advertisement
Pollution News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Tree Rings Show Scale of Arctic Pollution Is Worse Than Previously Thought

The largest-ever study of tree rings from Norilsk in the Russian Arctic has shown that the direct and indirect effects of industrial pollution in the region and beyond are far worse than previously ...

New Knowledge About What Causes Thunderstorms and Cloud Bursts

Thunderstorms often provoke violent cloud bursts that can result in devastating flooding. But what actually spawns thunderstorms and cloud bursts? This question has spurred a new ...

First Evidence That Air Pollution Particles and Metals Are Reaching the Placenta

Pollution particles, including metals, have been found in the placentas of fifteen women in London, according to new ...

Mirror-Like Photovoltaics Get More Electricity out of Heat

New heat-harnessing 'solar' cells that reflect 99% of the energy they can't convert to electricity could help bring down the price of storing renewable energy as heat, as well as harvesting waste ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Many Ventilation Systems May Increase Risk of COVID-19 Exposure, Study Suggests

Ventilation systems in many modern office buildings, which are designed to keep temperatures comfortable and increase energy efficiency, may increase the risk of exposure to the coronavirus, ...

Are China's Pollution Remediation Efforts Making the Planet Warmer?

A 10-year effort by China to improve air quality and reduce pollution-related health risks has caused warming in areas across the northern hemisphere, according to new ...

Arctic Transitioning to a New Climate State

The fast-warming Arctic has started to transition from a predominantly frozen state into an entirely different climate with significantly less sea ice, warmer temperatures, and more rain, according ...

Volcanic Ash May Have a Bigger Impact on the Climate Than We Thought

Volcanic ash shuts down air traffic and can sicken people. But a new study suggests that it may also be more important for Earth's climate than scientists once ...

Multiphase Buffering by Ammonia Explains Wide Range of Atmospheric Aerosol Acidity

Anthropogenic ammonia emissions and the water content matter more than dry particle composition for the acidity of atmospheric aerosols in populated ...

New Insight on the Impacts of Earth's Biosphere on Air Quality

A new study provides the first global satellite measurements of one of the most important chemicals affecting Earth's ...

Lockdown Did Not Reduce 'Most Harmful' Type of Air Pollution in Scotland

The significant reduction in vehicle journeys during the COVID-19 lockdown did not reduce the level of toxic fine particles in Scotland's air, according to experts at the University of ...

Pollination: Air Pollution Renders Flower Odors Unattractive to Moths

Researchers showed that tobacco hawkmoths lost attraction to the scent of their preferred flowers when that scent had been altered by ozone. This oxidizing pollutant thus disturbs the chemical ...

Asphalt Adds to Air Pollution, Especially on Hot, Sunny Days

Asphalt is a near-ubiquitous substance -- it's found in roads, on roofs and in driveways -- but its chemical emissions rarely figure into urban air quality management plans. A new study finds ...

Common Sunscreen Ingredients Prove Dangerous for Freshwater Ecosystems

The results show that long-term exposure to ultraviolet (UV) filters -- including avobenzone, oxybenzone, and octocrylene -- is lethal for some organisms living in freshwater environments. One of the ...

The Widespread Footprint of Blue Jean Microfibers

With many people working from home during the COVID-19 pandemic, blue jeans are a more popular wardrobe choice than ever. But most people don't think about microscopic remnants of their comfy ...

How Dangerous Are Burning Electric Cars?

What happens if an electric car burns in a road tunnel or an underground car park? In the Hagerbach test tunnel in Switzerland, researchers and tunnel safety experts set fire to battery cells of ...

How Weather News Impacts Public Transit Ridership

Researchers found a correlation between words used in media coverage related to weather or air quality, and transit ridership. It's not enough yet to say that media coverage causes changes in ...

Humans' Construction 'Footprint' on Ocean Quantified for First Time

In a world-first, the extent of human development in oceans has been mapped. An area totaling approximately 30,000 square kilometers - the equivalent of 0.008 percent of the ocean - has been modified ...

Researchers Introduce New Theory to Calculate Emissions Liability

A new study questions conventional methods of calculating carbon emissions liability based on point source pollution by introducing new 'bottleneck' ...

Affordable and Scalable Nitrogen Dioxide Sensor

Scientists have developed a highly sensitive, accurate and affordable carbon-based nitrogen dioxide sensor. The gas sensor could provide accurate readings of the nitrogen dioxide levels in the local ...

Advanced Biofuels Show Real Promise for Replacing Some Fossil Fuels

A new study predicted significant climate benefits stemming from the use of advanced biofuel ...

Negative Emissions Technologies May Not Solve Climate Crisis

Researchers used the Global Change Assessment Model to compare the effects of three negative emissions technologies on global food supply, water use and energy demand. The work looked at the role ...

Ozone Across Northern Hemisphere Increased Over Past 20 Years

In a first-ever study using ozone data from commercial aircraft, researchers found that levels of the pollutant in the lowest part of Earth's atmosphere have increased across the Northern ...

Research Shows Air Pollution Could Play Role in Development of Cardiometabolic Diseases

Air pollution is the world's leading environmental risk factor, and causes more than nine million deaths per year. New research shows air pollution may play a role in the development of ...

Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Saturday, June 27, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020