advertisement
Early Mammals News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Thousands of Species Recorded in a Speck of Soil

Researchers have developed a new technique to tease ancient DNA from soil, pulling the genomes of hundreds of animals and thousands of plants -- many of them long extinct -- from less than a gram of ...

Humans, Not Climate, Have Driven Rapidly Rising Mammal Extinction Rate

Human impact can explain ninety-six percent of all mammal species extinctions of the last hundred thousand years, according to a new ...

Fossil Evidence of 'Hibernation-Like' State in 250-Million-Year-Old Antarctic Animal

Scientists report evidence of a hibernation-like state in Lystrosaurus, an animal that lived in Antarctica during the Early Triassic, some 250 ...

Dinosaurs' Unique Bone Structure Key to Carrying Weight

A unique collaboration between paleontologists, mechanical engineers and biomedical engineers revealed that the trabecular bone structure of hadrosaurs and several other dinosaurs is uniquely capable ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Tooth Be Told: Earless Seals Existed in Ancient Australia

A fossilised seal tooth, dating back approximately three million years, found on a Victorian beach proves earless seals existed in Australia in prehistoric times. Known as monachines, the seals ...

Water Pressure: Ancient Aquatic Crocs Evolved, Enlarged to Avoid Freezing

Ancient crocodilian ancestors that abandoned land for water nearly 200 million years ago supposedly got larger because they were released from the constraints of gravity, territory and diet. But a ...

Small Horses Got Smaller, Big Tapirs Got Bigger 47 Million Years Ago

The former coalfield of Geiseltal in Saxony-Anhalt has yielded large numbers of exceptionally preserved fossil animals, giving palaeontologists a unique window into the evolution of mammals 47 ...

Unprecedented Preservation of Fossil Feces from the La Brea Tar Pits

Scientists have found the first coprolites -- or fossil feces -- ever discovered in an asphaltic -- or tar pit -- ...

Late Cretaceous Dinosaur-Dominated Ecosystem

A topic of considerable interest to paleontologists is how dinosaur-dominated ecosystems were structured, how dinosaurs and co-occurring animals were distributed across the landscape, how they ...

One of Darwin's Evolution Theories Finally Proved

Scientists have proved one of Charles Darwin's theories of evolution for the first time -- nearly 140 years after his death. Researchers discovered mammal subspecies play a more important role ...

Mysterious Bone Circles Made from the Remains of Mammoths Reveal Clues About Ice Age

Mysterious bone circles made from the remains of dozens of mammoths have revealed clues about how ancient communities survived Europe's ice ...

Apes' Inner Ears Could Hide Clues to Evolutionary History of Hominoids

Studying the inner ear of apes and humans could uncover new information on our species' evolutionary relationships, suggests a new ...

Frozen Bird Turns out to Be 46,000-Year-Old Horned Lark

Scientists have recovered DNA from a well-preserved horned lark found in Siberian permafrost. The results can contribute to explaining the evolution of sub species, as well as how the mammoth steppe ...

Dog Domestication During Ice Age

Analysis of Paleolithic-era teeth from a 28,500-year-old fossil site in the Czech Republic provides supporting evidence for two groups of canids -- one dog-like and the other wolf-like - with ...

Reconstructing the Diet of Fossil Vertebrates

Paleodietary studies of the fossil record are impeded by a lack of reliable and unequivocal tracers. Scientists have now tested a new method, the isotope analysis of zinc isotopes from the tooth ...

How and When Spines Changed in Mammalian Evolution

Researchers compared modern and ancient animals to explore how mammalian vertebrae have evolved into sophisticated physical structures that can carry out multiple functions. The comparison between ...

The 'Firewalkers' of Karoo: Dinosaurs and Other Animals Left Tracks in a 'Land of Fire'

In southern Africa, dinosaurs and synapsids, a group of animals that includes mammals and their closest fossil relatives, survived in a 'land of fire' at the start of an Early Jurassic mass ...

A 'Pivotal' Moment for Understanding Whale Evolution

We could be getting closer to understanding how feeding behaviors in whales and dolphins have evolved over ...

Fossils of the Future to Mostly Consist of Humans, Domestic Animals

A paleontologist argues that the fossil record of mammals will provide a clear signal of the Anthropocene ...

Ancient Events Are Still Impacting Mammals Worldwide

In the first study of its kind, researchers have discovered that events from 20,000 years ago or more are still impacting the diversity and distribution of mammal species ...

A New Early Whale, Aegicetus Gehennae, and the Evolution of Modern Whale Locomotion

A newly discovered fossil whale represents a new species and an important step in the evolution of whale ...

Untangling the Branches in the Mammal Tree of Life

Researchers have unveiled a complete overhaul of the way species data is brought together and analyzed to construct an evolutionary tree of life for mammals. It's aimed at giving scientists, ...

Not So Selfish After All -- Key Role of Transposable Elements in Mammalian Evolution

A scientist has revealed a key role for 'selfish' transposable elements in the evolution of the mammary gland, a defining feature of all ...

Extinct Giant Ape Directly Linked to the Living Orangutan

Researchers have succeeded in reconstructing the evolutionary relationship between a two million year old giant primate and the living orangutan. It is the first time genetic material this old has ...

Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018