advertisement
Education & Learning News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Busy Pictures Hinder Reading Ability in Children

A new study shows extraneous images draw attention from text, reducing comprehension in beginning ...

Meditation for Mind-Control

Scientists have discovered that mindful meditation can help subjects learn and improve the ability to mind-control brain computer interfaces ...

Sport and Memory Go Hand in Hand

If sport is good for the body, it also seems to be good for the brain. By evaluating memory performance following a sport session, neuroscientists demonstrate that an intensive physical exercise ...

Quizzes Improve Academic Performance

Students who are quizzed over class material at least once a week tend to perform better on midterm and final exams compared to students who did not take quizzes, according to a new meta-analysis. ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:08pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Enrolling in Health Education Courses May Help Change Student's Beliefs About Stress

College students are under a lot of stress, even more so lately due to the COVID-19 pandemic. New research finds that college health courses could help students develop a more positive stress ...

Study Identifies Innovative Responses to Pandemic School Meal Program Disruption

A new study estimates that more than 1.15 billion breakfasts and lunches for low-income children were not served in school as a result of school closures between March 9 and May 1. States and school ...

Exercise Improves Learning and Memory in Young Adults

Just a single exercise workout has positive effects on learning and memory in young adults, according to a recent review of published ...

Lecturer Takes Laptops and Smart Phones Away and Musters Student Presence

A Danish university lecturer experiments with banning screens in discussion lessons. A new study looks at the results, which include greater student presence, improved engagement and deeper ...

Operation Outbreak Simulation Teaches Students How Pandemics Spread

A new article highlights Operation Outbreak, an educational platform and simulation intended to teach high school and college students the fundamentals of responses to ...

To the Choir: Forward-Thinking Faculty Sharing Innovations Mostly Among Themselves

Surveys and network analyses of 192 STEM faculty at three universities revealed that frequent users of evidence-based instructional practices are far more likely to engage one another than colleagues ...

Affirmative Action Incentivizes High Schoolers to Perform Better, New Research Shows

Affirmative action is a contentious issue across the globe, hotly debated in countries such as India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Nigeria and Brazil, as well as in the United States. While the direct ...

A How-to Guide for Teaching GIS Courses Online With Hardware or Software in the Cloud

Geographers offer first-hand accounts of what is required for GIS instructors and IT administrators to set up virtual computing specifically for providing state-of-the-art geographic information ...

School Flu Vaccine Program Reduces Community-Wide Influenza Hospitalizations

A city-wide school influenza vaccine intervention was associated with a decrease in influenza-associated hospitalizations for all age groups and a decrease in school absence rates among students in ...

Naming Guides How 12-Month-Old Infants Encode and Remember Objects

Even for infants just beginning to speak their first words, the way an object is named guides infants' encoding, representation and memory for that object, according to new research. Encoding ...

Smartphones Are Lowering Student's Grades on Closed-Book Exams

The ease of finding information on the internet is hurting students' long-term retention and resulting in lower grades on exams, according to a new ...

Women Less Likely to Receive Pay for College Internships

The odds of women receiving pay for a college internship are 34% lower than for men, according to new ...

Academia from Home

As the uncertainty around reopening college and university campuses this fall continues, those who work, study, teach and conduct research are navigating the uncertain terrain of the 'new ...

Young Children Would Rather Explore Than Get Rewards

Young children will pass up rewards they know they can collect to explore other options, a new study suggests. Researchers found that when adults and 4- to 5-year-old children played a game where ...

Engaging Undergrads Remotely With an Escape Room Game

Researchers describe an alternative way to engage students: a virtual game, modeled on an escape room, in which teams solve chemistry problems to progress and ...

Schooling Is Critical for Cognitive Health Throughout Life

New research suggests that education provides little to no protection against the onset of cognitive declines later in life. It can, however, boost the cognitive skills people develop earlier in ...

Non-Invasive Nerve Stimulation Boosts Learning of Foreign Language Sounds

New research by neuroscientists revealed that a simple, earbud-like device that imperceptibly stimulates the brain could significantly improve the wearer's ability to learn the sounds of a new ...

Promises Found to Reduce Cheating in Large Study of Adolescents

New research has found that adolescents who promised to be truthful were less likely to 'cheat' than those who did not, even when they could not be found ...

To Improve Students' Mental Health, Study Finds, Teach Them to Breathe

When college students learn specific techniques for managing stress and anxiety, their well-being improves across a range of measures and leads to better mental health, a new study ...

Helicopter Parents Should Step Back and Watch, Study Recommends

Researchers conducted the world's first data-driven study of parenting classes based on the Respectful Approach intervention. The Respectful Approach, modeled on Resources for Infant Educators ...

Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Saturday, April 4, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020