advertisement
Software News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Apps Could Take Up Less Space on Your Phone, Thanks to New 'Streaming' Software

New software 'streams' data and code resources to an app from a cloud server when necessary, allowing the app to use only the space it needs on a ...

Improving AI's Ability to Identify Students Who Need Help

Researchers have designed an artificial intelligence (AI) model that is better able to predict how much students are learning in educational games. The improved model makes use of an AI training ...

Artificial Intelligence Used to Recognize Primate Faces in the Wild

Scientists have developed new artificial intelligence software to recognize and track the faces of individual chimpanzees in the wild. The new software will allow researchers and wildlife ...

Artificial Intelligence Can Diagnose PTSD by Analyzing Voices

A specially designed computer program can help to diagnose post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) in veterans by analyzing their ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:21pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Human-Artificial Intelligence Collaborations Best for Skin Cancer Diagnosis

Artificial intelligence (AI) improved skin cancer diagnostic accuracy when used in collaboration with human clinical ...

A Theoretical Boost to Nano-Scale Devices

Researchers have developed a new approach to the underlying physics of semiconductors. They calculated the quasi-Fermi levels in molecular junctions applying an ab initio ...

Novel Imaging Application Illuminates Processes in Cancer, COVID-19

Medical images for a wide range of diseases can be more easily viewed, compared, and analyzed using a breakthrough open source web-based imaging platform developed by Massachusetts General Hospital ...

AI to Make Dentists' Work Easier

Researchers have developed a new automatized way to localize mandibular ...

Modern Virtual and Augmented Reality Device Can Help Simulate Sight Loss

A new study demonstrates how commercially available head mounted displays (HMD) can be used to simulate the day-to-day challenges faced by people with sight loss from glaucoma. The study suggests ...

Integrating Electronics Onto Physical Prototypes

Researchers have invented a way to integrate 'breadboards' -- flat platforms widely used for electronics prototyping -- directly onto physical products. The aim is to provide a faster, ...

Artificial Intelligence Could Enhance Diagnosis and Treatment of Sleep Disorders

Artificial intelligence has the potential to improve efficiencies and precision in sleep medicine, resulting in more patient-centered care and better outcomes, according to a new position ...

KITE Code Could Power New Quantum Developments

A research collaboration has created open-source software to assist in the creation of quantum materials which could in turn vastly increase the world's computing ...

Scientists Develop Open-Source Software to Analyze Economics of Biofuels, Bioproducts

Perennial grasses can be converted into everything from ethanol to bioplastics, but it's unclear which bioproducts hold the greatest potential. BioSTEAM, a new open-source simulation software ...

Making 3-D Printing Smarter With Machine Learning

3-D printing is often touted as the future of manufacturing. However it has a high degree of error, and manufacturers often need many iterations of a print before they get it right. A team of ...

Software Updates Slowing You Down?

We've all shared the frustration -- software updates that are intended to make our applications run faster inadvertently end up doing just the opposite. These bugs, dubbed in the computer ...

Security Risk for E-Scooters and Riders

New research finds e-scooters have risks beyond the perils of potential collisions. Computer science experts have published the first review of the security and privacy risks posed by e-scooters and ...

The Way You Dance Is Unique, and Computers Can Tell It's You

Nearly everyone responds to music with movement, whether through subtle toe-tapping or an all-out boogie. A recent discovery shows that our dance style is almost always the same, regardless of the ...

Who's Liable? The AV or the Human Driver?

Researchers have developed a joint fault-based liability rule that can be used to regulate both self-driving car manufacturers and human drivers. They propose a game-theoretic model that describes ...

New Open-Source Software Judges Accuracy of Computer Predictions of Cancer Genetics

Researchers have created new open-source software which determines the accuracy of computer predictions of genetic variation within tumor ...

This 'Lemon' Could Help Machine Learning Create Better Drugs

Drug discovery researchers have created a new framework for mining data for training machine learning ...

How Vulnerable Is Your Car to Cyberattacks?

New research applies criminal justice theory to smart vehicles, revealing cracks in the current system leading to potential cyber ...

A Digital Approach to Proteins and Cancer

What if scientists could create more effective drugs to treat cancers and other diseases by better targeting specific sites on proteins in the ...

A Robot and Software Make It Easier to Create Advanced Materials

A team of engineers has developed an automated way to produce polymers, making it much easier to create advanced materials aimed at improving human health. The innovation is a critical step in ...

Carpentry Compiler Helps Woodworkers Design Objects That They Can Actually Make

Researchers have created Carpentry Compiler, a digital tool that allows users to design woodworking projects. Once a project is designed, the tool creates optimized fabrication instructions based on ...

Monday, June 29, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Sunday, September 16, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018