advertisement
Snow and Avalanches News
October 26, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Recent Atlantic Ocean Warming Unprecedented in Nearly 3,000 Years

Sediments from a lake in the Canadian High Arctic allow climate scientists to extend the record of Atlantic sea-surface temperature from about 100 to 2,900 years. It shows that the warmest interval ...

Ice Melt Projections May Underestimate Antarctic Contribution to Sea Level Rise

Fluctuations in the weather can have a significant impact on melting Antarctic ice, and models that do not include this factor can underestimate the ...

Dust Dampens Albedo Effect, Spurs Snowmelt in the Heights of the Himalayas

Dust blowing onto high mountains in the western Himalayas is a bigger factor than previously thought in hastening the melting of snow there, researchers show. That's because dust - lots of it in the ...

Ice Discharge in the North Pacific Set Off Series of Climate Events During Last Ice Age

Repeated catastrophic ice discharges from western North America into the North Pacific contributed to, and perhaps triggered, hemispheric-scale ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

How Much Will Polar Ice Sheets Add to Sea Level Rise?

Over 99% of terrestrial ice is bound up in the ice sheets covering Antarctic and Greenland. Even partial melting of this ice due to climate change will significantly contribute to sea level rise. But ...

Antarctica: Cracks in the Ice

West Antarctica's Pine Island Glacier and Thwaites Glacier have been undergoing rapid changes, with potentially major consequences for rising sea levels. However, the processes that underlie ...

Arctic Transitioning to a New Climate State

The fast-warming Arctic has started to transition from a predominantly frozen state into an entirely different climate with significantly less sea ice, warmer temperatures, and more rain, according ...

Deep Channels Link Ocean to Antarctic Glacier

Newly discovered deep seabed channels beneath Thwaites Glacier in West Antarctica may be the pathway for warm ocean water to melt the underside of the ice. Data from two research missions, using ...

Sea Level Rise from Ice Sheets Track Worst-Case Climate Change Scenario

Ice sheets in Greenland and Antarctica whose melting rates are rapidly increasing have raised the global sea level by 1.8cm since the 1990s, and are matching the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate ...

Antarctic Ice Shelves Vulnerable to Sudden Meltwater-Driven Fracturing, Says Study

A new study says that many of the ice shelves ringing Antarctica could be vulnerable to quick destruction if rising temperatures drive melt water into the numerous fractures that currently penetrate ...

New Study Warns: We Have Underestimated the Pace at Which the Arctic Is Melting

Arctic sea ice is melting more quickly than once assumed. Today's climate models have yet to incorporate the steep rise in temperatures that have occurred over the past 40 ...

East Antarctic Melting Hotspot Identified

Ice is melting at a surprisingly fast rate underneath Shirase Glacier Tongue in East Antarctica due to the continuing influx of warm seawater into the Lützow-Holm ...

Arctic Ocean Moorings Shed Light on Winter Sea Ice Loss

The eastern Arctic Ocean's winter ice grew less than half as much as normal during the past decade, due to the growing influence of heat from the ocean's interior, researchers have ...

Anthropogenic CO2 Increase Is Unprecedented

Even in earlier warm periods there were pulse-like releases of CO2 to the atmosphere. Today's anthropogenic CO2 rise, however, is more than six times larger and almost ten times faster than ...

Greenland Ice Sheet Shows Losses in 2019

The Greenland Ice Sheet recorded a new record loss of mass in 2019. This was the finding of a team of international researchers after evaluating data from satellite observations and modelling ...

New Research Reveals Effect of Global Warming on Greenland Ice Melt

New analysis of almost 30 years' worth of scientific data on the melting of the Greenland Ice Sheet predicts global sea level rise of at least 10 centimeters by the end of the 21st Century if ...

Warming Greenland Ice Sheet Passes Point of No Return

Nearly 40 years of satellite data from Greenland shows that glaciers on the island have shrunk so much that even if global warming were to stop today, the ice sheet would continue ...

Forest Growth in Drier Climates Will Be Impacted by Reduced Snowpack

A new study suggests that future reductions in seasonal snowpack as a result of climate change may negatively influence forest growth in semi-arid climates, but less so in wetter ...

Past Evidence Supports Complete Loss of Arctic Sea-Ice by 2035

A new study supports predictions that the Arctic could be free of sea ice by ...

New Zealand's Southern Alps Glacier Melt Has Doubled

Glaciers in the Southern Alps of New Zealand have lost more ice mass since pre-industrial times than remains today, according to a new study. The study mapped Southern Alps ice loss from the end of ...

Blanket of Rock Debris Offers Glaciers More Protection from Climate Change Than Previously Known

A new study which provides a global estimate of rock cover on the Earth's glaciers has revealed that the expanse of rock debris on glaciers, a factor that has been ignored in models of glacier ...

How the Seafloor of the Antarctic Ocean Is Changing And the Climate Is Following Suit

Experts have reconstructed the depth of the Southern Ocean at key phases in the last 34 million years of the Antarctic's climate ...

Early Mars Was Covered in Ice Sheets, Not Flowing Rivers, Researchers Say

A large number of the valley networks scarring Mars's surface were carved by water melting beneath glacial ice, not by free-flowing rivers as previously thought, according to new research. The ...

Cooling of Earth Caused by Eruptions, Not Meteors

Ancient sediment found in a central Texas cave appears to solve the mystery of why the Earth cooled suddenly about 13,000 years ...

Thursday, September 17, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Sunday, July 5, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019