advertisement
Evolution News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

15-Foot-Long Skeleton of Extinct Dolphin Suggests Parallel Evolution Among Whales

A report offers a detailed description of the first nearly complete skeleton of an extinct large dolphin, discovered in what is now South Carolina. ...

Evolution Makes the World Less Ragged

How does evolution impact ecological patterns? It helps smooth out the rough edges, say researchers. A new review of the history of ecological and evolutionary research establishes a framework to ...

Supergenes Play a Larger Role in Evolution Than Previously Thought

Large blocks of 'plug and play' genes play a super-sized role in adaption-and may help fill lingering gaps in Darwin's ...

First Evidence of Snake-Like Venom Glands Found in Amphibians

Caecilians are limbless amphibians that can be easily mistaken for snakes. Though caecilians are only distantly related to their reptilian cousins, researchers describe specialized glands found along ...
Latest Headlines
updated 7:24pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

A Changing Mating Signal May Initiate Speciation in Populations of Drosophila Mojavensis

When choosing a mate, females of different subspecies of Drosophila mojavensis recognize the right mating partners either mainly by their song or by their smell. New species apparently evolve when ...

New research suggests that the first dinosaurs laid soft-shelled eggs -- a finding that contradicts established thought. The study analyzed the eggs of two vastly different non-avian dinosaurs and ...

A Neanderthal Woman from Chagyrskaya Cave

Until now, the genomes of only two Neanderthals have been sequenced in high quality: one from Vindjia Cave in modern-day Croatia and one from Denisova Cave in Siberia's Altai Mountains. A ...

How Fish Got Onto Land, and Stayed There

Research on blennies, a family of fish that have repeatedly left the sea for land, suggests that being a 'jack of all trades' allows species to make the dramatic transition onto land but ...

Chemistry Behind Bombardier Beetle's Extraordinary Firepower

Researchers show how how the bombardier beetle concocts its deadly explosives and in the process, learn how evolution gave rise to the beetle's remarkable ...

Immune Properties in Ancient DNA Found in Isolated Villages Might Benefit Humanity Today

Could remnants of DNA from a now extinct human subspecies known as the Denisovans help boost the immune functions of modern humans? An international study represents the first characterizations of ...

Denisovan DNA Influences Immune System of Modern Day Oceanian Populations

More than 120,000 novel human genetic variations that affect large regions of DNA have been discovered, some of which are linked to immune response, disease susceptibility or ...

Function of Genetic Pathway for Reproductive Fitness in Flowering Plants

A research collaboration has demonstrated the function of a genetic pathway for anther development, with this pathway proven in 2019 work to be present widely in the flowering plants that evolved ...

Population Ecology: Origins of Genetic Variability in Seals

A new study shows that fluctuations in population sizes in the past have had a significant effect on contemporary seal populations, and estimates the risk of genetic impoverishment in the species ...

Ancient Origin for Key Hormone System: Sea Cucumbers

A key set of proteins that help regulate hormones necessary for many essential functions in humans and other vertebrates have ancient origins in much simpler creatures such as sea cucumbers, says a ...

Evidence from rocks billions of years old suggest that volcanoes played a key role in the rise of oxygen in the atmosphere of the early ...

Sea Snakes Have Been Adapting to See Underwater for 15 Million Years

A study has for the first time provided evidence of where, when and how frequently species have adapted their ability to see in ...

World's Oldest Bug Is Fossil Millipede from Scotland

A 425-million-year-old millipede fossil from the Scottish island of Kerrera is the world's oldest 'bug' -- older than any known fossil of an insect, arachnid or other related ...

Genomic Analysis in Samples of Neanderthals and Modern Humans Shows a Decrease in ADHD-Associated Genetic Variants

The frequency of genetic variants associated with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) has decreased progressively in the evolutionary human lineage from the Paleolithic to the present ...

Chimpanzees Help Trace the Evolution of Human Speech Back to Ancient Ancestors

One of the most promising theories for the evolution of human speech has finally received support from chimpanzee ...

Modern Problems, Primitive Solutions: A Glimpse Into Archaic Protein Synthesis Systems

The interaction between 'transfer RNAs' and the enzymes that help them in protein synthesis has always been the key area of interest for understanding the evolution of the genetic code. ...

One in three women in Europe inherited the receptor for progesterone from Neanderthals -- a gene variant associated with increased fertility, fewer bleedings during early pregnancy and fewer ...

Past Is Prologue: Genetic 'Memory' of Ancestral Environments Helps Organisms Readapt

Organisms carry long-term 'memories' of their ancestral homelands that help them adapt to environmental change, according to a new study that involved raising chickens on the Tibetan ...

Ribs Evolved for Movement First, Then Co-Opted for Breathing

A major transformation in vertebrate evolution took place when breathing shifted from being driven by head and throat muscles -- like in fish and frogs -- to the torso -- like in reptiles and ...

Dual Hand Use in Early Human Relative

Research by anthropologists has identified hand use behavior in fossil human relatives that is consistent with modern humans. The human lineage can be defined by a transition in hand use. Early human ...

Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019