advertisement
Energy and the Environment News
September 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

This Tiny Device Can Scavenge Wind Energy from the Breeze You Make When You Walk

Most of the wind available on land is too gentle to push commercial wind turbine blades, but now researchers have designed a kind of 'tiny wind ...

Mirror-Like Photovoltaics Get More Electricity out of Heat

New heat-harnessing 'solar' cells that reflect 99% of the energy they can't convert to electricity could help bring down the price of storing renewable energy as heat, as well as harvesting waste ...

Theoretically, Two Layers Are Better Than One for Solar-Cell Efficiency

Solar cells have come a long way, but inexpensive, thin film solar cells are still far behind more expensive, crystalline solar cells in efficiency. Now, a team of researchers suggests that using two ...

California Offshore Winds Show Promise as Power Source

One of the challenges of moving toward fully renewable energy in California by 2045 is matching production to demand. Consumer demand peaks in the evening when solar energy is no longer available. ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:37pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Climate Pledges 'Like Tackling COVID-19 Without Social Distancing'

Current global pledges to tackle climate change are the equivalent of declaring a pandemic without a plan for social distancing, researchers ...

Inducing Plasma in Biomass Could Make Biogas Easier to Produce

Producing biogas from the bacterial breakdown of biomass presents options for a greener energy future, but the complex composition of biomass comes with challenges. Cellulose and woody lignocellulose ...

Comprehensive Look at US Fuel Economy Standards Show Big Savings on Fuel and Emissions

A new study finds that over their 40-year history, fuel economy standards in the United States have helped reduce reliance on foreign oil producers, saved $5 trillion in fuel costs and prevented 14 ...

Bold Proposal to Tackle One of the Biggest Barriers to More Renewable Energy

The phrase 'too much of a good thing' may sound like a contradiction, but it encapsulates one of the key hurdles preventing the expansion of renewable energy generation. Too much of a ...

Advanced Biofuels Show Real Promise for Replacing Some Fossil Fuels

A new study predicted significant climate benefits stemming from the use of advanced biofuel ...

New Insights for Sun-Gathering Technologies

Researchers are taking a page from Nature's lesson book. Inspired by the way plants and other photosynthetic organisms collect and use the sun's radiant energy, they hope to develop ...

Wireless Device Makes Clean Fuel from Sunlight, CO2 and Water

Researchers have developed a standalone device that converts sunlight, carbon dioxide and water into a carbon-neutral fuel, without requiring any additional components or ...

Fuel Cells for Hydrogen Vehicles Are Becoming Longer Lasting

An international research team has succeeded in developing an electrocatalyst for hydrogen fuel cells which, in contrast to the catalysts commonly used today, does not require a carbon carrier and is ...

Large Tin Monosulfide Crystal Opens Pathway for Next Generation Solar Cells

A team has succeeded in growing large single crystals of tin monosulfide, a material used in next generation solar ...

A Key to Cheaper Renewable Fuels: Keeping Iron from Rusting

Researchers have made a key first step in economically converting plant materials to fuels: keeping iron from ...

Climate Change Impact on Green Energy Production

As the climate of the planet is changing, many researchers are looking to more renewable energy sources. Researchers investigate whether the power generated by solar and wind farms would differ ...

Widespread Electric Vehicle Adoption Would Save Billions of Dollars, Thousands of Lives

A new study found that if EVs replaced 25% of combustion-engine cars currently on the road, the United States would save approximately $17 billion annually by avoiding damages from climate change and ...

Converting Solar Energy to Hydrogen Fuel, With Help from Photosynthesis

Global economic growth comes with increasing demand for energy, but stepping up energy production can be challenging. Recently, scientists have achieved record efficiency for solar-to-fuel ...

Air Pollution Is a Driver of Residential Electricity Demand, Study Finds

A new study reveals that households respond to ambient air pollution by increasing electricity consumption, which in turn increases the carbon emissions that are co-produced in supplying the ...

Efficient Low-Cost System for Producing Power at Night

Researchers have designed an off-grid, low-cost modular energy source that can efficiently produce power at night. The system uses commercially available technology and could eventually help meet the ...

Researchers have made a key advance in the green chemistry pursuit of converting the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide into reusable forms of carbon via electrochemical ...

Countries Transitioning to Zero Carbon Should Look at More Than Technology Cost

A 'one-size-fits-all' approach to producing cleaner energy based on cost alone could create social inequalities, finds a new ...

Upcycling Plastic Waste Toward Sustainable Energy Storage

Engineering professors and their students have been working for years on creating improved energy storage materials from sustainable sources, such as glass bottles, beach sand, Silly Putty, and ...

Digital Content on Track to Equal Half 'Earth's Mass' by 2245

As we use resources to power massive computer farms and process digital information, our technological progress is redistributing Earth's matter from physical atoms to digital information. ...

Storing Energy in Red Bricks

Red bricks -- some of the world's cheapest and most familiar building materials -- can be converted into energy storage units that can be charged to hold electricity, like a battery, according ...

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020