advertisement
Accident and Trauma News
August 7, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Concussions Associated With Cognitive, Behavioral, and Emotional Consequences for Students

Concussions can have a compounding effect on children, leading to long-term cognitive, behavioral, and emotional health consequences, according to ...

WWI Helmets Protect Against Shock Waves Just as Well as Modern Designs

Biomedical engineers have demonstrated that, despite significant advancements in protection from ballistics and blunt impacts, modern military helmets are no better at protecting from shock waves ...

Blood-Brain Barrier Damage Occurs Even With Mild Head Trauma

In a new study of adolescent and adult athletes, researchers have found evidence of damage to the brain's protective barrier, without a reported ...

Repetitive Impacts Key to Understanding Sports-Associated Concussions

Scientists have made a significant advance in our understanding of mild head trauma (concussive brain injury) and how it may be managed and treated in the future. It seems that repetitive impacts -- ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:30am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Traditional PTSD Therapy Doesn't Trigger Drug Relapse

Researchers have now demonstrated that behavior therapy that exposes people to memories of their trauma doesn't cause relapses of opioid or other drug use, and that PTSD severity and emotional ...

Domestic Violence Increased in the Great Recession

Researchers found that physical abuse in adults increased substantially, with Black and Native American people being disproportionately ...

Surge in Domestic Child Abuse During Pandemic, Reports Specialist UK Children's Hospital

There has been a surge in domestic child abuse during the coronavirus pandemic, suggests the experience of one specialist UK children's ...

EMS Calls Have Dropped 26 Percent Nationwide in U.S. Since the Start of the Pandemic

Since early March and the start of the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States, 911 calls for emergency medical services have dropped by 26.1 percent compared to the past two ...

Research Delves Into Causes of Nightmares That Shadow Female Survivors of Sexual Trauma

A new study attempts to shed light on triggers of post-trauma nightmare occurrences -- a topic that has received scant ...

'Cell Pores' Discovery Gives Hope to Millions of Brain and Spinal Cord Injury Patients

Scientists have discovered a new treatment to dramatically reduce swelling after brain and spinal cord injuries, offering hope to 75 million victims worldwide each ...

First in-Human Study of Drug Targeting Brain Inflammation Supports Further Development

MW189 blocks abnormal inflammation in the brain that is known to contribute to injury- and disease-induced neurologic impairments in a number of acute and chronic brain disorders. This study examined ...

Children of Parents With Mental Illness Have Higher Risk of Injuries

Children to parents suffering from mental illness have a higher risk of injuries than other children, according to a new study. The risk is elevated up to 17 years of age and peaks during the first ...

Chilling Concussed Cells Shows Promise for Full Recovery

In the future, treating a concussion could be as simple as cooling the brain. New findings support the treatment approach at the cellular ...

COVID-19: Stopgap Measure to Treat Respiratory Distress

Researchers propose a stopgap measure to help Covid-19 patients in acute respiratory distress: a drug called tissue plasminogen activator, which dissolves blood ...

Sobering New Data on Drinking and Driving: 15% of US Alcohol-Related Motor Vehicle Fatalities Involve Alcohol Under the Legal Limit

A new study found that motor vehicle crashes involving drivers with blood alcohol concentrations (BACs) below the legal limit of 0.08 percent accounted for 15% of alcohol-involved crash deaths in the ...

How Associative Fear Memory Is Formed in the Brain

Using a mouse model, researchers demonstrated the formation of fear memory involves the strengthening of neural pathways between two brain areas: the hippocampus, which responds to a particular ...

New Sleep Method Strengthens Brain's Ability to Retain Memories

A new study has yielded an innovative method for bolstering memory processes in the brain during ...

Can Light Therapy Help Improve Mood in People With Concussion?

People with mild traumatic brain injury who are exposed to early morning blue light therapy may experience a decrease in depression and other concussion symptoms, according to a preliminary ...

Even Damaged Livers Can Handle Life-Saving Medication

Doctors used to make patients with drug-induced liver injury stop taking all their medications until the liver healed, but this could be dangerous. Now, researchers report in two recent papers that ...

Early Intervention Following Traumatic Brain Injury Reduces Epilepsy Risk

A research team has found that brains treated with certain drugs within a few days of an injury have a dramatically reduced risk of developing epilepsy later in life. The development of epilepsy is a ...

'Resetting' Immune Cells Improves Traumatic Brain Injury Recovery in Preclinical Trials

Targeting overactive immune cells and dampening their chronic neurotoxic effects may offer new therapeutic strategies for traumatic brain injury (TBI), according to new preclinical research in ...

Boys With Inattention-Hyperactivity Face Increased Risk for Traumatic Brain Injuries

Researchers show that boys exhibiting inattention-hyperactivity at age 10 have a higher risk for traumatic brain injuries (TBIs) in adolescence and adulthood. Treatments to reduce these behaviors may ...

Children's Fingertip Injuries Could Signal Abuse

Many children who suffer fingertip injuries have been abused, according to a new study. The researchers found that children who had a documented history of abuse or neglect were 23 percent more ...

Unhealthy and Unhappy: Mental Toll of Troubled Relationships

Some forms of domestic violence double victims' risk of depression and anxiety disorders later in life, according to recent ...

Monday, July 20, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019