advertisement
Coral Reefs News
August 14, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

How People and Ecosystems Fit Together on the Great Barrier Reef

A world-first study examines the scales of management of the Great Barrier Reef. The findings have the potential to help sustain other ecosystems across the world. The study provides a new approach ...

Aquatic Robots Can Remove Contaminant Particles from Water

Scientists have developed a 1cm by 1cm wireless artificial aquatic polyp, which can remove contaminants from water. Apart from cleaning, this soft robot could be also used in medical diagnostic ...

Coral Reefs Show Resilience to Rising Temperatures

Rising ocean temperatures have devastated coral reefs all over the world, but a recent study has found that reefs in the Eastern Tropical Pacific region may prove to be an ...

Boats and Ships Leave Baby Reef Fish Vulnerable to Predators

Scientists say the noise from boats and ships slows down the activity of baby fish on coral reefs, which leaves them more vulnerable to their ...
Latest Headlines
updated 7:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Pesticide Mixtures a Bigger Problem Than Previously Thought

New research has provided the first comprehensive analysis of pesticide mixtures in creeks and rivers discharging to the Great Barrier ...

Sea Surface Temperature Has a Big Impact on Coral Outplant Survival

A new study has shown that coral outplant survival is likely to drop below 50% if sea surface temperatures exceed 30.5 degrees Celsius and that survival rates can also be predicted by considering ...

Two Climate Patterns Predict Coral Bleaching Months Earlier

A new study may help researchers predict coral bleaching months earlier than current tools, and, for the first time, may help predict invasion events of coral-eating crown-of-thorns ...

Stress Testing 'Coral in a Box'

Coral death is impacting oceans worldwide as a consequence of climate change. The concern is that corals cannot keep pace with the rate of ocean warming. In particular, because a temperature increase ...

Tackling Coral Reefs' Thorny Problem: Crown-of-Thorns Starfish

Researchers have revealed the evolutionary history of the crown-of-thorns starfish -- a predator of coral that can devastate coral reefs. Their findings shed light on how the populations of these ...

Research Reveals Fishing Pressures Affect Tropical and Temperate Reefs Differently

An international team of researchers focused on what can happen to ocean ecosystems when fishing pressure increases or decreases, and how this differs between tropical to temperate marine ecosystems. ...

Bleaching Affects Aquarium Corals, Too

A world-first study examines the temperature thresholds of Australian aquarium corals and finds they are at risk under climate ...

Soft Coral Garden Discovered in Greenland's Deep Sea

A deep-sea soft coral garden habitat has been discovered in Greenlandic waters using an innovative and low-cost deep-sea video camera built and deployed by the ...

First Completely Remote at-Sea Science Expedition in Australia's Coral Sea Marine Park

Scientists working remotely with Schmidt Ocean Institute, one of the only at-sea science expeditions to continue operating during the global pandemic, have completed a first look at deep waters in ...

Knock-Knock? Who's There? How Coral Let Symbiotic Algae in

Biologists have solved a longstanding marine science mystery that could aid coral conservation. The researchers identified the type of cell that enables a soft coral to recognize and take up the ...

Surprising Growth Rates Discovered in World's Deepest Photosynthetic Corals

New research has revealed unexpectedly high growth rates for deep water photosynthetic corals. The study alters the assumption that deep corals living on the brink of darkness grow extremely ...

Island 'Drowning' Is Not Inevitable as Sea Levels Rise

An international study suggests islands composed of gravel material can evolve in the face of overtopping waves, with sediment from the beach face being transferred to the island's ...

Bacteria Fed by Algae Biochemicals Can Harm Coral Health

A new study found that the outcome of the competition between coral and turf algae is determined by the assemblage of microbes at the interface where the contenders meet. The outcome is driven by ...

Big Vegetarians of the Reef Drive Fish Evolution

New research finds fish diets, not geography, dictate how fast species ...

Cyclones Can Damage Even Distant Reefs

Big and strong cyclones can harm coral reefs as far as 1000 kilometers away from their paths, new research shows. A new study sounds a warning about the way strong cyclone winds build extreme seas ...

Mysterious Glowing Coral Reefs Are Fighting to Recover

A new study has revealed why some corals exhibit a dazzling colorful display, instead of turning white, when they suffer 'coral bleaching' -- a condition which can devastate reefs and is ...

Even Biodiverse Coral Reefs Still Vulnerable to Climate Change and Invasive Species

A new study reveals clear evidence highlighting the importance of fish biodiversity to the health of spectacular tropical coral reef ecosystems. However, the study's results show that even ...

How Climate Killed Corals

A squad of climate-related factors is responsible for the massive Australian coral bleaching event of 2016. If we're counting culprits: it's two by sea, one by ...

Mussel Reefs Heighten Risk of Microplastic Exposure and Consumption

In the first study of its kind, scientists found that when mussels were clumped together forming reefs -- as they do in nature -- the reef structure resulted in a three-fold rise in the amount of ...

Fish Feces Reveals Which Species Eat Crown-of-Thorns

Crown-of-thorns starfish are on the menu for many more fish species than previously suspected, an investigation using fish feces and gut remnants ...

Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Sunday, June 28, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019