advertisement
Recycling and Waste News
August 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Upcycling Plastic Waste Toward Sustainable Energy Storage

Engineering professors and their students have been working for years on creating improved energy storage materials from sustainable sources, such as glass bottles, beach sand, Silly Putty, and ...

New Insight Into the Evolution of Complex Life on Earth

A novel connection between primordial organisms and complex life has been discovered, as new evidence sheds light on the evolutionary origins of the cell division process that is fundamental to ...

New Science Behind Algae-Based Flip-Flops

Sustainable flip-flops: A team of researchers has formulated polyurethane foams made from algae oil to meet commercial specifications for midsole shoes and the foot-bed of ...

Mix of Contaminants in Fukushima Wastewater, Risks of Ocean Dumping

Nearly 10 years after the Tohoku-oki earthquake and tsunami devastated Japan's Fukushima Dai-ichi Nuclear Power, radiation levels have fallen to safe levels in all but the waters closest to the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Disposed PPE Could Be Turned Into Biofuel, Shows New COVID-19 Study

Plastic from used personal protective equipment (PPE) can, and should, be transformed into renewable liquid fuels, according to a new ...

Chemists Make Tough Plastics Recyclable

Chemists have developed a way to modify thermoset plastics with a chemical linker that makes it much easier to recycle them, but still allows them to retain their mechanical ...

What Factors Influence the Likelihood of Fracking-Related Seismicity in Oklahoma?

The depth of a hydraulic fracturing well in Oklahoma, among other factors, increases the probability that fracking will lead to earthquake activity, according to a new ...

Better Wastewater Treatment? It's a Wrap

A shield of graphene helps particles destroy antibiotic-resistant bacteria and the free-floating genes in wastewater treatment ...

A New Species of Darkling Beetle Larvae That Degrade Plastic

A research team confirms biodegradation of polystyrene using darkling beetle larvae found in ...

Regular Exercise Helps Prevent High Blood Pressure, Even in Areas of High Air Pollution

Regular physical activity is a healthy way to prevent and reduce high blood pressure, even in places where pollution levels are relatively high. Air pollution increases high blood pressure risk, yet ...

Oil Spill Clean-Up Gets Doggone Hairy

Researchers have found that dog fur and human hair products -- recycled from salon wastes and dog groomers -- can be just as good as synthetic fabrics at cleaning up crude oil spills on hard land ...

Strategies for Recycling of Solar Panels

Researchers have conducted the first global assessment into the most promising approaches to end-of-life management for solar photovoltaic (PV) ...

A New Look at Deep-Sea Microbes

Microbes found deeper in the ocean are believed to have slow population turnover rates and low amounts of available energy. But a new examination of microbial communities found deeper in seafloor ...

Using Electricity to Break Down Pollutants Left Over After Wastewater Treatment

Pesticides, pharmaceutical products, and endocrine disruptors are some of the emerging contaminants often found in treated domestic wastewater, even after secondary treatment. Researchers have now ...

Technique Fishes Valuable Nutrients out of Shrimp Processing Water

The seafood industry requires large amounts of water for food processing. Before used water is discharged, some organic matter, including protein, is typically removed. This sludge is usually ...

Engineers Use Electricity to Clean Up Toxic Water

Powerful electrochemical process destroys water contaminants, such as pesticides. Wastewater is a significant environment issue. Researchers say the technology could be readily applied to the wine ...

Harmful Microbes Found on Sewer Pipe Walls

Can antibiotic-resistant bacteria escape from sewers into waterways and cause a disease outbreak? A new study examined the microbe-laden ''biofilms'' that cling to sewer walls, ...

Algae as Living Biocatalysts for a Green Industry

Many substances that we use every day only work in the right 3D structure. Natural enzymes could produce these in an environmentally friendly way - if they didn't need a co-substrate that is ...

Cause of Abnormal Groundwater Rise After Large Earthquake

Abnormal rises in groundwater levels after large earthquakes has been observed all over the world, but the cause has remained unknown due to a lack of comparative data before and after earthquakes. ...

Plastic Recycling from Europe Is Being Dumped in Asian Waters

New research has for the first time quantified the volume of plastic from European countries (EU, UK, Switzerland and Norway) that contributes to ocean littering from exported ...

Unorthodox Desalination Method Could Transform Global Water Management

Over the past year, researchers have been refining their unconventional desalination approach for hypersaline brines -- temperature swing solvent extraction (TSSE) -- that shows great promise for ...

Removing Toxic Chemicals from Water: New Environmentally-Friendly Method

Researchers have developed a new environmentally friendly method for removing toxic chemicals from water. A newly invented machine, called the Matrix Assembly Cluster Source (MACS), has been used to ...

New Process Could Safeguard Water Quality, Environment and Health

Researchers have developed a new way to quickly find and remove wastewater pollutants, which can reduce their impact on the ...

Exciting New Developments for Polymers Made from Waste Sulfur

Researchers are making significant progress in the quest to develop new sulfur polymers that provide an environmentally friendly alternative to some traditional petrochemical based ...

Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Saturday, March 21, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020