advertisement
Early Humans News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Sled dogs are much older and have adapted to Arctic conditions much earlier than previously thought. Researchers show that ancestors of modern sled dogs have worked and lived ...

Studying the Neanderthal DNA Found in Modern Humans Using Stem Cells and Organoids

Protocols that allow the transformation of human induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC) lines into organoids have changed the way scientists can study ...

Ancient Genomes Uncover Irish Passage Tomb Dynastic Elite

Archaeologists and geneticists have shed new light on the earliest periods of Ireland's human history. Among their incredible findings is the discovery that the genome of an adult male buried in the ...

A Neanderthal Woman from Chagyrskaya Cave

Until now, the genomes of only two Neanderthals have been sequenced in high quality: one from Vindjia Cave in modern-day Croatia and one from Denisova Cave in Siberia's Altai Mountains. A research ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:25am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Genomic Analysis in Samples of Neanderthals and Modern Humans Shows a Decrease in ADHD-Associated Genetic Variants

The frequency of genetic variants associated with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) has decreased progressively in the evolutionary human lineage from the Paleolithic to the present ...

Chimpanzees Help Trace the Evolution of Human Speech Back to Ancient Ancestors

One of the most promising theories for the evolution of human speech has finally received support from chimpanzee ...

One in three women in Europe inherited the receptor for progesterone from Neanderthals -- a gene variant associated with increased fertility, fewer bleedings during early pregnancy and fewer ...

Supercomputer Model Simulations Reveal Cause of Neanderthal Extinction

Climate scientists discover that according to new supercomputer model simulations, only competition between Neanderthals and Homo sapiens can explain the rapid demise of Neanderthals around 43 to 38 ...

Tracing the Evolution of Self-Control

Advances in the craftsmanship of stone hand axes around 500,000 years ago suggest individuals at this time possessed characteristics which demonstrate significant self-control, such as concentration ...

Our Species Created Earliest Modern Artifacts in Europe

Blade-like tools and animal tooth pendants previously discovered in Europe, and once thought to possibly be the work of Neanderthals, are in fact the creation of Homo sapiens, or modern humans, who ...

Evidence of Late Pleistocene Human Colonization of Isolated Islands Beyond Wallace's Line

What makes our species unique compared to other hominins? High profile genetic, fossil and material culture discoveries present scientists working in the Late Pleistocene with an ever-more complex ...

Icelandic DNA Jigsaw-Puzzle Brings New Knowledge About Neanderthals

An international team of researchers has put together a new image of Neanderthals based on the genes Neanderthals left in the DNA of modern humans when they had children with them about 50,000 years ...

Origins of Human Language Pathway in the Brain at Least 25 Million Years Old

The human language pathway in the brain has been identified by scientists as being at least 25 million years old -- 20 million years older than previously ...

Promiscuity in the Paleozoic: Researchers Uncover Clues About Vertebrate Evolution

By looking at the DNA of living animals, researchers have revealed early events in vertebrate evolution, including how jawed vertebrates arose from the mating of two different species of primitive ...

The Origin of Feces: coproID Reliably Predicts Sources of Ancient Scat

The archaeological record is littered with feces, a potential goldmine for insights into ancient health and diet, parasite evolution, and the ecology and evolution of the microbiome. The main problem ...

40,000 Year Old Evidence That Neanderthals Wove String

Researchers have discovered the first evidence of cord making by Neanderthals, dating back more than 40,000 years, on a flint fragment from the prehistoric site of Abri du Maras in the south of ...

When Three Species of Human Ancestor Walked the Earth

Scientists share details of the most ancient fossil of Homo erectus known and discuss how these new findings are forcing us to rewrite a part of our species' evolutionary ...

Lucy Had an Ape-Like Brain

A new study led by paleoanthropologists reveals that Lucy's species Australopithecus afarensis had an ape-like brain. However, the protracted brain growth suggests that -- as is the case in ...

Homo Naledi Juvenile Remains Offers Clues to How Our Ancestors Grew Up

A partial skeleton of Homo naledi represents a rare case of an immature individual, shedding light on the evolution of growth and development in human ancestry, according to a ...

Modern Humans, Neanderthals Share a Tangled Genetic History, Study Affirms

A new study reinforces the concept that Neanderthal DNA has been woven into the modern human genome on multiple occasions as our ancestors met Neanderthals time and again in different parts of the ...

Oldest Ever Human Genetic Evidence Clarifies Dispute Over Our Ancestors

Genetic information from an 800,000-year-old human fossil has been retrieved for the first time. The results shed light on one of the branching points in the human family tree, reaching much further ...

Regular Climbing Behavior in a Human Ancestor

A new study has found evidence that human ancestors as recent as two million years ago may have regularly climbed ...

Sturgeon Genome Sequenced

Sturgeons lived on earth already 300 million years ago and yet their external appearance seems to have undergone very little change. A team of researchers has now succeeded in sequencing their ...

Neanderthals Ate Mussels, Fish, and Seals Too

Over 80,000 years ago, Neanderthals fed themselves on mussels, fish and other marine life. The first evidence has been found by an international team in the cave of Figueira Brava in Portugal. The ...

Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019