advertisement
Human Evolution News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Newly Discovered Fossil Shows Small-Scale Evolutionary Changes in an Extinct Human Species

Males of the extinct human species Paranthropus robustus were thought to be substantially larger than females -- much like the size differences seen ...

Just Like Us Neanderthal Children Grew and Were Weaned Similar to Us

Neanderthals behaved not so differently from us in raising their children, whose pace of growth was similar to Homo sapiens. Thanks to the combination of geochemical and histological analyses of ...

Denisovan DNA in the Genome of Early East Asians

Researchers analyzed the genome of the oldest human fossil found in Mongolia to date and show that the 34,000-year-old woman inherited around 25 percent of her DNA from western Eurasians, ...

Study of Ancient Dog DNA Traces Canine Diversity to the Ice Age

A global study of ancient dog DNA presents evidence that there were different types of dogs more than 11,000 years ago in the period immediately following the Ice ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:08pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Ancient Human Footprints in Saudi Arabia Give Glimpse of Arabian Ecology 120000 Years Ago

Using high resolution paleoecological information obtained from fossilized footprints, a new study presents ~120 thousand-year-old human and animal footprints from an ancient lake bed in northern ...

New Fossil Ape Discovered in India

A 13-million-year-old fossil unearthed in northern India comes from a newly discovered ape, the earliest known ancestor of the modern-day gibbon. The discovery fills a major void in the ape fossil ...

The Oldest Neanderthal DNA of Central-Eastern Europe

A new study reports the oldest mitochondrial genome of a Neanderthal from Central-Eastern Europe. The mitochondrial genome of the tooth, discovered at the site of Stajnia Cave in Poland, is closer to ...

New Neural Network Differentiates Middle and Late Stone Age Toolkits

The change from Middle Stone Age (MSA) to Later Stone Age (LSA) marks a major cultural change amongst our hunter-gatherer ancestors, but distinguishing between these two industrial complexes is not ...

Termite-Fishing Chimpanzees Provide Clues to the Evolution of Technology

Unlike chimpanzees in East and West Africa, who use a single tool to extract termites, chimpanzees in Central Africa's Congo Basin use tool sets -- puncturing sticks or perforating twigs plus ...

DNA from an Ancient, Unidentified Ancestor Was Passed Down to Humans Living Today

A new analysis of ancient genomes suggests that different branches of the human family tree interbred multiple times, and that some humans carry DNA from an archaic, unknown ...

Neanderthals May Have Had a Lower Threshold for Pain

Nerve cells have a special ion channel that has a key role in starting the electrical impulse that signals pain and is sent to the brain. New research finds that people who inherited the Neanderthal ...

Foxes Have Been Eating Humans' Leftovers for 42,000 Years

The diets of ancient foxes were influenced by humans, and these small carnivores might be tracers of human activity over ...

Neanderthals of Western Mediterranean Did Not Become Extinct Because of Changes in Climate, Study Shows

According to paleoclimatic reconstructions analyzing stalagmites sampled in some caves in the Murge plateau (Apulia, Italy), Neanderthals might have become extinct because Homo sapiens employed more ...

Studying the Neanderthal DNA Found in Modern Humans Using Stem Cells and Organoids

Protocols that allow the transformation of human induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC) lines into organoids have changed the way scientists can study developmental processes and enable them to ...

A Neanderthal Woman from Chagyrskaya Cave

Until now, the genomes of only two Neanderthals have been sequenced in high quality: one from Vindjia Cave in modern-day Croatia and one from Denisova Cave in Siberia's Altai Mountains. A ...

Discovery of Oldest Bow and Arrow Technology in Eurasia

The origins of human innovation have traditionally been sought in the grasslands and coasts of Africa or the temperate environments of Europe. More extreme environments, such as the tropical ...

Denisovan DNA Influences Immune System of Modern Day Oceanian Populations

More than 120,000 novel human genetic variations that affect large regions of DNA have been discovered, some of which are linked to immune response, disease susceptibility or ...

Initial Upper Paleolithic Technology Reached North China by ~41,000 Years Ago

A wave of new technology in the Late Paleolithic had reached North China by around 41,000 years ...

Genomic Analysis in Samples of Neanderthals and Modern Humans Shows a Decrease in ADHD-Associated Genetic Variants

The frequency of genetic variants associated with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) has decreased progressively in the evolutionary human lineage from the Paleolithic to the present ...

Chimpanzees Help Trace the Evolution of Human Speech Back to Ancient Ancestors

One of the most promising theories for the evolution of human speech has finally received support from chimpanzee ...

Supercomputer Model Simulations Reveal Cause of Neanderthal Extinction

Climate scientists discover that according to new supercomputer model simulations, only competition between Neanderthals and Homo sapiens can explain the rapid demise of Neanderthals around 43 to 38 ...

Dual Hand Use in Early Human Relative

Research by anthropologists has identified hand use behavior in fossil human relatives that is consistent with modern humans. The human lineage can be defined by a transition in hand use. Early human ...

Tracing the Evolution of Self-Control

Advances in the craftsmanship of stone hand axes around 500,000 years ago suggest individuals at this time possessed characteristics which demonstrate significant self-control, such as concentration ...

Our Species Created Earliest Modern Artifacts in Europe

Blade-like tools and animal tooth pendants previously discovered in Europe, and once thought to possibly be the work of Neanderthals, are in fact the creation of Homo sapiens, or modern humans, who ...

Friday, September 18, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019