advertisement
Allergy News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Asthma Does Not Seem to Increase the Severity of COVID-19, Research Team Finds

Researchers say further study is needed, but those with the chronic respiratory disease don't appear to be at a higher risk of getting extremely ill ...

Asthma and Allergies More Common in Teens Who Stay Up Late

Teenagers who prefer to stay up late and wake later in the morning are more likely to suffer with asthma and allergies compared to those who sleep and wake earlier, according to a new ...

In Mouse Study, Black Raspberries Show Promise for Reducing Skin Inflammation

In a study done with mice, researchers found that a diet high in black raspberries reduced inflammation from contact hypersensitivity -- a condition ...

New Pill Could Prevent Anaphylaxis in People With Food, Drug Allergies

For someone with a food or drug allergy, the risk of life-threatening anaphylactic shock lurks around every corner. A new study shows there might be a pill that can be taken proactively to prevent ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:45pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Links Between Parents' and Children's Asthma and Allergies

New research found that, compared with a father's traits related to allergies and asthma, a mother's traits create a higher risk that a child will develop these same traits in early ...

Nasal Smear as an Allergy Screening Test

In the world of allergy diagnostics, the familiar blood samples and unpleasant skin prick procedures for testing allergen tolerance may soon be a thing of the past. A team of researchers has ...

Milk Allergy Guidelines May Cause Overdiagnosis in Babies and Children

Current medical guidelines for diagnosing cow's milk allergy in babies and young children may be linked to overdiagnosis of the ...

Breastfeeding and Risks of Allergies and Asthma

In an Acta Paediatrica study, exclusive breastfeeding for the first 3 months was linked with a lower risk of respiratory allergies and asthma when children reached 6 years of ...

Researchers Make Asthma Breakthrough

Researchers have made a breakthrough that may eventually lead to improved therapeutic options for people living with asthma. The researchers have uncovered a critical role for a protein (Caspase-11), ...

Allergists Encourage Parents of Food-Allergic Kids to Recognize Their Own Anxiety

Allergists in the study said thoughtful and balanced communication and having credible information to share with your child go a long way toward helping your child with fears about their food ...

Electron Microscopy Allows Scientists to Understand the Molecular Trigger of Allergic Reactions

For the first time, researchers from the Department of Engineering and the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics at Aarhus University have described the structure of an IgE antibody ...

Exposure to Cleaning Products in First 3 Months of Life Increases Risk of Childhood Asthma

New research shows that frequent exposure to common household cleaning products can increase a child's risk of developing ...

A New Approach to Calm That Angry Nose

Eosinophilic chronic rhinosinusitis (ECRS) is a type of airway disease that involves nasal inflammation. Here, semaphorin protein was found to contribute to allergic reactions and development of ...

Study Explains Why Some Creams and Cosmetics May Cause a Skin Rash

Some compounds found in many personal care products displace natural fat-like molecules in skin cells, which may explain how they cause an allergic skin ...

Children Allergic to Cow's Milk Smaller and Lighter

Children allergic to cow's milk are smaller and weigh less, according to a study of growth trajectories from early childhood to adolescence in children with persistent food ...

Technique Identifies T Cells Primed for Certain Allergies or Infections

Researchers can now identify T cells reactive to a particular target from a patient's cells, and to perform high-throughput single-cell RNA sequencing of those ...

Evidence in Mice That Childhood Asthma Is Influenced by the Neurotransmitter Dopamine

Neurons that produce the neurotransmitter dopamine communicate with T cells to enhance allergic inflammation in the lungs of young mice but not older mice, researchers report. The findings ...

Allergy Shots May Be an Effective Treatment for Pediatric Pollen Food Allergy Syndrome

A new study shows allergy shots (subcutaneous immunotherapy) can be effective in reducing PFAS symptoms for pediatric ...

Researchers Estimate 17% of Food-Allergic Children Have Sesame Allergy

Investigators have found that sesame allergy is common among children with other food allergies, occurring in an estimated 17% of this population. In addition, the scientists have found that sesame ...

Think You're Allergic to Penicillin? You Are Probably Wrong, Study Suggests

More than 30 million people in the United States wrongly believe they are allergic to ...

New Treatment May Reverse Celiac Disease

A phase 2 clinical trial using a new technology show it is possible to induce immune tolerance to gluten in individuals with celiac disease. After treatment with the technology, the patients were ...

Heavier Birth Weight Linked to Childhood Allergies

New research shows that the more a baby weighs at birth relative to its gestational age the higher the risk they will suffer from childhood food allergy or eczema, although not hay ...

Common Denominator That Triggers Asthma in Favorable Environments

Some so-called pro-allergic environments strongly promote the development of asthma and are responsible for the dramatic increase in the prevalence of asthma, especially in industrialized countries. ...

New Yardstick Offers Diagnostic and Treatment Guidance for Idiopathic Anaphylaxis

The new 'Idiopathic Anaphylaxis Yardstick' will help physicians who might be searching for guidance on next steps after their patient has an anaphylactic reaction of an unknown ...

Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Friday, January 3, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Sunday, February 24, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Sunday, September 16, 2018
Saturday, September 15, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018