advertisement
Hacking News
August 2, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Sharing a Secret...the Quantum Way

Researchers have demonstrated a record setting quantum protocol for sharing a secret amongst many ...

Power of DNA to Store Information Gets an Upgrade

A team of interdisciplinary researchers has discovered a new technique to store in DNA information - in this case 'The Wizard of Oz,' translated into Esperanto - with unprecedented accuracy and ...

Adding Noise for Completely Secure Communication

How can we protect communications against 'eavesdropping' if we don't trust the devices used in the process? This is one of the main questions in quantum cryptography research. Researchers have now ...

Physicists Develop World's Best Quantum Bits

A team of researchers has set a new record for preparing and measuring the quantum bits, or qubits, inside of a quantum computer without error. The techniques they have developed make it easier to ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Recognizing Fake Images Using Frequency Analysis

They look deceptively real, but they are made by computers: so-called deep-fake images are generated by machine learning algorithms, and humans are pretty much unable to distinguish them from real ...

'Knock Codes' for Smartphone Security Are Easily Predicted

Smartphone owners who unlock their devices with knock codes aren't as safe as they think, according to new ...

Quantum Physics Provides a Way to Hide Ignorance

Students can hide their ignorance and answer questions correctly in an exam without their lack of knowledge being detected by teachers -- but only in the quantum ...

Tool to Protect Children's Online Privacy

A new study of 100 mobile apps for kids found that 72 violated a federal law aimed at protecting children's online privacy. Researchers developed a tool that can determine whether an Android ...

Do COVID-19 Apps Protect Your Privacy?

Many mobile apps that track the spread of COVID-19 ask for personal data but don't indicate the information will be ...

Genetic Barcodes Can Ensure Authentic DNA Fingerprints

Engineers have demonstrated a method for ensuring that an increasingly popular method of genetic identification called ''DNA fingerprinting'' remains secure against inadvertent ...

Beyond Encryption: Protecting Consumer Privacy While Keeping Survey Results Accurate

Data privacy laws require encryption and, in some cases, transforming the original data to 'protected data' before it's released to external ...

Faster Way to Replace Bad Info in Networks

Researchers have demonstrated a new model of how competing pieces of information spread in online social networks and the Internet of Things (IoT). The findings could be used to disseminate accurate ...

Chip-Based Devices Improve Practicality of Quantum-Secured Communication

Researchers have demonstrated new chip-based devices that contain all the optical components necessary for quantum key distribution while increasing real-world security. The fast and cost-effective ...

Computer Scientists' New Tool Fools Hackers Into Sharing Keys for Better Cybersecurity

Instead of blocking hackers, a new cybersecurity defense approach actually welcomes them. The method, called DEEP-Dig (DEcEPtion DIGging), ushers intruders into a decoy site so the computer can learn ...

New Sandboxing Approach in Web Browser Increases Security

A powerful new approach to securing web browsers, using a tool called WebAssembly, is getting its first real-world application in the Firefox browser. Developed by a team of researchers, the approach ...

Cryptographic 'Tag of Everything' Could Protect the Supply Chain

To combat supply chain counterfeiting, which can cost companies billions of dollars annually, researchers have invented a cryptographic ID tag that's small enough to fit on virtually any product ...

Mixed-Signal Hardware Security Thwarts Powerful Electromagnetic Attacks

A team has developed technology to use mixed-signal circuits to embed critical information that is suppressed at a lower ...

New Technology Could Help Solve AI's 'Memory Bottleneck'

Electrical engineers have developed a new magnetic memory device that could potentially support the surge of data-centric computing, which requires ever-increasing power, storage and ...

Computer Servers Now Able to Retrieve Data Much Faster

Computer scientists have found a novel approach that significantly improves the storage efficiency and output speed of computer ...

First All-Optical, Stealth Encryption Technology Developed

Engineers are introducing the first all-optical "stealth" encryption technology that will be significantly more secure and private for highly sensitive cloud-computing and data center ...

Security Risk for E-Scooters and Riders

New research finds e-scooters have risks beyond the perils of potential collisions. Computer science experts have published the first review of the security and privacy risks posed by e-scooters and ...

Organized Cybercrime -- Not Your Average Mafia

Scientists have identified common attributes of cybercrime networks, revealing how these groups function and work together to cause an estimated $445-600 billion of harm globally per ...

AlphaZero Learns to Rule the Quantum World

The chess world was amazed when the computer algorithm AlphaZero learned, after just four hours on its own, to beat the best chess programs built on human expertise. Now a research group has used the ...

'Inconsistent and Misleading' Password Meters Could Increase Risk of Cyber Attacks

With the worst passwords of 2019 now revealed, and technology topping many festive wish lists, a new study assessed the effectiveness of password meters that people are likely to use or encounter on ...

Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Friday, August 17, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018