advertisement
Anthropology News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Chromium Steel Was First Made in Ancient Persia

Chromium steel - similar to what we know today as tool steel - was first made in Persia, nearly a millennium earlier than experts previously thought, according to a new ...

When Painting Reveals Increases in Social Trust

Scientists revealed an increase in facial displays of trustworthiness in European painting between the fourteenth and twenty-first centuries. The findings were obtained by applying face-processing ...

Primate Brain Size Does Not Predict Their Intelligence

A research team has systematically investigated the cognitive abilities of lemurs, which have relatively small brains compared to other primates. Conducting systematic tests with identical methods ...

Y Chromosomes of Neanderthals and Denisovans Now Sequenced

An international research team led by Martin Petr and Janet Kelso of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany, has determined Y chromosome sequences of three ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:37pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

The Testimony of Trees: How Volcanic Eruptions Shaped 2000 Years of World History

Researchers have shown that over the past two thousand years, volcanoes have played a larger role in natural temperature variability than previously thought, and their climatic effects may have ...

An Evolutionary Roll of the Dice Explains Why We're Not Perfect

Scientists have found that chance events can be more important than natural selection in defining the genome of species like humans and other ...

New Fossil Ape Discovered in India

A 13-million-year-old fossil unearthed in northern India comes from a newly discovered ape, the earliest known ancestor of the modern-day gibbon. The discovery fills a major void in the ape fossil ...

The Oldest Neanderthal DNA of Central-Eastern Europe

A new study reports the oldest mitochondrial genome of a Neanderthal from Central-Eastern Europe. The mitochondrial genome of the tooth, discovered at the site of Stajnia Cave in Poland, is closer to ...

Ancient Bony Fish Forces Rethink of How Sharks Evolved

Sharks' non-bony skeletons were thought to be the template before bony internal skeletons evolved, but a new fossil discovery suggests ...

A 400-Year-Old Chamois Will Serve as a Model for Research on Ice Mummies

Discovered in Val Aurina, South Tyrol (Italy) and now in the laboratory of Eurac Research's mummy experts, the remains will be studied in order to improve the conservation techniques of mummies ...

Study Reveals Lactose Tolerance Happened Quickly in Europe

A new study published in Current Biology reveals that the ability for humans to digest milk (lactase persistence) spread through Central Europe quickly in evolutionary ...

New Mathematical Method Shows How Climate Change Led to Fall of Ancient Civilization

A researcher developed a mathematical method that shows climate change likely caused the rise and fall of an ancient civilization. A new article outlines the technique he developed and shows how ...

Radiocarbon Dating and CT Scans Reveal Bronze Age Tradition of Keeping Human Remains

Using radiocarbon dating and CT scanning to study ancient bones, researchers have uncovered for the first time a Bronze Age tradition of retaining and curating human remains as relics over several ...

Following African Elephant Trails to Approach Conservation Differently

Elephant trails may lead the way to better conservation approaches. 'Think of elephants as engineers of the forests. Elephants shape the landscape in many ways that benefit humans. We're ...

Warmer, Acidifying Ocean Brings Extinction for Reef-Building Corals, Renewal for Relatives

A new study finds that reef-building corals emerged only when ocean conditions supported the construction of these creatures' stony skeletons, whereas diverse softer corals and sea anemones ...

Helminth Infections Common in Medieval Europe, Grave Study Finds

Although helminth infections -- including tapeworms and roundworms -- are among the world's top neglected diseases, they are no longer endemic in Europe. However, researchers report that these ...

Early Cambrian Fossil: Bizarre Half-Billion-Year-Old Worm With Tentacles Solves Evolutionary Mystery

A half-a-billion years old fossil species of marine animal sheds light on how the anatomies of the two main types of an animal group called the hemichordates are related, and provides new evidence in ...

First Complete Dinosaur Skeleton Ever Found Is Ready for Its Closeup at Last

The first complete dinosaur skeleton ever identified has finally been studied in detail and found its place in the dinosaur family tree, completing a project that began more than a century and a half ...

New Neural Network Differentiates Middle and Late Stone Age Toolkits

The change from Middle Stone Age (MSA) to Later Stone Age (LSA) marks a major cultural change amongst our hunter-gatherer ancestors, but distinguishing between these two industrial complexes is not ...

Vast Stone Monuments Constructed in Arabia 7,000 Years Ago

New archaeological research in Saudi Arabia documents hundreds of stone structures interpreted as monumental sites where early pastoralists carried out ...

How Dinosaur Research Can Help Medicine

The intervertebral discs connect the vertebrae and give the spine its mobility. The disc consists of a cartilaginous fibrous ring and a gelatinous core as a buffer. It has always been assumed that ...

Medieval Texts Reveal False Royal Navy Origins

England's proud maritime history credits Alfred the Great as having established the Royal Navy but evidence from a medieval text show this popularly held belief to be ...

Animal Mummies Unwrapped With Hi-Res 3D X-Rays

Three mummified animals from ancient Egypt have been digitally unwrapped and dissected by researchers, using high-resolution 3D scans that give unprecedented detail about the animals' lives -- ...

Termite-Fishing Chimpanzees Provide Clues to the Evolution of Technology

Unlike chimpanzees in East and West Africa, who use a single tool to extract termites, chimpanzees in Central Africa's Congo Basin use tool sets -- puncturing sticks or perforating twigs plus ...

Monday, September 28, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020