advertisement
Robotics News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Fishing for a Theory of Emergent Behavior

Researchers quantified the collective action of small schools of fish using information theory. They found that groups of three act very differently compared with groups of just two. This work may ...

An Ethical Eye on AI

Researchers have found a mathematical means of helping regulators and business manage and police Artificial Intelligence systems' biases towards making unethical, and potentially very costly and ...

Jellyfish-Inspired Soft Robots Can Outswim Their Natural Counterparts

Engineering researchers have developed soft robots inspired by jellyfish that can outswim their real-life counterparts. More practically, the new jellyfish-bots highlight a technique that uses ...

Coordinating Complex Behaviors Between Hundreds of Robots

Researchers propose a new approach to finding an optimal solution for controlling large numbers of robots collaboratively completing a set of complex linear temporal logic commands called STyLuS*, ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:51pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Human-Artificial Intelligence Collaborations Best for Skin Cancer Diagnosis

Artificial intelligence (AI) improved skin cancer diagnostic accuracy when used in collaboration with human clinical ...

Towards an AI Diagnosis Like the Doctor's

Artificial intelligence is an important innovation in diagnostics, but the way these systems work is opaque. In a new article, researchers describe how they can make the AI show how it's ...

New Algorithm Uses Artificial Intelligence to Help Manage Type 1 Diabetes

Researchers and physicians have designed a method to help people with type 1 diabetes better manage their glucose levels. The method relies upon artificial intelligence and automated ...

World's First Spherical Artificial Eye Has 3D Retina

Scientists have developed the world's first 3D artificial eye with capabilities better than existing bionic eyes and in some cases, even exceed those of the human eyes, bringing vision to ...

For University Classrooms, Are Telepresence Robots the Next Best Thing to Being There?

Telepresence robots help university students learning remotely to feel more a part of the class, new research ...

'Artificial Chemist' Combines AI, Robotics to Conduct Autonomous R&D

Researchers have developed a technology called 'Artificial Chemist,' which incorporates artificial intelligence and an automated system for performing chemical reactions to accelerate ...

Next-Generation Cockroach-Inspired Robot Is Small but Mighty

Dubbed HAMR-JR, a new microrobot is a half-scale version of the cockroach-inspired Harvard Ambulatory Microrobot or HAMR. About the size of a penny, HAMR-JR can perform almost all of the feats of its ...

Artificial Intelligence Can Improve How Chest Images Are Used in Care of COVID-19 Patients

Artificial intelligence (AI) should be used to expand the role of chest X-ray imaging -- using computed tomography, or CT -- in diagnosing and assessing coronavirus infection so that it can be more ...

These Flexible Feet Help Robots Walk Faster

Roboticists have developed flexible feet that can help robots walk up to 40 percent faster on uneven terrain such as pebbles and wood chips. The work has applications for search-and-rescue missions ...

A Good Egg: Robot Chef Trained to Make Omelettes

A team of engineers have trained a robot to prepare an omelette, all the way from cracking the eggs to plating the finished dish, and refined the 'chef's' culinary skills to produce a ...

Computer Vision and Uncertainty in AI for Robotic Prosthetics

Researchers have developed new software that can be integrated with existing hardware to enable people using robotic prosthetics or exoskeletons to walk in a safer, more natural manner on different ...

Controlling Artificial Cilia With Magnetic Fields and Light

Researchers have made artificial cilia, or hair-like structures, that can bend into new shapes in response to a magnetic field, then return to their original shape when exposed to the proper light ...

Next Generation of Soft Robots Inspired by a Children's Toy

Buckling, the sudden loss of structural stability, is usually the stuff of engineering nightmares. But, as anyone who has ever played with a toy popper knows, buckling also releases a lot of energy. ...

Landmark Recommendations on Development of Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Global Health

A landmark review of the role of artificial intelligence (AI) in the future of global health calls on the global health community to establish guidelines for development and deployment of new ...

Artificial Pieces of Brain Use Light to Communicate With Real Neurons

Researchers have created a way for artificial neuronal networks to communicate with biological neuronal networks. The new system converts artificial electrical spiking signals to a visual pattern ...

Comedy Club Performances Provide Insights on How Robots, Humans Connect Via Humor

A robot comic is more funny when it has good ...

Despite knowing when life first appeared on Earth, scientists still do not understand how life occurred, which has important implications for the likelihood of finding life elsewhere in the universe. ...

A Soft Touch for Robotic Hardware

Robots can be made from soft materials, but the flexibility of such robots is limited by the inclusion of rigid sensors necessary for their control. Researchers created embedded sensors, to replace ...

Real-Time Physics Engine for Soft Robotics

Scientists have adapted sophisticated computer graphics technology, used to create hair and fabric in animated films, to simulate the movements of soft, limbed robots for the first time. The advance ...

Inspired by Cheetahs, Researchers Build Fastest Soft Robots Yet

Inspired by the biomechanics of cheetahs, researchers have developed a new type of soft robot that is capable of moving more quickly on solid surfaces or in the water than previous generations of ...

Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Friday, December 27, 2019
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019