advertisement
Early Climate News
September 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Island-Building in Southeast Asia Created Earth's Northern Ice Sheets

Tectonic processes are thought to have triggered past ice ages, but how? A new analysis of mountain building in the maritime tropics of Southeast Asia attributes the last ice age, which reached a ...

Stability Check on Antarctica Reveals High Risk for Long-Term Sea-Level Rise

The warmer it gets, the faster Antarctica loses ice - and much of it will then be gone forever. That's what a team of researchers has found out in ...

Sea Ice Triggered the Little Ice Age

A new study finds a trigger for the Little Ice Age that cooled Europe from the 1300s through mid-1800s, and supports surprising model results suggesting that under the right conditions sudden climate ...

Volcanic Ash May Have a Bigger Impact on the Climate Than We Thought

Volcanic ash shuts down air traffic and can sicken people. But a new study suggests that it may also be more important for Earth's climate than scientists once ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:08am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Fossil Trees on Peru's Central Andean Plateau Tell a Tale of Dramatic Environmental Change

The anatomy of plant fossils including an enormous tree that grew 10 million years ago in the now arid, high-elevation Central Andean Plateau calls current paleoclimate models into question, ...

Civilization May Need to 'Forget the Flame' to Reduce CO2 Emissions

Current world energy consumption is tied to unchangeable past economic production. And the way out of an ever-increasing rate of carbon emissions may not necessarily be ever-increasing energy ...

How Cold Was the Ice Age? Researchers Now Know

Scientists have nailed down the temperature of the last ice age -- the Last Glacial Maximum of 20,000 years ago - to about 46 degrees ...

Fossil Pollen Record Suggests Vulnerability to Mass Extinction Ahead

Reduced resilience of plant biomes in North America could be setting the stage for the kind of mass extinctions not seen since the retreat of glaciers and arrival of humans about 13,000 years ago, ...

The Age of Earth's Inner Core Revised

By creating conditions akin to the center of Earth inside a laboratory chamber, researchers have improved the estimate of the age of our planet's solid inner core, putting it at 1 billion to 1.3 ...

End of Green Sahara Linked to SE Asia Megadrought

In a new study links the end of the Green Sahara with a previously unknown megadrought which caused mass population shifts in Southeast Asia during the mid-Holocene ...

Anthropogenic CO2 Increase Is Unprecedented

Even in earlier warm periods there were pulse-like releases of CO2 to the atmosphere. Today's anthropogenic CO2 rise, however, is more than six times larger and almost ten times faster than ...

Past Rapid Warming Levels in the Arctic Associated With Widespread Climate Changes

Using Greenland ice cores, new research is the first to confirm the longstanding assumption that climate changes between the tropics and the Arctic were synchronized during the last glacial ...

Fossil Leaves Show High Atmospheric Carbon Spurred Ancient 'Global Greening'

Scientists studying leaves from a 23-million-year-old forest have for the first time linked high levels of atmospheric carbon dioxide with increased plant growth, and the hot climate off the ...

Reconstructing Global Climate Through Earth's History

Accurate temperature estimates of ancient oceans are vital because they are the best tool for reconstructing global climate conditions in the past. While climate models provide scenarios of what the ...

Although overhunting led to the demise of some prehistoric megafauna after the last ice age, a new study found that the extinction of the woolly rhinoceros may have been caused by climate change. By ...

Researchers Unlock Secrets of the Past With New International Carbon Dating Standard

Radiocarbon dating is set to become more accurate than ever after an international team of scientists improved the technique for assessing the age of historical ...

Landmarks Facing Climate Threats Could 'Transform'

Researchers asked whether heritage sites threatened by climate change should be allowed to adapt and ...

Predicting Drought in the American West Just Got More Difficult

A new study of more than 1,000 years of North American droughts and global conditions found that forecasting a lack of precipitation is rarely ...

Florida Current Is Weaker Now Than at Any Point in the Past Century

A key component of the Gulf Stream has markedly slowed over the past century -- that's the conclusion of a new research ...

New Zealand's Southern Alps Glacier Melt Has Doubled

Glaciers in the Southern Alps of New Zealand have lost more ice mass since pre-industrial times than remains today, according to a new study. The study mapped Southern Alps ice loss from the end of ...

Blanket of Rock Debris Offers Glaciers More Protection from Climate Change Than Previously Known

A new study which provides a global estimate of rock cover on the Earth's glaciers has revealed that the expanse of rock debris on glaciers, a factor that has been ignored in models of glacier ...

Ancient sediment found in a central Texas cave appears to solve the mystery of why the Earth cooled suddenly about 13,000 years ...

Analyzing Marine Ecosystems from 6,000 to 5,000 Years Ago to Anticipate Changes Caused by Global Warming

New research analyzes the potential implications in the distribution of the Argentinian hake caused by the warming of marine waters. The study is based on the analysis of the structure of the marine ...

Study: A Plunge in Incoming Sunlight May Have Triggered 'Snowball Earths'

Global ice ages may have been triggered by sharp declines in incoming sunlight, research ...

Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Sunday, March 15, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019