advertisement
Ancient Civilizations News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

New Method Solves Old Mystery: Hafnium Isotopes Clinch Origin of High-Quality Roman Glass

Archaeological glass contains information about the movement of goods and ancient economies, yet the understanding of critical aspects of the ancient ...

First Confirmed Underwater Aboriginal Archaeological Sites Found Off Australian Coast

Ancient submerged Aboriginal archaeological sites await underwater rediscovery off the coast of Australia, according to a ...

New Zealand's Ancient Monster Penguins Had Northern Hemisphere Doppelgangers

New Zealand's monster penguins that lived 62 million years ago had doppelgangers in Japan, the USA and Canada, a new study has ...

Non-Tobacco Plant Identified in Ancient Pipe for First Time

People in what is now Washington State were smoking Rhus glabra, a plant commonly known as smooth sumac, more than 1,400 years ago. The discovery marks the first-time scientists have identified ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:24pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Ancient Societies Hold Lessons for Modern Cities

Today's modern cities, from Denver to Dubai, could learn a thing or two from the ancient Pueblo communities that once stretched across the southwestern United States. For starters, the more ...

Ancient Genomes Link Subsistence Change and Human Migration in Northern China

Northern China is among the first centers in the world where agriculture developed, but its genetic history remains largely unknown. Researchers have now analyzed 55 ancient genomes from China, ...

New Research Reveals Cannabis and Frankincense at the Judahite Shrine of Biblical Arad

Analysis of the material on two Iron Age altars discovered at the entrance to the 'holy of holies' of a shrine at Tel Arad in the Beer-sheba Valley, Israel, were found to contain cannabis ...

Who Were the Canaanites? New Insight from 73 Ancient Genomes

The people who lived in the area known as the Southern Levant -- which is now recognized as Israel, the Palestinian Authority, Jordan, Lebanon, and parts of Syria -- during the Bronze Age (circa ...

In Stressed Ecosystems Jurassic Dinosaurs Turned to Scavenging, Maybe Even Cannibalism

Among dinosaurs of ancient Colorado, scavenging and possibly cannibalism were responses to a resource-scarce environment, according to a new ...

Information Technology Played Key Role in Growth of Ancient Civilizations

A new article shows the ability to store and process information was as critical to the growth of early human societies as it is ...

Early African Muslims Had a Halal -- And Cosmopolitan Diet -- Discovery of Thousands of Ancient Animal Bones Shows

Early Muslim communities in Africa ate a cosmopolitan diet as the region became a trading centre for luxury goods, the discovery of thousands of ancient animal bones has ...

Oldest Connection With Native Americans Identified Near Lake Baikal in Siberia

Using human population genetics, ancient pathogen genomics and isotope analysis, a team of researchers assessed the population history of the Lake Baikal region, finding the deepest connection to ...

Cahokia's Rise Parallels Onset of Corn Agriculture

Corn cultivation spread from Mesoamerica to what is now the American Southwest by about 4000 B.C., but how and when the crop made it to other parts of North America is still debated. In a new study, ...

Pofatu: A New Database for Geochemical 'Fingerprints' of Artefacts

Due to the improvement and increased use of geochemical fingerprinting techniques during the last 25 years, the archaeological compositional data of stone tools has grown exponentially. The Pofatu ...

Geometry Guided Construction of Earliest Known Temple, Built 6,000 Years Before Stonehenge

Researchers have now used architectural analysis to discover that geometry informed the layout of Göbekli Tepe's impressive round stone structures and enormous assembly of limestone pillars, ...

Ancient Andes, Analyzed

An international research team has conducted the first in-depth, wide-scale study of the genomic history of ancient civilizations in the central Andes mountains and coast before European contact. The ...

Beer Was Here! A New Microstructural Marker for Malting in the Archaeological Record

A new method for reliably identifying the presence of beer or other malted foodstuffs in archaeological finds is described in a new ...

Deformed Skulls in an Ancient Cemetery Reveal a Multicultural Community in Transition

An ancient cemetery in present-day Hungary holds clues to a unique community formation during the beginnings of Europe's Migration ...

Study Sheds Light on Unique Culinary Traditions of Prehistoric Hunter-Gatherers

A new study suggests the culinary tastes of ancient people were not solely dictated by the foods available in a particular area, but also influenced by the traditions and habits of cultural ...

Neolithic Genomes from Modern-Day Switzerland Indicate Parallel Ancient Societies

Genetic research throughout Europe shows evidence of drastic population changes near the end of the Neolithic period, as shown by the arrival of ancestry related to pastoralists from the ...

The Origin of Feces: coproID Reliably Predicts Sources of Ancient Scat

The archaeological record is littered with feces, a potential goldmine for insights into ancient health and diet, parasite evolution, and the ecology and evolution of the microbiome. The main problem ...

Molecular and Isotopic Evidence of Milk, Meat and Plants in Prehistoric Food Systems

Scientists have provided the first evidence for diet and subsistence practices of ancient East African ...

Revolutionary New Method for Dating Pottery Sheds New Light on Prehistoric Past

A team has developed a new method to date archaeological pottery using fat residues remaining in the pot wall from cooking. The method means prehistoric pottery can be dated with remarkable accuracy, ...

When Three Species of Human Ancestor Walked the Earth

Scientists share details of the most ancient fossil of Homo erectus known and discuss how these new findings are forcing us to rewrite a part of our species' evolutionary ...

Friday, June 19, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Sunday, September 8, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019