advertisement
Paleontology News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

15-Foot-Long Skeleton of Extinct Dolphin Suggests Parallel Evolution Among Whales

A report offers a detailed description of the first nearly complete skeleton of an extinct large dolphin, discovered in what is now South Carolina. ...

Fossil Jawbone from Alaska Is a Rare Case of a Juvenile Arctic Dromaeosaurid Dinosaur

A small piece of fossil jawbone from Alaska represents a rare example of juvenile dromaeosaurid dinosaur remains from the Arctic, according to a new ...

Famous 'Jurassic Park' Dinosaur Is Less Lizard, More Bird

From movies to museum exhibits, the dinosaur Dilophosaurus is no stranger to pop culture. Many probably remember it best from the movie 'Jurassic Park,' where it's depicted as a venom-spitting beast ...
Dinosaurs and pterosaurs may be known for their remarkable size, but a newly described species that lived around 237 million years ago suggests that they originated from ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:54am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Skull of Two Million Year-Old Giant Dormouse Reconstructed

A researcher has digitally pieced together fossilized fragments from five giant dormouse skulls to reconstruct the first known complete skull of the species, which was roughly the size of a ...

Goodbye 'Extinction,' Hello 'Evanescence'? Validating a New Paradigm

Naturalist and zoologist Georges Cuvier established extinction as a distinct field of science in a series of publications beginning in 1799. He confirmed that fossil species were formerly living ...

Fish Fossils Become Buried Treasure

Rare metals crucial to green industries turn out to have a surprising origin. Ancient global climate change and certain kinds of undersea geology drove fish populations to specific locations. As ...

New research suggests that the first dinosaurs laid soft-shelled eggs -- a finding that contradicts established thought. The study analyzed the eggs of two vastly different non-avian dinosaurs and ...

First Egg from Antarctica Is Big and Might Belong to an Extinct Sea Lizard

An analysis has found that a mysterious fossil discovered in 2011 is a giant, soft-shell egg from about 66 million years ago. Measuring in at more than 11 by 7 inches, the egg is the largest ...

Tracking Australia's Gigantic Carnivorous Dinosaurs

North America had the T. rex, South America had the Giganotosaurus and Africa the Spinosaurus - now evidence shows Australia had gigantic predatory ...

Coal-Burning in Siberia After Volcanic Eruption Led to Climate Change 250 Million Years Ago

A team of researchers has provided the first ever direct evidence that extensive coal burning in Siberia is a cause of the Permo-Triassic Extinction, the Earth's most severe extinction ...

Seafood Helped Prehistoric People Migrate out of Africa

A study has examined fossil reefs near to the now-submerged Red Sea shorelines that marked prehistoric migratory routes from Africa to Arabia. The findings suggest this coast offered the resources ...

Why Most of the Records Left by Ancient Rivers Preserve Commonplace Processes

Researcher uncovers why most of the records left by ancient rivers preserve commonplace ...

Australian Fossil Reveals New Plant Species

Fresh examination of an Australian fossil -- believed to be among the earliest plants on Earth -- has revealed evidence of a new plant species that existed in Australia more than 359 Million years ...

Clues to a Dramatic Chapter of Earth's Geological History

How could the planet be covered entirely in ice -- a state known as 'Snowball Earth'-- and still give rise to multicellular life? The transition to such icy periods may not have been as ...

New Fossil Discovery Shows 50 Million-Year-Old Canada-Australia Connection

The discovery of a tiny insect fossil in Western Canada is unearthing big questions about the global movement of animals across deep time. The fossil, estimated to be 50 million years old, is the ...

Immune Properties in Ancient DNA Found in Isolated Villages Might Benefit Humanity Today

Could remnants of DNA from a now extinct human subspecies known as the Denisovans help boost the immune functions of modern humans? An international study represents the first characterizations of ...

Remixed Mantle Suggests Early Start of Plate Tectonics

New research on the remixing of Earth's stratified deep interior suggests that global plate tectonic processes, which played a pivotal role in the existence of life on Earth, started to operate ...

Ancient Crocodiles Walked on Two Legs Like Dinosaurs

An international research team has been stunned to discover that some species of ancient crocodiles walked on their two hind legs like dinosaurs and measured over three metres in length. University ...

Ancient Bird Figurine Recovered from Refuse Heap the Oldest Instance of East Asian 3D Art

A small bird carving - -the oldest instance of East Asian three-dimensional art ever discovered -- is described in a new ...

Extinct Camelids Reveal Insights About North America's Ancient Savannas

A new study looking at extinct camelids -- ancestors of today's camels and llamas -- tells the story of North America's ancient savannas and highlights how past climatic and environmental ...

Australia's Ancient Geology Controls the Pathways of Modern Earthquakes

New research near Uluru in Australia's arid center shows that rock structures formed deep within the ancient Gondwana supercontinent controlled the rupture pathways of one of Australia's ...

Researchers report two newly identified super-eruptions associated with the Yellowstone hotspot track, including what they believe was the volcanic province's largest and most cataclysmic event. ...

Scientists Discover What an Armored Dinosaur Ate for Its Last Meal

More than 110 million years ago, a lumbering 1,300-kilogram, armor-plated dinosaur ate its last meal, died, and was washed out to sea in what is now northern Alberta. This ancient beast then sank ...

Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020