advertisement
Spintronics Research News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

World's Widest Graphene Nanoribbon Promises the Next Generation of Miniaturized Electronics

Standard semiconductor technology is reaching its limit in miniaturization, but the demand for smaller electrical devices with higher performance ...
Researchers are exploring new ways of creating quantum-mechanical interactions between distant electrons. The research marks an important advance in ...

Graphene and 2D Materials Could Move Electronics Beyond 'Moore's Law'

New developments in spintronics could lead to graphene being used as a building block for next-generation ...

A Novel Processor That Solves a Notoriously Complex Mathematical Problem

Scientists have designed a novel processor architecture that can solve combinatorial optimization problems much faster than existing ones. Combinatorial optimization are complex problems that show up ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Simple Mod Makes Quantum States Last 10,000 Times Longer

A team of scientists has announced the discovery of a simple modification that allows quantum systems to stay operational -- or 'coherent' -- 10,000 times longer than ...

Extensive Review of Spin-Gapless Semiconductors: Next-Generation Spintronics Candidates

Scientists have published an extensive review of spin-gapless semiconductors (SGSs), a new class of 'zero bandgap' materials which have fully spin polarised electrons and holes, and first ...

Scientists Use Pressure to Make Liquid Magnetism Breakthrough

Scientists have forced a solid magnetic metal into a spin liquid state, which may lead to insights into superconductivity and quantum ...

Research Takes Electrons for a Spin in Moving Toward More Efficient, Higher Density Data Storage

Researchers have demonstrated a new mechanism involving electron motion in magnetic materials that points to new ways to potentially enhance data ...

Scientists Break the Link Between a Quantum Material's Spin and Orbital States

Until now, electron spins and orbitals were thought to go hand in hand in a class of materials that's the cornerstone of modern information technology; you couldn't quickly change one ...

Atomically Thin Magnets for Next Generation Spin and Quantum Electronics

In 2005, Science asked if it was possible to develop a magnetic semiconductor that could work at room temperature. Now, just fifteen years later, researchers have developed those materials in ...

Future Information Technologies: 3D Quantum Spin Liquid Revealed

Quantum spin liquids are candidates for potential use in future information technologies. So far, quantum spin liquids have usually only been found in one or two dimensional magnetic systems only. ...

Stresses and Flows in Ultra-Cold Superfluids

Scientists have developed a mathematical model of the flow of ultra-cold superfluids, showing how they deform when they encounter ...

Controlling Quantumness: Simulations Reveal Details About How Particles Interact

A recent study has described new states that can be found in super-cold atom experiments, which could have applications for quantum ...

Physicists Shed Light on the Nanoscale Dynamics of Spin Thermalization

In physics, thermalization, or the trend of sub-systems within a whole to gain a common temperature, is typically the norm. There are situations, however, where thermalization is slowed down or ...

Laser Loop Couples Quantum Systems Over a Distance

For the first time, researchers have succeeded in creating strong coupling between quantum systems over a greater distance. They accomplished this with a novel method in which a laser loop connects ...

Scientists Take Steps to Create a 'Racetrack Memory,' Potentially Enhancing Data Storage

A team of scientists has taken steps to create a new form of digital data storage, a ''Racetrack Memory,'' which opens the possibility to both bolster computer power and lead to ...

Intricate Magnetic Configuration of 3D Nanoscale Gyroid Networks Revealed

A multinational team of researchers has revealed the magnetic states of nanoscale gyroids, 3D chiral network-like nanostructures. The findings add a new candidate system for research into ...

3D Nanoparticles and Magnetic Spin

Researchers have captured 3D images of nanoparticles in liquid with atomic precision, and developed an ultrathin electrical switch that could further miniaturize computing devices and personal ...

Search for New State of Matter Expanded

Scientists have been striving to establish the existence of quantum spin liquids, a new state of matter, since the 1970s. A recent discovery physicists could help researchers solve the mystery and ...

A Twist Connecting Magnetism and Electronic-Band Topology

Materials that combine topological electronic properties and quantum magnetism are of high current interest, for the quantum many-body physics that can unfold in them and for possible applications in ...

Tiny Optical Cavity Could Make Quantum Networks Possible

Engineers have shown that atoms in optical cavities could be foundational to the creation of a quantum ...

A Key Development in the Drive for Energy-Efficient Electronics

Scientists have made a breakthrough in the development of a new generation of electronics that will require less power and generate less heat. It involves exploiting the complex quantum properties of ...

Engineers Crack 58-Year-Old Puzzle on Way to Quantum Breakthrough

A mishap during an experiment led quantum computing researchers to crack a mystery that had stood since ...

Glass Transition of Spins and Orbitals of Electrons in a Pure Crystal

Researchers have used computers simulations to show that lattice distortions in magnetic pyrochlore oxide crystals can control the glass transition of its electrons. This work can be with the design ...

Thursday, August 13, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019