advertisement
Alternative Medicine News
August 2, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Drinking Tea Improves Brain Health, Study Suggests

A recent study revealed that regular tea drinkers have better organized brain regions compared to non-tea ...

Lower Back Pain? Self-Administered Acupressure Could Help

A recent study found that people with chronic lower back pain who performed self-administered acupressure experienced improvement in pain and fatigue ...

New Study Explains the Molecular Mechanism for the Therapeutic Effects of Cilantro

Herbs, including cilantro, have a long history of use as folk medicine anticonvulsants. Until now, many of the underlying mechanisms of how the herbs ...

Exercise: Psych Patients' New Natural Prescription

A new study advocates for exercise as a fundamental treatment and intervention method within inpatient psychiatric ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:59pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Opioid Use and Driving Outcomes Among Older Adults

A new study looks at the relationship between opioid use and driving among older ...

Therapy Dogs May Help Lower Emergency Clinicians' Stress

New research indicates that for physicians and nurses working evening shifts in the emergency department, interacting with a therapy dog for several minutes may help lower ...

Oh My Aching Back: Do Yoga, Tai Chi or Qigong Help?

About 80 percent of Americans will experience low back pain at some point. Patients are often advised to manage their back pain with exercise and mind-body interventions. But, do they really help? ...

Acid Reflux Drugs May Have Negative Side Effects for Breast Cancer Survivors

Acid reflux drugs that are sometimes recommended to ease stomach problems during cancer treatment may have an unintended side effect: impairment of breast cancer survivors' memory and ...

Caffeine May Offset Some Health Risks of Diets High in Fat, Sugar

In a study of rats, scientists found that caffeine limited weight gain and cholesterol production, despite a diet that was high in fat and ...

Experts Review Evidence Yoga Is Good for the Brain

Scientists have known for decades that aerobic exercise strengthens the brain and contributes to the growth of new neurons, but few studies have examined how yoga affects the brain. A review of the ...

Anti-Hepatitis Medicine Surprises

A new effective treatment of hepatitis C not only combats the virus, but is also effective against potentially fatal complications such as reduced liver functioning and ...

Yoga and Physical Therapy as Treatment for Chronic Lower Back Pain Also Improves Sleep

Yoga and physical therapy (PT) are effective approaches to treating co-occurring sleep disturbance and back pain while reducing the need for medication, according to a new study. The research showed ...

Scientists and Schoolkids Find Family Soups Have Antimalarial Properties

London schoolchildren have found -- with the help of scientists -- that some of their families' soup recipes have antimalarial ...

Just What the Doctor Ordered: Take a Yoga Class and Depression, Anxiety Improve

Scientific studies already support yoga practice as a means to reduce symptoms of depression and anxiety. Now a new study provides evidence that yoga and breathing exercises can improve symptoms of ...

Complementary and Alternative Therapies to Treat Colic in Babies

A review of the evidence on the use of complementary and alternative (CAM) therapies to treat babies with colic has shown some that some treatments -- including probiotics, fennel extract and spinal ...

Virus Characteristics Predict HIV Treatment Efficacy With Antibody Treatment

Current HIV-1 therapies have been proven to be highly effective in slowing the progression of the virus in the body with only minimal side effects. The daily antiretroviral therapy (ART) uses a ...

Prenatal Air Pollution Exposure Linked to Infants' Decreased Heart Rate Response to Stress

A mother's exposure to particulate air pollution during pregnancy is associated with reduced cardiac response to stress in six-month-old infants, according to new research. This study is among ...

Stressing Cancer With Spice

A new study reports how an experimental drug agent stops cancer cells from growing. A little over a decade ago, scientists first reported pentagamavumon-1 (PGV-1), an analogue of a molecule found in ...

Habitual Tea Drinking Modulates Brain Efficiency: Evidence from Brain Connectivity Evaluation

The researchers recruited healthy older participants to two groups according to their history of tea drinking frequency and investigated both functional and structural networks to reveal the role of ...

Drinking More Sugary Beverages of Any Type May Increase Type 2 Diabetes Risk

People who increase their consumption of sugary beverages -- whether they contain added or naturally occurring sugar -- may face moderately higher risk of type 2 ...

Chair Yoga More Effective Than Music Therapy in Older Adults With Advanced Dementia

Researchers assessed the ability of older adults with advanced dementia to participate in non-pharmacological interventions and compared chair yoga with chair-based exercise and music therapy. ...

Molecular Mechanism of Botanical Folk Medicines Used to Treat Hypertension

Common herbs, including lavender, fennel and chamomile, have a long history of use as folk medicines used to lower blood pressure. In a new study, researchers explain the molecular mechanisms that ...

New Protocol to Improve Gene Therapy Tool Production

A method to create a faster and lower cost alternative for a gene therapy ...

Temps Up, Blood Pressures Down in Hot Yoga Study

Adults taking hot yoga had lower blood pressure measurements after three months of classes, in a small study examining hot yoga's impact on blood pressure. Hot yoga is typically a vigorous ...

Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Saturday, May 25, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, December 31, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Friday, May 4, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Sunday, April 8, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Wednesday, January 24, 2018