study helps explain why influenza can lead to life-threatening complications during pregnancy. The research also ...

Insight on How to Build a Better Flu Vaccine

Repeated exposure to influenza viruses may undermine the effectiveness of the annual flu vaccine. A team of researchers has developed an approach to assess whether a vaccine activates the kind of ...
Seasonal flu vaccination does increase the number of antibody-producing cells specific for flu in the bone marrow. However, most of the newly generated cells are lost within ...

Flu in Early Life Determines Our Susceptibility to Future Infections

Early infections of influenza A can help predict how the virus will affect people across different ages in the future and could impact the effectiveness of flu vaccines, says a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:58pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

COVID-19 Vaccines Are Moving Fast, but Will Americans Agree to Get Them?

Only one in three U.S. adults received the flu vaccine in 2018, a number that has critical implications for the impending flu season, which threatens to overwhelm medical resources and lead to tens ...

Study Finds Dedicated Clinics Can Reduce Impact of Flu Pandemic

A new study concludes that opening clinics dedicated specifically to treating influenza can limit the number of people infected and help to 'flatten the curve,' or reduce the peak ...

Flu, Pneumonia Vaccinations Tied to Lower Risk of Alzheimer's Dementia

Flu (influenza) and pneumonia vaccinations are associated with reduced risk of Alzheimer's disease, according to new ...

Spread of Flu Virus in Hospital Environment Common

One in four inpatients with influenza in a given season showed signs of having become infected during ...

To Understand COVID-19, Researchers Review Aging, Immune Response to Viral Infections

As clinicians learn about a new disease in real-time, researchers are also investigating what lessons from other respiratory infections could apply to ...

COVID-19 Drug Development Could Benefit from Approach Used Against Flu

A new study has found that some antivirals are useful for more than helping sick people get better -- they also can prevent thousands of deaths and hundreds of thousands of virus cases if used in the ...

When COVID-19 Meets Flu Season

As if the COVID-19 pandemic isn't scary enough, the flu season is not far away. How severe will the flu season be as it converges with the COVID-19 outbreak? What can we do to ...

Placentas from COVID-19-Positive Pregnant Women Show Injury

In the largest study to examine health of placentas in women who tested positive for COVID-19, findings show placentas from 16 women who tested positive for COVID-19 while pregnant showed evidence of ...

New Technology Can Detect Anti-Virus Antibody in 20 Minutes

Researchers have succeeded in detecting anti-avian influenza virus antibody in blood serum within 20 minutes, using a portable analyzer they have developed to conduct rapid on-site bio tests. If a ...

COVID-19: Study Reports 'Staggering' Death Rate in U.S. Among Those Infected Who Show Symptoms

A new study finds the national U.S. rate of death among people infected with the novel coronavirus -- SARS-CoV-2 -- that causes COVID-19 and who show symptoms is 1.3 percent, the study found. The ...

Passive Immunization May Slow Down SARS-CoV-2 and Boost Immunity in Patients, Buying Time

A potential interim solution to the COVID-19 pandemic may be a passive vaccine, or passive immunization (PI), which can provide instant, short-term fortification against infectious agents, a new ...

Antiviral Drug Baloxavir Reduces Transmission of Flu Virus Among Ferrets

Baloxavir treatment reduced transmission of the flu virus from infected ferrets to healthy ferrets, suggesting that the antiviral drug could contribute to the early control of influenza outbreaks by ...

Researchers Assess Bird Flu Virus Subtypes in China

The avian influenza virus subtype H16N3 is currently detectable in many countries. To examine the potential threat to humans of H16N3, researchers recently performed an extensive avian influenza ...

Rapid Infectious Disease Shifts in Chinese Children and Adolescents Prior to COVID-19

Deaths of children and adolescents in China due to infectious diseases were becoming rare prior to the covid-19 pandemic, according to a new ...

Vaccine Candidate Against SARS-CoV-2 Being Tested

South Australian researchers working with Oracle Cloud technology and vaccine technology developed by local company Vaxine Pty Ltd are testing a vaccine candidate against the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus ...

Phage Capsid Against Influenza: Perfectly Fitting Inhibitor Prevents Viral Infection

Hope of new therapeutic options for suppressing seasonal influenza and avian flu: On the basis of an empty -- and therefore non-infectious -- shell of a phage virus, researchers have developed a ...

Lessons from the Spanish Flu: Early Restrictions Lowered Disease, Mortality Rates

A review of published data and analysis on the Spanish flu, found that cities that adopted early and broad isolation and prevention measures had disease and mortality rates that were 30% to 50% lower ...

Portable AI Device Turns Coughing Sounds Into Health Data for Flu and Pandemic Forecasting

Researchers have invented a portable surveillance device powered by machine learning - called FluSense - which can detect coughing and crowd size in real time, then analyze the data to directly ...

Median Incubation Period for COVID-19

A new study calculates that the median incubation period for COVID-19 is just over 5 days and that 97.5% of people who develop symptoms will do so within 11.5 days of ...

New Compounds Thwart Multiple Viruses, Including Coronavirus

According to a Feb. 13 report from the World Health Organization, the Wuhan coronavirus has stricken more than 46,000 people and has caused over 1,300 deaths since the first cases in Wuhan, China, in ...

Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018